When it comes to insurance premiums, Iowa drivers don’t have it all that easy. Therefore, it wouldn’t hurt to save a bit extra money on your Iowa auto insurance, would it? The state has minimum insurance requirements, and driving without insurance is illegal in Iowa. However, before you acquire auto insurance, it’s important to understand Iowa’s vehicle insurance laws so you can be sure you’re in compliance. Here is all of the information you’ll need to make an informed decision about car insurance in Iowa.
How much is car insurance in Iowa?
Iowa car insurance costs vary depending on a number of factors, including age and location. On average, drivers in Iowa pay $1,650 per year for car insurance.
What is the state minimum for car insurance in Iowa?
The minimum liability car insurance coverage as required in Iowa is
- For bodily injury – $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
- For property damage – $15,000 per accident
Does insurance follow the car or the driver in Iowa?
Car insurance follows the car in Iowa and not the driver. This means that irrespective of who was driving your car when it got into an accident, whether it was you or someone, your insurance will be the primary source of compensation. Car insurance that follows the vehicle in Iowa includes bodily injury liability, personal injury liability, collision, and comprehensive coverage.
Is car insurance required in Iowa?
Yes, car insurance is a must in Iowa. All drivers must carry a minimum amount of car insurance in Iowa. Failure to do so might result in harsh penalties such as monetary fines and imprisonment time. You may also be responsible for actual damages (expenses related to property damage and medical expenditures), economic damages (missed wages and earning ability), and emotional and physical pain and suffering under Iowa’s tort system.
Is Iowa a no-fault state for auto insurance?
No, Iowa is not a no-fault state for car insurance; rather, it is a ‘tort’ or ‘at fault’ state. Iowa’s ‘at fault’ system comes into play when it comes to financial culpability for accidents, vehicle damage, and other damages stemming from an automobile accident. This means that the driver who causes an accident uses their insurance to cover the other driver’s collision-related expenses.
What are the penalties for driving without insurance in Iowa?
In Iowa, the consequences for driving without insurance include a $250 fine (or performing community service). Your license plates and/or vehicle may be impounded. You may be required to pay towing, storage, and administrative fees.
How does a DUI or OWI affect car insurance rates in Iowa?
After a DUI or OWI conviction in Iowa, your insurance rates might rise by an average of 85%, which is only slightly less than the national average premium increase of 87% after a DUI. The fact is after a DUI, most insurance providers will consider you a high-risk driver. Your only option is to shop around for Iowa insurance providers who are forgiving will provide low prices.
Why is car insurance expensive in Iowa?
Car insurance in Iowa tends to be on the expensive side due to factors that can result in more claims. This includes adverse weather, a higher number of uninsured drivers, and increasing costs of automobile repair and healthcare.
How do I find the best car insurance rates in Iowa?
The easiest way to find affordable car insurance in Iowa is to compare quotes from various insurance providers online. Quite often in Iowa, the disparity between the highest and lowest insurance quotes for the same driver is almost $1,000! You can start your research on car insurance rates in Iowa by getting free insurance quotes multiple on Way.com.