Ohio drivers are comparatively lucky when it comes to insurance premiums. Ohio has some of the lowest car insurance rates in the country! Even so, it wouldn’t hurt to save a little more on your car insurance, would it? The state does have minimum insurance requirements and driving without insurance will attract penalties in Ohio. But, before you purchase auto insurance, it’s important to understand Ohio’s car insurance requirements so you can ensure that you’re complying with them. Here’s all the info that you’ll need to make an informed decision on purchasing car insurance in Ohio.
How much is car insurance in Ohio?
The average cost of car insurance in Ohio varies depending on a number of factors, including age and location. On average drivers in Ohio pay $330 per year for minimum coverage and $1,040 per year for full coverage.
What is the state minimum for car insurance in Ohio?
Currently, the minimum required car insurance in Ohio is $25,000 per person for injury, $50,000 per accident for injury, and $25,000 per accident for property damage.
Does insurance follow the car or the driver in Ohio?
Car insurance follows the car in Ohio, and not the driver. This means that regardless of who was driving your car when it got into an accident, you or your friend, your insurance will kick in.
Is car insurance required in Ohio?
Yes, car insurance is a must in Ohio. All drivers in Ohio must have bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability on their insurance policies. A car owner cannot not allow someone else to drive their vehicle unless they have insurance. You may be required to show proof of insurance at traffic stops, accident scenes, and vehicle inspections.
Is Ohio a no-fault state for car insurance?
No, Ohio is not a no-fault state. It is, in fact a ‘tort’ or an ‘at fault’ state. When it comes to financial liability for accidents, vehicle damage, and other damages resulting from a car accident, Ohio’s ‘at fault’ system comes into play. This assumes that the person who was at fault for the car accident is liable for compensating everyone who was injured as a result of the crash (though, in practice, the at-fault driver’s insurance provider would normally cover these damages, up to policy limits). Since Ohio is a no-fault state, the only option after an accident is to file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance provider or sue that driver directly.
How do I prove fault in the event of a car accident in Ohio?
In Ohio, to prove that the other driver was negligent, you must show at least four elements of negligence:
- The driver had a responsibility to drive safely, obey traffic rules, and keep an eye out for other drivers.
- The driver violated that obligation, for example, by breaking traffic laws or driving recklessly.
- The accident was triggered by the other driver’s actions.
- You suffered damages as a consequence of the accident.
How do I find the best car insurance rates in Ohio?
The easiest way to find affordable car insurance in Ohio is to compare quotes from various insurance providers online. Quite often in Ohio, the disparity between the highest and lowest insurance quotes for the same driver is almost $1,000! You can start your research on car insurance rates in Ohio by getting free insurance quotes on Way.com.
Renee is your go-to travel guru! With 15 years of wanderlust-fueled writing, she’s your go-to guide for all things travel and driving-related. When she’s not behind the wheel or jet-setting across the country, you’ll find her binge-watching movies/series or listening to true crime podcasts.