Like many other states in the country, North Carolina requires car owners have minimum insurance coverage. In this post, we’ll go over these laws in detail, as well as touch on some other unique aspects of North Carolina auto insurance. Understanding North Carolina car insurance laws will help cover you and your family in the unfortunate event of a car accident.
Do you have to have car insurance in North Carolina?
Yes, car insurance is mandatory in North Carolina. In North Carolina, owners are expected to carry continuous liability insurance. Out-of-state policies are not accepted in North Carolina.
What is the minimum car insurance coverage in North Carolina?
The state requires the following minimum coverages, though higher coverages can be bought:
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death to anyone person in an accident;
- $60,000 for bodily injury or death to all persons in any one accident; and
- $25,000 for property damages
Is North Carolina a no-fault state for car insurance?
No, North Carolina is not a no-fault state for car insurance. NC is, in fact, an at-fault state. This means is that the person who caused the car accident is liable to compensate someone who was injured as a result of it (though, in practice, the at-fault driver’s insurance carrier would typically cover these damages up to policy limits). This also means that people who claim injury cannot sue if they are even partly to blame for their injuries. We will expand on that later.
Is uninsured motorist coverage a must in North Carolina?
Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage is mandatory. It is usually combined with liability insurance. Liability insurance is also mandatory, so there is no need to buy it separately. UM, coverage is designed to pay out if you are involved in an accident caused by a driver who does not have liability insurance. This proposal also includes coverage for hit-and-run collisions.
Does insurance follow the car or driver in North Carolina?
North Carolina car insurance policies follow the car and not the driver. So, if anyone driving a friend’s car causes an accident and injures anyone else, the first course of action would be to follow the car’s owner’s policy. However, if it does not offer adequate coverage, the injured party can consider proceedings against the driver’s insurance policy.
What is ‘contributory negligence under North Carolina car insurance laws?
North Carolina has one of the most strict contributory negligence laws in the country. It prevents accident victims from receiving compensation if they are even partly at fault for a car accident. Are you responsible for even 1% at fault for the accident? You would be unable to recover any damages from the other party involved in the accident.
What is the North Carolina’ fender bender’ law?
According to the North Carolina’ fender bender’ law, drivers involved in minor collisions (in which the cars are still operational) must move their cars as far to the shoulder of the road as safely practicable. Nevertheless, you break the Fender-Bender Law, you could face a $10 fine and a $100 court charge.
What is the North Carolina’ move over’ law?
The Move Over Law states that drivers should move into the far lane. If there is just one lane of traffic, cars can slow down even further and keep an eye out for emergency personnel and emergency vehicles. If you break the Move Over Law, you could face a $250 fine and $100 in court costs.
How can I find the cheapest North Carolina car insurance?
Factors, most of which are beyond your control influence the cost of auto insurance. However, you can have an influence on some of the contributing factors. Driving safely, obeying traffic rules, and maintaining a clean driving record are the most effective ways to reduce insurance costs. Besides that, comparing rates from multiple car insurance companies is an easy way to save money on auto insurance. Ideally, you should review your car insurance rates every 6-12 months. The best way to compare car insurance rates and get free quotes online is via the Way.com website or app.