×
Get 5% off in-app
400k+ download
Open app

All you need to know about Oregon car insurance

  • Auto Insurance
  • Renee Martin
  • 4 minutes

Spread the love

Like many other states in the country, Oregon requires vehicle owners have minimum car insurance coverage. In this post, we’ll go over these laws in detail, as well as touch on some other unique aspects of Oregon car insurance. Driving without car insurance is illegal in Oregon, and you will face severe penalties if you are arrested. That’s why drivers need to consider Oregon car insurance laws as well as the penalties for driving without insurance. Knowing about Oregon car insurance laws will help cover you and your family in the unhappy event of a car accident.

All you need to know about Oregon car insurance

Do you need car insurance in Oregon?

Yes, car insurance is required in Oregon. Any registered driver in Oregon is required by law to have vehicle liability insurance while they are on the road. Failure to do so would result in financial penalties as well as the loss of driving privileges. In addition, violating the law subjected motorists to three years of monthly surveillance by Oregon’s Department of Transportation.

What are the minimum Oregon car insurance requirements?

Drivers in Oregon are only required to have two forms of car insurance coverage: bodily injury liability and property damage liability.  If a driver causes an accident, the victims will be compensated via these liability insurance policies. A driver’s minimum insurance liability policy must include the following:

Bodily injury and property damage liability – $25,000 per person; $50,000 per crash for bodily injury to others; and $20,000 per crash for damage to others’ property

Personal injury protection – $15,000 per person.

Uninsured motorist – $25,000 per person;  and $50,000 per crash for bodily injury.

Does Oregon’s minimum car insurance coverage adequately protect you?

Unfortunately, Oregon’s minimum liability insurance provisions do not adequately cover you, whether you were the cause of the accident or a survivor of it. Liability insurance exists to cover your belongings, ensuring that you do not lose anything if you are sued by someone you injure in an accident. If you don’t have many assets and drive a beat-up car, the bare minimum of insurance can suffice. In 2013, the average auto liability claim for property harm was $3,231. The average auto liability claim for bodily injury was $15,443 — all of which would be protected by Oregon’s state minimum insurance. However, this is just an average. You should buy yourself more than the minimum car insurance coverage to cover yourself in the event of a major accident.

How much does car insurance cost in Oregon?

On average, Oregon car insurance costs $90 a month, or $1,080 per year. This varies depending on the insurance provider you choose, your location, your age, marital status, driving record, and credit score. High-risk drivers may end up paying close to $1600 a year for Oregon car insurance.

Does insurance follow the car or driver in Oregon?

In Oregon, car insurance policies usually follow the vehicle rather than the individual. For instance, if you were in a car accident while driving your friend’s vehicle, your friend’s auto insurance coverage, not your own, will be the primary source of compensation.

Is Oregon a no-fault car insurance state?

No, Oregon is not a no-fault car insurance state. In fact, Oregon follows a more traditional ‘fault’-based insurance system. Oregon is a tort state that allows drivers to have no-fault insurance, which means they need to use personal injury protection (PIP) insurance to pay for their own injuries in an accident but are not limited to suing the at-fault driver for compensation.

Why is car insurance so expensive in Oregon?

All you need to know about Oregon car insurance

Car insurance in Oregon tends to be on the more expensive side because the state’s minimum insurance provisions, including personal injury compensation and uninsured motorist coverage, are higher than most.

How can I find the cheapest Oregon car insurance?

The easiest way to find cheap Oregon car insurance is to compare quotes from various providers online. Quite often in Oregon, the disparity between the highest and lowest quotes for the same driver is almost $1,000! You can begin your research by getting free insurance quotes multiple on Way.com.


Check out our blogs for info on finding top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, and affordable car washes near you.


 

Related Posts

wave

Press ESC to close