×
Get 5% off in-app
400k+ download
Open app

Arizona Catalytic Converter Laws: What You Need to Know

  • Way app
  • Xavier Sabastian
  • 5 minutes

Spread the love

In Arizona, stealing a catalytic converter has become as easy as stealing candy from a child. Catalytic converters theft in Arizona is an “epidemic” of crime. One out of every 1000 people who live in Arizona has been a victim!¬† Read all about the new Arizona catalytic converter laws.

Thieves can take these things off a car in less than two minutes. Worse, catalytic converters often don’t have serial numbers. This makes it all the more difficult to track them back to a specific victim or car. So, when they are stolen in the middle of the day in the driveways of homes all over the Valley, they are rarely caught. Even when seen, prosecutors don’t always have enough evidence to get a jury to convict a suspect.

Arizona Catalytic Converter Laws

The new law passed by the Arizona State Legislature and quickly signed by the lawmakers aims to close loopholes that have made it easy to steal and sell catalytic converters. 

In the Way.com tradition of doing the hard work for you, we’ve put together all the information you need about Arizona’s catalytic converter laws. Way.com is here to help you understand Arizona’s catalytic converter laws.¬†

Arizona Catalytic Converters Laws

Catalytic converter theft was so common in Arizona that in May 2022, the state legislature passed House Bill 2652 to stop the black market for catalytic converters. Arizona’s laws about catalytic converters made it illegal for anyone but licensed realtors to buy, ask for, or advertise used catalytic converters.

Depending on the age and size of your car, Arizona requires car owners to have their vehicles pass an emissions test every year or every other year.¬†If you don’t have a catalytic converter in Arizona, you will fail the emissions test, and your car will not be registered. Under Arizona state law, you must pay a $300 fine if you drive a vehicle that hasn’t been registered.

On top of that, federal law says that the fine goes up to a massive $10,000 if you were the one who took off the converter. Even if your catalytic converter gets stolen, the environment and your wallet should get it replaced as soon as possible.

What is House Bill 2652?

House Bill 2652 or HB 2652 makes it illegal to ask for, advertise, or have a used converter for any reason other than to buy or sell it. It doesn’t apply to licensed auto recyclers and scrap metal dealers who are doing business legally. Nonetheless, all dealers are to be responsible.

Not only do transactions have to be reported, but there are also inspection and re-inspection periods. A scrap metal dealer must register with the state and sign up for a free website. This will let law enforcement send information about stolen items within 100 miles.

When suspicious materials are offered to them, dealers should inform the police. 

Now that the law has been passed, people who break it can be fined between $500 and $4,000. Moreover, law enforcement will be able to stop people from listing used converters online.

Putting a stop to the hustlers

In the Grand Canyon State, buying or selling a used converter is illegal unless it is done by a business that sells or installs new catalytic converters.

The Arizona House of Representatives voted in favor of the new bill by a substantial margin. It has a lot of rules that help police keep track of stolen converters as they move around the black market.

Why do thieves steal catalytic converters in Arizona?

Not only are catalytic converters easy to steal, but they also have valuable metals like palladium, rhodium, and platinum. When these metals are melted down and sold on the black market, a lot of money is made. One ounce of rhodium can sell on its own for $20,000!

How to protect your catalytic converter

You can’t watch your catalytic converter all the time. But there are a few things you can do to keep thieves away:

  • Put in a device to prevent theft
  • Pay attention to where you park
  • Engrave your catalytic converter

If your catalytic converter is stolen, you are only covered if you have full coverage. With this level of coverage, you won't have to pay out of pocket to replace your catalytic converter.

Does insurance cover the theft of a catalytic converter?

If your catalytic converter is stolen, you are only covered if you have full coverage. With this level of coverage, you won’t have to pay out of pocket to replace your catalytic converter.

Best insurance from Way.com

Worried about your catalytic converter? Still unsure about the laws in Arizona about them? You might be eager to add comprehensive coverage to your car insurance. That is easy to do with Way.com!

Get the Way.com app from the app store. Answer a few basic questions about your coverage needs in 60 seconds. Way.com makes it easy to buy car insurance. You have nothing to worry about.


Here’s more info on¬†top-rated airport parking,¬†the best parking spots in your city, affordable¬†auto insurance, easy¬†auto refinance, and¬†high-quality car washes near you.


 

Related Posts

wave

Press ESC to close