Car registration in Arkansas is done to link the car to its owner. The Office of Motor Vehicle is in charge of car registration in the state of Arkansas (OMV).
People who just moved to Arkansas and bought a car have 30 days to get the car registered with the state.
Arkansas car registration for new residents
After moving to Arkansas, new residents have 30 days to register their cars with the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV). Before a new state resident can register their car, they must have an active Arkansas auto insurance policy that meets the state’s minimum coverage requirements and transfer their out-of-state title to an Arkansas vehicle title.
Arkansas lets its citizens transfer the title of their car at the same time they register it.
How to register the car in Arkansas for new residents
If you move to Arkansas, you have to register your car in person at any AR OMV revenue office and bring:
- The current registration certificate from the state they came from before.
- Proof that you have car insurance in Arkansas.
- A completed Application for Vehicle Registration (Form 10-381). This form is an application to register the car and an application to get the title.
- Bill of sale and statement about the odometer.
- Vehicle identification number proof (VIN)
- Payment of car registration fees that are due.
If you just moved to Arkansas and have questions about what you need to do, you can call the AR OMV office.
Car Registration in Arkansas
Residents of Arkansas must register and title their cars with the AR OMV within 30 days of buying the car or having the title signed, even if the car was a gift, an inheritance, or was passed down through the family.
Residents of Arkansas must go to an AR OMV office and bring the following docs:
- Proof that the car is yours.
- Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) given to the car’s owner (if the car was purchased from a dealership)
- Title to the car, signed by both the new owner and the person who sold the car (if the car was purchased from a private party)
- If the car is less than 20 years old, there should be a statement about the odometer on the back of the title application.
- Form for Reporting the Odometer (Form 10-313).
- Proof of vehicle identification number (VIN) if an AR resident registers a car bought out of state with salvage or similar title.
- Valid car insurance in Arkansas.
Car Registration Fees in Arkansas
The fees for registering a car in the state of Arkansas are based on:
- The car’s total weight.
- Title costs
- License plate
- Taxes on the city and county
The fees that AR residents pay depend on the above factors, but there are also base fees for registering a car in AR, which include:
- 3000 lbs and under: $17
- 3001 to 4500 lbs: $25
- 4501 lbs and over: $30
In Arkansas, all cars must pay the same fee for a validation decal. Any car that costs more than $4000 is taxed at 6.5% of the difference. The sales tax for people who live in Texarkana is 7%. If local taxes are needed in AR, the total price is based on the rules and laws of that state.
Local taxes in Arkansas can’t be more than $25 for every 1% of taxes owed.
Arkansans have 30 days to get their vehicles registered. When this time is up, the following fees will be charged to people living in this state:
Residents of AR have to pay $3 every ten days if they don’t finish the registration process. In addition, if there is a late payment of sales tax, then 10% of the amount will be levied.
Registration of a car from another state in Arkansas
The AR OMV lets people title their cars from out of state by mail, but they must show proof that they are registered. People from other states can’t register their cars in Arkansas.
Car inspections in Arkansas
If you live in Arkansas and own a car with a salvage title or a salvage title from before, you must get a vehicle inspection number (VIN) inspection done before registering it with the state.
Arkansas residents must go to their local police station and ask for a VIN inspection to get one. Certified city or county police officers can only do this job.
Methods of Payment
The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration take the following forms of payment:
- American Express
- Master Card
Some DFA offices in AR might take cash.
Arkansas car insurance via Way.com
Way.com is the best app for saving time and money on car costs, such as insurance. After you sign up quickly, Way.com’s insurance agents do all the hard work for you, like getting quotes from over 130 of the best insurance companies and filling out the paperwork to get you signed up.
Way.com can even help you get rid of your old insurance plan. Even better, Way.com checks prices before your renewal and lets you know if there’s a better deal, so you know you’re always getting the lowest rates.