×
Get 5% off in-app
400k+ download
Open app

Arkansas Catalytic Converter Laws: What You Need to Know

  • Way app
  • Xavier Sabastian
  • 5 minutes

Spread the love

Thieves still want to steal catalytic converters. It seems to be a crime that won’t go away. Lawmakers want to make it hard on people who steal car parts. Arkansas Catalytic Converter Laws can be simplified into one phrase – House Bill 1012. House Bill 1012 or HB1012, what is it? Read on to know more.

Under Arkansas state law, all cars made after the 1974 model year must have a catalytic converter approved by the EPA. When you buy a used catalytic converter, you must also follow specific state laws. All cars require catalytic converters. 

It can be hard to understand Arkansas’s laws about catalytic converters if cars aren’t your thing. Way.com has put together this helpful guide with all the information you need about Arkansas’s catalytic converter laws.

Arkansas Catalytic Converter Laws

Arkansas Catalytic Converter Laws

In April 2021, the State House of Arkansas passed a bill requiring people who buy used catalytic converters in the state to keep certain records. HB 1012 was passed by a unanimous vote. Arkansas was undergoing not just the epidemic of COVID-19 but also the thefts of catalytic converters.

What does the bill say? Scrap metal dealers would have to keep a digital photo of the seller. Furthermore, the following details like the scrap metal in the form it was bought in and if there was one, the catalytic converter. The date and time should be marked on the image.

Also, the person who bought a used catalytic converter must keep electronic records about the problem. Among them are:

  • Buyer’s name and address
  • Seller’s name and address.
  • The number plate of the seller’s car
  • Seller’s driver’s license or an ID from the government.
  • Accordingly, how many used catalytic converters were bought?

The records would have to be kept for a year, and law enforcement, cities, and counties would have access to them. They WILL also be used in court.

Arkansas' state lawmakers passed several laws about how to buy used catalytic converters correctly. 

Laws regarding buying used Catalytic Converters in Arkansas

Arkansas’ state lawmakers passed several laws about how to buy used catalytic converters correctly.¬†

If you are not a licensed scrap metal recycler and want to buy a catalytic converter in Arkansas, you will need to:

  • File an electronic record of the purchase.¬†
  • Make sure to include the seller’s and your own home addresses, the seller’s license plate number, the seller’s driver’s license number, the number of used catalytic converters you are buying, and a photo of the catalytic converters you purchased.
  • Put that electronic record in the statewide database within 24 hours of buying the catalytic converter for the first time.
  • Furthermore, keep the receipt for that electronic record as proof that you bought it.

If you don’t follow these laws, you could lose your registration and be fined up to $500. You will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor or even be charged with a Class D felony. This depends on how many times you broke the law.

Do I require a catalytic converter to drive in Arkansas?

The answer is a big blatant yes. Almost all gas-powered cars made after the 1974 model year in the United States require a catalytic converter, and Arkansas is no different.

Remember that your car will still work without a catalytic converter. It might be tempting to keep driving if yours gets stolen. However, state law requires you to get it replaced as soon as possible.

Are there any penalties for driving with a catalytic converter?

If your catalytic converter was stolen and you are caught driving without a replacement, you will have to pay a fine of up to $250. Driving without a catalytic converter will also fail emissions tests, leading to even more penalties. This is why you should always replace your catalytic converter as soon as possible.

If, on the other hand, you took out your catalytic converter, the penalties are much harsher. You could get a fine of up to $10,000 on top of state-mandated penalties.

Why do thieves steal Catalytic Converters?

Catalytic converters contain valuable metals like palladium, platinum, and rhodium, which are very valuable. Someone who steals your catalytic converter could quickly sell it for up to $300. This is just for a regular catalytic converter.

Money Heist Running GIF by getbaff

via GIPHY

Besides, catalytic converters are easy to steal doesn’t help either. In fact, the best thieves can steal a catalytic converter in less than five minutes. This means that thefts can happen even during the day.

Does car insurance cover theft of Catalytic Converters?

It depends. If you have regular car insurance, it’s implausible that your insurance company will pay for a stolen catalytic converter. But if you have a full insurance policy, you won’t have to pay out of your own pocket if thieves steal your converter. This will cover the cost of replacing the part. It costs more than a standard policy but will spare you the pain of paying from your pocket.

Affordable car insurance with Way.com

Comprehensive car insurance can be pricey if you want to protect your catalytic converter, but it doesn’t have to be if you use Way.com. As the #1 rated car insurance comparison app Way.com makes it easier than ever to find cheap rates, saving the average user more than $971 a year.

All you have to do is download the app and fill out a short survey. Then Way.com will compare dozens of quotes from over 130 trusted insurance providers. This will help you find the best deals on the market.


Here’s more info on¬†top-rated airport parking,¬†the best parking spots in your city, affordable¬†auto insurance, easy¬†auto refinance, and¬†high-quality car washes near you.


 

Related Posts

wave

Press ESC to close