Get 5% off in-app
400k+ download
Open app

Car insurance in Alabama – All you need to know

  • Auto Insurance
  • Renee Martin
  • 3 minutes

Spread the love

From Mobile to Huntsville, wherever you are if you own a car, you’ll need to know about car insurance in Alabama. Here’s all you need to know about finding cheap car insurance rates that’ll have you singing ‘Sweet Home Alabama’ as you drive along in the Heart of Dixie!

Car insurance in Alabama - All you need to know

Do you have to have car insurance in Alabama?

Yes, you do. According to the Alabama car insurance laws require drivers to have minimum liability insurance is needed on all self-propelled motor vehicles, including automobiles, motorcycles, trucks, pickups, and motor homes. This is intended to protect all parties involved in a car accident. Uninsured drivers in Alabama are not permitted to register, maintain, or operate a motor vehicle unless it carries the bare minimum of liability insurance.

What is the minimum car insurance coverage legally required in Alabama?

The minimum liability car insurance coverage as required in Alabama is

  • $25,000 for one person’s injuries or death in an accident
  • $50,000 in the event that an accident results in the injury or death of more than one person.
  • $25,000 for causing damage to another person’s property

What are the penalties for driving without car insurance in Alabama?

If you are a vehicle owner or operator convicted of breaching Alabama’s Mandatory Liability Insurance Law, the following penalties apply:

  • Fines of up to $500 for the first violation and $1,000 for subsequent offenses
  • Suspension of driver’s license for six months
  • Impounding of vehicles

In addition to the penalties mentioned above, if you register or drive a vehicle without having liability insurance, your registration will be suspended and you will face the following:

  • For the first offense, a $200 reinstatement cost for registration and driver’s license is assessed.
  • Subsequent infractions will result in a $400 reinstatement charge and a mandatory four-month suspension of registration.
  • Additionally, proof of current insurance must be presented to reinstate your vehicle registration.

How much is car insurance in Alabama?

Car insurance isn’t too expensive in Alabama, compared to other states. However, car insurance in Alabama will still cost you around $1,344 a year. Please note that car insurance rates in Alabama depend on various factors such as your zip code, martial status, driving record, and credit history.

How much is car insurance in Alabama per month?

You’ll need to spend around $112 for a monthly Alabama car insurance. You can reduce your rates by ensuring that you maintain a clean driving record, and impeccable credit history.

Is Alabama a no-fault state for car insurance?

Car insurance in Alabama - All you need to know

No, Alabama is not a no-fault state. In fact, Alabama uses a fault-based system (also called ‘tort’ system) for car insurance claims. Simply put, this means that the driver who causes the accident uses their insurance to pay for the other driver’s collision-related expenses. The available evidence is used by police and insurance companies to establish who is at fault for the accident.

How can I find the cheapest car insurance in Alabama?

The most convenient way to find low-cost Alabama auto insurance is to compare quotes from several suppliers online. In Alabama, the difference between the top and lowest quotations for the same driver is frequently over $1,000! You can start looking for cheap Alabama car insurance quotes by obtaining free insurance quotes from various companies via the Way.com website and app.

Check out our blogs for info on finding top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, and affordable car washes near you.


Related Posts


Press ESC to close