×
Get 5% off in-app
400k+ download
Open app

Car Registration in Virginia: Read our step-by-step process

  • Auto Insurance
  • Xavier Sabastian
  • 4 minutes

Spread the love

Have you recently purchased a car in Virginia or relocated to the state? If that’s the case, you’ll need to register your car in Virginia.¬†If you bought a car from a dealership, this might be taken off your plate. Registering your car in Virginia can be a hassle. Here’s a step-by-step guide on car registration in Virginia.¬†

You must, however, update your papers if you purchased a car from a private party in Virginia or if you relocated to the state. Read our step-by-step guide to registering a car in Virginia.

WAY PLUS

Registration of your car in Virginia

You are obliged by law to register your car in the state where you live, just as you are required to get your driver’s license to drive a car. Why?¬†It’s not only the law, but it’s also a technique to link you as the driver to your car.

As you might expect, this can be useful in theft or loss. You must also hand over your registration when you are stopped to establish that you are the car owner.

Heart Love GIF by Virginia is for Lovers

via GIPHY

Participants in Registering your car

In Virginia, car registration is mandatory. When should you register your car? These are the times when you should look to register your car:

  • You purchased your car from a private seller.
  • You relocated to Virginia and need to update your records.
  • It’s time to renew your registration.

When you buy a car from a dealership, the registration is usually taken care of. It’s worth noting, though, that the paperwork can take up to 30 days to process.

Particulars to register your car in Virginia

Are you thinking to yourself,¬†“What do I need to register my car in Virginia?”

Read the below list to get your checklist ready:

  • Your Virginia car title (you’ll need to fill out an Application for Title and Registration if you’re new to the state)
  • The Registration Application Form
  • Emissions check
  • Minimum Insurance Coverage
  • You’ll need your Virginia driver’s license
  • Get a new car safety inspection sticker if you’re a new Virginia resident.
  • Get new Virginia license plates.
  • You may need to register your car in your town.

These are the documents needed to register a car in Virginia. But first, let’s go over how to register a car in Virginia.

Particulars to register your car in Virginia

Steps to Register your car in Virginia

If you’re wondering how to register a car in Virginia as a new resident, here are the procedures to take:

  • First, apply for a driver’s license in Virginia.
  • Within 30 days of relocation, apply for a Virginia title.¬†
  • Complete and submit the Title and Registration Application.
  • Proof of residency in Virginia.
  • Get a sticker for your car’s safety inspection.
  • Have both the seller and the buyer sign the Vehicle Price Certification.
  • Get an emissions inspection.
  • Proof of insurance.
  • Pay your registration fees.

If you’re already a resident but bought a car from a private party, you’ll need to have the following documents:

  • Complete the following sections: The “Assignment of Title by Owner” and “Application for New Owner Certificate of Title and Registration.”
  • Complete and submit the Registration Application.
  • Get an emissions inspection.
  • Proof of insurance.
  • Pay your registration fees.

You can sign up for e-notifications to receive registration renewal reminders once you’ve registered. Applying for registration online will make the procedure much easier. However, you will have to pay a $10 fine if you are late in the registration process.

Cost of registration in Virginia

Cost of registration in Virginia

When registering a car in Virginia, you must pay a variety of registration fees, including:

  • $15 titling charge.
  • A charge sales and use tax ranging from $75 to $1,500, depending on the car’s sale price.
  • For passenger cars, the registration charge in Virginia ranges from $30.75 to $35.75.

Proof of Car Insurance in Virginia for registration

Virginia requires its drivers to have minimum insurance coverage. Therefore, you must have the following minimum insurance coverage to register your car:

  • $25,000 in the case of injury or death for a single person
  • $50,000 in the case of injury or death for two people or greater
  • $20,000 in the case of property damage¬†

If at the time of registration you cannot provide proof of insurance you will have to pay $500 as a fine.

Proof of Car Insurance in Virginia for registration

What to remember when you register your car in Virginia

It’s time to update your car registration if you got a new car or moved to Virginia. Gather your paperwork ahead of time and apply for a state title, making sure both the buyer and the seller sign the form.¬†

Getting your driver’s license, Virginia title, and minimal car insurance will help you get started if you’re a new resident.


Here’s more info on¬†top-rated airport parking,¬†the best parking spots in your city, affordable¬†auto insurance, easy¬†auto refinance, and¬†high-quality car washes near you.


 

Related Posts

wave

Press ESC to close