Colorado catalytic converter theft is a recurring incident across the state. There is an alarming increase in theft rates by 5091% between 2019 to 2021, according to the Colorado Autotheft Prevention Authority. Hence, there are a set of laws that help in reducing catalytic converter thefts. This should hopefully bring a change, thereby assuring vehicle safety.
If you notice that your catalytic converter’s missing, report the theft at your local police station. While you can drive without a converter, it is dangerous to do so. Driving with missing or faulty catalytic converters can cause harmful emissions to accumulate within your car. Therefore, check your converters and seek expert advice if you find your catalytic converters faulty or missing.
House Bill 22-1217- A Step against Colorado Catalytic Converter Theft
The solution for increasing catalytic converter theft anywhere is always a law against it. HB22-1217 includes one act that aims to cut down catalytic converter thefts in Colorado. Also known as the Catalytic Converter Records and Grant Program, it includes preventions that you can take to keep your converters safe.
The following are some of the enforcements that the act mentions:
- The Colorado state patrol needs to create a report after evaluating the level of law compliance of dealers, shopkeepers, and converter proprietors.
- According to this act, the state patrol should create an assessment form to inspect converters. The inspecting agency must fill out the form after checking the converters. In addition, the state patrol should also send a summary form of all the vehicles that they check.
- The act also grants eligible participants of the catalytic converters awareness program that different organizations host. People who lose their catalytic converter parts, and victims of theft, are all eligible for grants. The act assures attendees to retrieve their lost catalytic converters.
- As per this act, the Department of Public Safety is provided $300000, which the Colorado state patrols to identify faulty converters.
Catalytic Converter Etching Kits- A Move Against Colorado Catalytic Converter Thefts
Colorado Autotheft Prevention Authority, along with the Boulder Police, has finally come up with an initiative to control converter thefts. According to this initiative, Boulder County residents will be given etching kits. They may use this to etch their VIN on their cars.
The kits come with instructions on how to etch your VIN decal, along with a window sticker. This, according to the authorities, is a successful method to curb converter thefts in Colorado. The decal also has a database that helps you identify and retrieve your converters.
Penalties against Catalytic Converter Thefts in Colorado
SB22-179 deals with laws regarding tampering with catalytic converters in Colorado. It imposes fines from $200 to $15000 depending on the seriousness of the offense. The bill also forbids selling converters without proper bills and documents. However, these penalties have not yet come into effect and are expected to be implemented by 2024.
Driving without catalytic converters in Colorado is an equally punishable offense. Each day you drive with improper or missing converters, you’re likely to get fined $47357 each day.
Accessible Auto Insurance via Way.com
Does your car insurance include coverage for stolen catalytic converters? As long as you have the proper range, the answer is a resounding yes! If you live in Colorado, you won’t have to look very far to discover insurance companies.
You can instantly compare prices from more than 50 of the top insurance companies, including State Farm and Nationwide, using Way.com. So, don’t feel bound by just one auto insurance company. Way.com provides you with various options. We’ll help you find the most cost-effective plan that meets your needs.
Here’s more info on top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, affordable auto insurance, easy auto refinance, and high-quality car washes near you.