It is important that you follow the driving rules from the beginning. It just makes you a responsible citizen and a good driver. Having a driver’s license is the most important requirement when you are on the road. But what about driving with a permit?
Can you drive with a permit?
Legally, no. Different states have different rules about how old you must be to get a permit and who you can drive with. However, no state lets you drive by yourself with a permit. You must be with a licensed, experienced driver regardless of your age. This is true even if you have a permit for adults learning to drive.
Most states require that you have a licensed driver past 21 in the passenger seat when you have a permit. They may also limit the number and age of other people who can ride with you while you drive.
What are the requirements to drive in the US?
To drive legally in the United States, you should keep in mind the following:
- At the time of driving, you must be at least 18 years old.
- Should have a valid driver’s license from their home country, state, or an international driving permit. Licenses that have expired are not allowed.
- Should not have any health problems that would make one unfit to drive.
- Should follow all of the state’s rules and laws about driving.
When can you drive with a permit?
All states require people with learner’s permits to have a licensed adult driver in the passenger seat. The purpose of your permit is for more experienced drivers to teach you how to drive and help you practice before you take your driver’s test. For more coverage information, you might want to read our article on insurance for learner’s permits.
Most states require that the driver who comes along must be at least 21 years old and have a valid driver’s license. Some states have other rules about who can go with them, like how long they’ve been driving.
Montana, North Dakota, and Wyoming let licensed drivers who are 18 years old accompany drivers who only have permits. In Maine, the driver must be at least 20 years old.
California, Delaware, Indiana, Missouri, and Wisconsin require a licensed driver who is 25 years old to accompany a driver who got a permit.
In Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Vermont, the driver who goes with the teen must be a parent, legal guardian, or licensed driving instructor:
In some states, the driver who goes with you must also have between one and five years of driving experience so that they can teach you how to drive well.
Most states also limit how many passengers a new driver can have to keep people from getting hurt. Most states don’t let new drivers have passengers who aren’t family, or they limit the age and number of passengers who aren’t family. Check your state’s rules when you get your learner’s permit to see if you need someone when driving. If you follow these rules, you can keep track of your insurance coverage and avoid getting fined or punished for driving without a license.
Are there any penalties for driving with a permit?
The law is clear: if you want to drive a car independently, you need a license. In this case, learners’ permits don’t work. So, you can get in trouble if you drive without a license.
Some things that could happen are fines, a mark on your driving record, having your car taken away, and doing community service. Before you get your driver’s license and have more driving history, this kind of thing can hurt you. So, when you get your license, you’ll be able to ride alone.
Assistance in parking, nearest cash wash and EV chargers, affordable car insurance and refinance quotes, gas discounts, and much more! All in just one App. Elevate your car ownership experience with our Way+ services that will change your idea of owning a car.