Get 5% off in-app
400k+ download
Open app

How to Register Your Car in Georgia

Spread the love

To drive around Peach State, you need a car registration which is mandatory in the state. The Georgia Motor Vehicle Division (GA MVD) leads the car registration process in Georgia. So, what does the car registration process in the state include? In addition, here, we look at the steps in registering your car, the requirements, and the registration and renewal costs.  

georgia car registration

The law requires owners and lessees of motor vehicles with active registrations to maintain continuous Georgia Liability Insurance coverage. However, the State of Georgia exempts certain vehicles from registration. These include mopeds, motorized cars, all-terrain vehicles, off-road vehicles, tractors, and trailers not registered in Georgia. 

 In addition, if you are a non-resident student attending a Georgia College or University, you are not required to register your vehicle(s) in this state if your vehicle visibly displays a valid license plate from your home state. 

Where do I register my car in Georgia? 

Suppose you are purchasing or transferring ownership of a car in Georgia. In that case, you must apply for a title and receive or transfer a Georgia license plate at your County Tag Office.

Consequently, Georgia law requires you to apply for or transfer your vehicle’s title and registration within 30 days of relocating to Georgia or from one county to another. 

What do I need to get my car registered in Georgia? 

You must complete the car registration in the county tag office. Meanwhile, the following documents need to be filled in and submitted to initiate the process.  

  • Georgia driver’s license or ID Card
  • Proof of ownership; this will include Vehicle’s original valid title, with the complete information on the buyer/seller.
  • Form MV-1 Title/Tag Application
  • Proof of insurance.
  • Emission inspection report.
  • Registration fees.

In addition, if the car is an older model than 1985, you need to provide the bill of sale. In case of unavailability of title, then you must produce a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MSO) or a registration certification from a non-title state/county.  

However, you must submit a Form T-22B Certificate of Inspection if the title is transferred from a non-title state/country. 

Read here: Guide to getting your Driver’s License in Georgia

How do I register my car in Georgia?

The vehicle registration process in Georgia can be done in person or by mail to the county tag office. However, if you are a new resident in the state, you need to visit the nearest county tag office in person.  

Meanwhile, the Georgia Motor Vehicle Division offers an online title and registration service to speed up the registration process. You require the following details ready before you proceed. 

  • Vehicle Identification Number
  • Details about vehicle, purchase, and owner.

Residents of Georgia have seven days from the date of purchase to register a new car with the GA Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). In addition, it must also be noted that the car registration is valid for a year in the state.

Georgia car registration

Car registration for vehicles bought from a dealership

The car registration process in Georgia must be handled by the owner even if the car was purchased from a dealer. The dealer will only apply for the vehicle title and issue temporary tags valid for 30 days.

The following documents need to be submitted if you have purchased your car from a dealer.

  • Vehicle registration tag issued by the dealer.
  • Form T-226;  application to extend the registration of a motor vehicle purchased from a dealer.
  • Proof of ownership.
  • GA driver’s license.

Once you have these ready, you can apply for registration within 30 days after you have received the tag.   

Car registration for a non-leased vehicle

For registering your non-leased vehicle in Georgia, you require the following documents.

  • Valid GA license.
  • GA auto insurance policy.
  • Proof of ownership.
  • Proof of residency; lease agreement, utility bill, paycheck stub with printed address.
  • Vehicle inspection proof.

Car registration for a non-leased vehicle

One must certainly make sure that a GA resident applies to the title in the leasing company’s name or that Georgia title has already been issued in the company’s name.   

The following documents must be submitted to register your vehicle in the state.

  • Form MV-1 or title application.
  • Auto insurance policy proof.
  • Power of attorney from the vehicle’s leasing company or the lease agreement.
  • Titling documentation.
  • Georgia driver’s license or state ID card.
  • Proof of residency; lease agreement, utility bill.
  • Vehicle inspection proof.
  • Vehicle registration fees, taxes, and titling fees.

How much is the car registration fees in Georgia?

The car registration fees in Georgia depend on the type of car and license plate, titling fees, and the Valorem tax that varies according to the county. 

The standard registration fee for the original title application is $18. The vehicle registration renewal fee in Georgia is $20. In addition, if you fail to register within 30 days, you’ll have to pay a penalty of $10. 

How to renew my car registration in Georgia

You can renew your car registration in Georgia by mail, in person, or through the MV Express Self-Service Tag Kiosk, once you have received the renewal notice.

  • For online renewal, one can make use of the Georgia DMV car registration website. You can renew your registration in person if you visit the nearest Georgia county tag office with the necessary documents and fees.
  • In addition, you can scan your renewal notice at an MV Express Self-Service Tag Kiosk or type your license plate number and the last four digits of your Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) on the touchscreen for registration renewal.   
  • You can renew by phone by calling 877-496-0249 or mail the required documents and the fees to your county tag office.

Car Insurance in Georgia via Way.com

Car insurance coverage shopping might be time-consuming, but if you do your homework and shop around, you’ll be rewarded with better coverage at a lower price. Having sufficient auto insurance is a must before starting the car registration process in Georgia.

Read here: All you need to know about Georgia car insurance

Use an insurance aggregator like Way.com to get multiple rates on auto insurance from different companies if you want to save time and money. With more than 200 suppliers on our network, you are sure to find affordable deals on insurance in the state.

Here’s more info on top-rated airport parkingthe best parking spots in your city, affordable auto insurance, easy auto refinance, and high-quality car washes near you.


Related Posts


Press ESC to close