Idaho drivers are lucky to enjoy some of the lowest car insurance rates in the country. However, car insurance in Idaho will be significantly affected if you manage to get a DUI. Yes, your car insurance will increase, but that’s not all. Here’s how a DUI will affect your car insurance in Idaho.
In Idaho, a charge of driving under the influence or DUI is considered a pretty serious offense. You will be considered to be DUI if you are found to be
- Driving while having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or above.
- Under 21 and driving with a BAC of 0.02.
- Driving under the influence of drugs or any other intoxicants
Idaho’s DUI laws are progressive. This means that with each subsequent DUI crime, your penalties become increasingly severe. If there is no injury or child endangerment, you may be able to get away with relatively mild penalties on your first DUI arrest. Even if the penalty is low, you will have a DUI citation on your criminal record. While first and second offenses are deemed misdemeanors in Idaho, you will be charged with a felony from your third DUI offense.
If you get arrested for DUI in Idaho, you will face not just criminal charges for driving under the influence but you’ll also face DMV sanctions against your driver’s license. For your second or subsequent crime charge within the span of the last five years, your license will be suspended for a year with no prospect of obtaining a restricted permit.
Will a DUI impact my car insurance premium in Idaho?
After a DUI in Idaho, your vehicle insurance rate will almost certainly rise. Car insurance firms set their prices in part based on how dangerous it is to insure a motorist. Comprehensive insurance costs an average of $1,462 per year in Idaho after a DUI conviction, a 72 percent increase above the national annual average of $850. If you have a DUI on your record, an insurance provider would most likely view you as a higher risk for coverage than someone who has a clean driving record. Do you want to save money on your auto insurance? After you’ve had a few drinks, don’t go behind the wheel.
For how long does a DUI stay on my record in Idaho?
The lookback period or washout period for your DUI offense in Idaho is 10 years. If you are again found guilty of DUI during this time period, you will be charged with a second offense. When ten years have passed since your previous DUI, the state of Idaho will delete the citation from your record. You will be penalized as a first-time offender if you commit a new DUI crime. While your current Idaho car insurance policy may not get affected by a DUI, when your insurer revisits the policy or the renewal term approaches, you may be required to pay more. The insurer may also refuse to renew the coverage based on a risk assessment as a driver.
Similarly, when you apply for new auto insurance in Idaho, the insurer will first check your driving record. A DUI citation on your record immediately categorizes you as a higher-than-average risk. The insurance company will almost certainly request that you pay a higher premium for your policy.
How can I reduce the impact a DUI will have on my car insurance in Idaho?
Unfortunately, there is no easy solution for finding affordable car insurance in Idaho after a DUI conviction. Your best bet is to shop around for the most lenient insurance company in Idaho. Insurance premiums will also vary depending on various other factors, such as your location and the number of infractions. If you have a DUI/DUI on your record and are looking for low-cost insurance in Idaho, free quotations from the Way.com website or app would help. You will be able to compare quotes from several car insurance providers in Idaho and discover what pricing they provide while still offering adequate coverage.
Check out our blogs for info on finding top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, and affordable car washes near you.