×
Get 5% off in-app
400k+ download
Open app

How Much Does Texas Car Registration Cost?

  • Insurance
  • Gerard Stevens
  • 6 minutes

Spread the love

New to Texas? From exploring its cities to visiting the Gulf Coast and hill country, the country’s second-biggest state entices you in many ways! The excitement doubles if you visit the state driving your car. But, for that, you need to do Texas car registration first.¬†¬†

Since Texas car registration is a time-consuming and exhausting process, you should begin it soon after your move. According to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV), you cannot register your out-of-state car online. Therefore, the earlier you begin, the sooner you will be able to register your out-of-state car in Texas. 

Texas has certain unique laws that you should know before registering your car. In addition, some laws may not fit your car. So, how can you do car registration in Texas? How much does Texas car registration cost? Here’s all the info you want to know about Texas car registration!¬†

How to begin Texas car registration 

If you’re new to Texas, you will get 30 days to register your car officially. Your car must pass an inspection to get new car registration in Texas. You can take your car to a Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) approved inspection station. You can find one by visiting the Texas DPS Vehicle Inspection Station homepage. It’s crucial to understand that the Texas DMV handles car registrations, while the Texas DPS is in charge of driving licenses.¬†

Once your car passes the inspection, you should produce certain documents to your Texas county tax office. That’s where you complete the process of car registration. So, what are the items that you need to complete new car registration in Texas? See the info below. ¬†

Do you want to know in detail about the car registration process? Here’s detailed info!¬†

Get the best insurance quote while doing Texas car registration

What do I need for car registration in Texas?

1. Proof of car inspection report. These inspections are essential to ensure your safety while driving. So never try to skip it or postpone it.

2. Proof of car ownership.

3. Liability insurance proof. Texas has a minimum auto insurance requirement of $30,000 per injured person, $25,000 for property damage, and up to $60,000 for everyone injured in an accident. You should probably get your insurance card ready before the inspection. Get your auto insurance ready before the officials inspect your car. It is risky to drive without auto insurance as Texas laws are very strong.

4. Report your car’s odometer. Double-check with your county to ensure if it’s needed.

5. Sales tax payment proof.

6. A printed and filled-out application form for Texas title and registration.

Learn more about auto insurance in Texas!

How much is car registration in Texas? 

Filling the forms or producing the relevant documents won’t complete the Texas car registration process. In addition, you need to pay some additional expenses to complete it. There will be some administrative costs as well as vehicle taxes. However, don’t panic! These costs aren’t expensive, and they shouldn’t slow down your registration.¬†

Usually, it will cost around $50.75 to register your car in Texas. However, there are additional charges for applying for a title, inspecting the car, and county fees, which may vary.  

Type of fee  Estimated fee 
Registration  $50.75 (passenger cars and light trucks) 
Title application   $28-35 (depending on the county) 
Car inspection  $30-$35 
Local county  Around $32 
Insurance verification  $1 
Processing and handling fee  $5 (maximum) 

Is there a fee for late car registration in Texas? 

Suppose you renew your car’s registration after expiry. In that case, you must specify whether you have received a ticket for driving the vehicle with an expired registration. You will get a full year’s registration depending on the facts or impose a penalty of 20%¬† in addition to the full year’s registration.¬†

How to renew car registration in Texas? 

You can renew your Texas car registration in a variety of ways. However, remember that you must pass a car inspection before you may renew your license.‚ÄĮ¬†

Online 

You can renew the car registration online 90 days before the expiry date or up to a maximum of six months after the expiration date if you haven’t received a citation for expired registration. In addition, you will receive a $1.00 discount if you renew online. There are two main ways to renew the registration online.¬†

By Texas by Texas (TxT):‚ÄĮTxT is an official, account-based digital government assistant that helps Texans with vehicle registration renewal quicker, faster, and more secure. Visit Texas by Texas page on Texas.gov to learn more about TxT and register an account.¬†

Fill out the Vehicle Registration Renewal form: You can use this online option to renew if you don’t want to register a TxT account.¬†

Mail 

You can mail the renewal notification, a copy of your Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR), proof of existing liability insurance, and all fees to your county Tax Assessor-Collector office.‚ÄĮ‚ÄĮ¬†

In-person 

Produce the registration renewal notice to your county’s Tax Assessor-Collector office or an approved substation, along with proof of existing liability insurance.¬†

How early can I renew my car registration in Texas? 

Suppose you haven’t received a ticket for expired registration. In that case, you can renew your car registration online 90 days before the expiry date or up to a maximum of six months after the expiration date.¬†

Is there a grace period for car registration in Texas? 

After the registration expires, the state offers a five-day grace period without charging a penalty fee. Even though you are late registering the car, the next renewal month is 12 months after the initial expiration date. 

Can I drive my car with an expired registration?  

Yes, but only for a limited period. You can drive a car without penalty for five working days after its registration expires. You will receive a citation of up to $200 after those five days. 

Finding the best insurance for your car

Are you looking for the best auto insurance in Texas? First, you should be aware that Texas has high insurance rates. So if you’re looking for a cheap insurance quote, we can help you with that! You can visit Way.com to find cheap Texas insurance quotes and pick the best one!

Save big on auto insurance via Way.com

 


Here’s more info on top-rated airport parking,¬†the best parking spots in your city, affordable¬†auto insurance, easy¬†auto refinance, and¬†high-quality car washes near you.


 

Related Posts

wave

Press ESC to close