×
Get 5% off in-app
400k+ download
Open app

How to find the best car insurance quotes in Wisconsin

  • Cars Explained
  • Renee Martin
  • 5 minutes

Spread the love

Although car insurance rates in Wisconsin are lower than the national average, finding a policy that meets your requirements can be quite daunting. So let’s take a look at how you can find the best car insurance in Wisconsin quotes.

Free auto insurance quotes

Drivers in Wisconsin are fortunate when it comes to car insurance rates. Wisconsin has some of the cheapest car insurance rates in the country! But wouldn’t it be nice to save a few bucks on your Wisconsin auto insurance? Wisconsin has minimum insurance requirements, and driving without it is illegal. However, to ensure compliance, you must first understand Wisconsin’s auto insurance laws. Here’s all the information you need to find the best car insurance quotes in Wisconsin.

Do I need to have car insurance in Wisconsin?

Yes, you do. Wisconsin auto insurance law mandates a minimum level of coverage. All Wisconsin drivers must have proof of continuing insurance while driving a vehicle in the state. In the event of an accident, non-compliance can result in high out-of-pocket expenses or even fines.

What is the minimum car insurance coverage required in Wisconsin?

The minimum liability car insurance coverage required in Wisconsin is:

  • $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident
  • $10,000 of property damage coverage

Drivers in Wisconsin can opt for additional car insurance coverage such as uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Under Wisconsin vehicle insurance requirements, drivers must have at least $50,000 in underinsured motorist bodily injury (UIMBI) coverage per person and $100,000 per car accident. If you’re in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist, this will cover your expenses.

When driving a vehicle, drivers must have proof of insurance in addition to holding an active auto insurance policy. At any time, law enforcement may request a copy of the policy.

How much is car insurance in Wisconsin?

Car insurance isn’t all that expensive in Wisconsin, especially when compared with other states. Currently, Wisconsin ranks as the sixth cheapest state in the country in terms of car insurance rates. However, with ever-changing insurance laws in the state, your car insurance rates can fluctuate from time to time. The average cost of full coverage auto insurance in Wisconsin is $1188. This is nearly $710 less than the national average for maximum coverage, which is $1908. Minimum coverage car insurance, on the other hand, costs just $327 a year.

Wisconsin requires a set level of Med Pay and uninsured motorist coverage in addition to the standard liability coverage needed by all drivers. Let’s take a look at what each of these forms of compulsory coverage entails.

Split limits are a type of liability coverage that is set out with three separate amounts. The figures for Wisconsin are 25/50/10. Each one corresponds to a distinct kind of coverage. The first two are for bodily injury, with the first number indicating a per-person limit and the second indicating a per-accident limit. This implies that if you cause an accident, your insurance carrier will pay up to $25,000 per person for injuries, up to a total of $50,000 per accident.

The last number — $10,000 in Wisconsin — denotes the liable property damage per collision limit. This is the maximum amount your insurer will pay to cover any damages you cause to another person’s property, whether it’s their car or not.

Does insurance follow the car or driver in Wisconsin?

In Wisconsin, your car insurance policy usually follows the vehicle rather than the driver. For example, if a buddy borrows your car and causes an accident, your auto insurance, not your friend’s, will be the major source of reimbursement. If the damages exceed your policy’s limits, your friend’s insurance may provide further coverage. Their coverage, on the other hand, will kick in only when yours has run out.

car insurance in south carolina quotes

Is Wisconsin a no-fault state for car insurance?

No, Wisconsin follows a fault-based system when it comes to car insurance. That means the driver is allocated a percentage of fault in an accident. You will be compensated if your share of the blame is lower than that of the other driver. However, depending on what amount of fault you bear in the crash, your reimbursement will be decreased.

Does the minimum car insurance coverage in Wisconsin adequately protect you?

Unfortunately, Maine’s minimum liability insurance provisions do not adequately protect you if you get into a serious car accident. The liability limits are low enough to put you in jeopardy. The bodily injury limit per person is a mere $25,000, which may be swiftly depleted if you’re proven guilty of causing a significant injury. Similarly, regardless of how many people you harm or how high their medical expenses are, your insurer will only pay a total of $50,000 for bodily injury per accident. Even the property damage cap of $10,000 is significantly lower than most states. This means that if you total someone’s brand new car, your $10,000 minimum will be exceeded, leaving you to pick up the tab.

How can I find the cheapest car insurance quotes in Wisconsin?

The most convenient way to find cheap Wisconsin auto insurance is to compare quotes from several providers online. You could start your research by looking for cheap Wisconsin car insurance quotes from the best insurance companies in the country via the way.com website or app or simply clicking on one of the banners here.

car insurance in south carolina quotes


Check out our blogs for info on finding top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, and affordable car washes near you.


 

 

 

Related Posts

wave

Press ESC to close