Nevada license is valid proof that allows you to drive through the state, following the DMV rules. You can apply for a learner’s license if you are 16 or older. However, to obtain a permanent driver’s license, you need to be 21 years. So, even on getting your license, remember to carry it as proof and update it before expiry.
Not carrying or renewing your Nevada license on time can also land you in hot water. According to the DMV rules, it costs you $1000 if you drive without a valid license in Nevada. In addition, you may also have to pay a fine of $1000 or undergo six months of imprisonment. Therefore, remember to carry your license wherever you go and renew or replace it if necessary.
Types of Nevada licenses you can go for
There are many types of Nevada driver’s licenses that you can go for, depending on your vehicle class.
If your vehicles help with commutation purposes, your Nevada driver’s licenses may come under class A or B. Also, they can be of any of the combinations per the GVWR (Gross Vehicle Weight Ratio) standards. However, the vehicle should be of GVWR 26001 pounds and of a towing capacity of 10000 pounds to belong to Class A.
If they come under Class B, their towing capacity should be 26001 pounds or more. Also, they must not tow more than 10000 pounds.
If you are someone who drives cars, vans, and trucks, you can get a Class C Nevada license. The vehicle you drive should also be able to tow cars of 70000 pounds or less. Also, the height of vehicles you tow should be less than 70 feet.
If you own a motorcycle or a moped, your vehicle comes under class M.
Documents you need to produce for a Nevada license.
Keep a checklist of the following documents if you apply for a Nevada license.
- Your ID card
- SSN (social security number).
- Original proof of residency (not older than 60 days).
The DMV allows you to take the tests by checking and verifying these. Once you attend them, you get your temporary driving license from the DMV office within 15 business days.
Steps for getting a Nevada license
Getting a driver’s license is easy if you follow the proper steps. Here’s what you need to do.
Visit the DMV office
You’ll have to visit the DMV office and apply for your driver’s license. Make sure to check the working hours before you go.
Take the necessary tests
The next crucial step for getting your Nevada license is taking the necessary tests. You’ll have to attend and pass the knowledge test, vision test, and skill test to prove you as an eligible driver.
Take your photo
Remember to take your photo at the DMV office once you finish your test. This photo will later be added to your license.
Pay the fees
You’ll also have to pay a nominal amount of $42 to get your driver’s license. However, by paying $23, you can also get your learner’s license.
Tests you need to take for a Nevada license.
There are a few tests you need to take to get your license.
Before getting your Nevada driver’s license, you’ll need to test your knowledge of driving rules and regulations. As an applicant, you must score 80% to pass the test. It mainly checks your knowledge of traffic signs, safe driving, violations, penalties, and don’ts. You may take the test in English and Spanish. In addition, you may also ask for audio questions in case you face challenges in reading them.
Check your vision before you drive. To be a good driver in Nevada, you must have a 20/40 vision score for each eye. A vision score is one of the most important scores you need to tick off if you are an out-of-state driver. The same applies if you wish to become a permanent resident of Nevada.
Driving skills test
The driving skills test is the final test you need to take to become a license holder in Nevada. You can attend them online. These are nothing but computerized tests that the DMV conducts to analyze and evaluate your driving. You can come for the driving test in your car, provided you have all the necessary documents as proof. Finally, remember to adhere to the traffic and safety guidelines during the test and even on getting your license.
Etiquette while driving in Nevada
- Stay away from any visual, manual, or cognitive distractions.
- Ensure at least 50 hours of training and 10 hours of night driving.
- Wear seatbelts and make sure that your passengers follow the safety rules.
- Know the traffic and hand signals and consistently follow them.
- Drivers below 18 years must not drive between 10 pm, and 5 am unless they have an emergency or prior permission.
- Maintain the speed limit at all times for safe driving.
Here’s more info on top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, affordable auto insurance, easy auto refinance, and high-quality car washes near you.