Ready to take your Mississippi driver’s license test? Wait, before you go. There are some important things you need to keep in mind before you appear for the test. First, you need to have basic knowledge of the traffic rules and practice well before you attend the test. However, retests are always free of cost.
Make sure that you drive through Mississippi with a valid license. Not having one can cost you a lot. The DMV imposes a fine of $200 to $500 if you drive without a license. You may also have to undergo two to six months of imprisonment. Therefore, always remember to carry a valid license or renew it on time.
Documents you need to carry for your Mississippi driver’s license test
Make a checklist of the following documents before your Mississippi driver’s license test.
- Social security card.
- Birth certificate.
- Proofs of residency. (bills or bank statements will do)
- Immigration and PR documents.
Types of Mississippi driver’s license tests you need to take
You’ll need to take a few tests to get your driver’s license.
You must attend one of three parts of the Mississippi driver’s license test in a written format. In this test, you’ll need to answer 30 MCQs, of which you need to get at least 24 right. 80% is the cut-off score for the written test. If you are an applicant with special needs, you’ll be assisted in completing the test.
However, remember to collect all the necessary information from the sources and do proper research during preparation. Also, use valid sources to collect the right inputs that help you pass the test easily. Most importantly, take enough time to research and prepare.
The second part of your Mississippi driver’s license test is a vision test. This aims to check your vision and ensure that you don’t need assistance while driving. To take the test, you’ll need to fill out the DE26 form, which you can collect from the DPS (Department of Public Safety) office. Ask your optometrist to fill it for you after the examination.
The vision test is fully computerized. You need to score 20/50 if you have a background in using glasses or lenses. In such cases, you are eligible to restrict driving. If you have a vision score of 20/60, then you may drive during the daytime. It is also important for you to undergo a revaluation within 12 months and complete the rehabilitation program along with 6 months of training.
Road skills test
As you take your Mississippi driver’s license test, the DMV also looks into your knowledge about road rules. You need to have a proper understanding of traffic signs and symbols. If you are 17+, you may take the road test on the same day as your vision test. The counter to apply for your road skills test closes at 5 pm. So, make sure you register on time. Another important thing to note is that the test happens only if the weather is clear.
Types of Mississippi driver’s license based on eligibility
There are two basic types of licenses you can get in Mississippi based on your eligibility.
To get an intermediate driver’s license, you must visit the DMV office directly and submit an application. Make sure that you have your parents or guardians sign on it. Don’t forget to add your SSN details and attach copies of your certificates, ID card a photo. Then you may take the road test directly.
To get a full driver’s license, you need to be 17. Also, remember to carry your SSN card, birth certificate, and proof of your residency. Bring a copy of your school attendance record if you are still a student. You may have to take the computerized vision and road tests with the necessary scores to get a full license.
Types of Mississippi driver’s licenses based on vehicles
You are eligible to apply for an automobile license in Mississippi if you are 15+. Also, you cannot apply for one if you already hold a license from another state. Remember to surrender your existing license before you get a new one. However, you need to turn 16 1/2 to become a regular driver.
To get a motor license, you’ll have to pass the written test. Then you may get your learner’s license. After that, you can take your road test. Try to attend all possible training and programs before you get your license. You’ll have to submit your birth certificate, social security number (SSN), and residency proof as supporting documents to get your license.
There are types of commercial licenses you can go for class A/B/C, D, R, and E.
Class A is for vehicles weighing 26,000 pounds or more and is towed for more than 10,000 pounds.
Class B is for single vehicles with a GVWR (Gross Vehicle Weight Ratio) of more than 26,000 pounds.
Class C is for vehicles that carry more than 16 passengers or transport hazardous substances.
Vehicles under the D category are lightweight, weighing 26,000 or less.
M class is for those who ride motorcycles. You’ll need a separate license for this category.
Tips for driving safe in Mississippi
Before you start driving in Mississippi, make sure that you:
- Stick to the traffic rules.
- Stay within your speed limits.
- Keep your license and other proofs handy.
- Minimize distractions while driving.
- Drive at a safe distance.
- Be careful while changing lanes or while entering a road.
Here’s more info on top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, affordable auto insurance, easy auto refinance, and high-quality car washes near you.