You must update your driver’s license as soon as you move into a new state. Having the latest information on your license is as important as carrying your request with you. In addition, you must see to it that it has all your details verifying your identity. However, this is a time taking process. Also, the state laws consider it a critical step if you are planning to relocate. However, it is pretty easy to update your license if you do it at the right time, in the right way. It is pretty easy to update your license if you do it at the right time, in the right way.
Not updating your driver’s license can also become a problem once you settle in a new state. Again, taking this as the most compelling evidence, the DMV imposes heavy fines and penalties on you. In addition, you may have to undergo imprisonment for about a year. Therefore, ensure you hold a valid license in your new state to avoid hefty fines and penalties.
When do you have to update your driver’s license?
There are notably two situations when you need to revise your driver’s license. First, it happens either on an in-state move or an out-of-state move.
If you relocate within the state, the time you take to update your driver’s license becomes comparatively less. You can also do the renewal online in a much more straightforward manner. However, you may have to visit the DMV office too for verification. In addition, remember to visit the DMV website of your location and confirm the working hours before you go. Also, don’t forget to share your auto insurance and vehicle details at the office.
The first thing to consider is if you plan to move out of your state. Also, if you update your license out-of-state, make sure you do it from your current residence. Then, you may finish off your request and registration process. Nevertheless, updating your driver’s license to your current condition may take between 10 days to two months.
Steps to update driver’s license
Here are the steps in detail you usually need to follow to update your driver’s license easily.
Cross check at the DMV website
The DMV website chiefly helps you with all the details you need to modify your driver’s license. Therefore, double-check the requirements, time limit, and rules before you update your license. Also, look for prerequisites like forms or applications you must fill in advance.
Keep the time limit.
Each state keeps a deadline by when you can update your driver’s license. The average time limit is markedly between 30 to 90 working days. If you are unsure when the last date to update is, you may check with your state’s website again.
Keep a checklist of documents.
Firstly, understand the most important documents while altering your driver’s license. Secondly, download the proper forms and fill them with the appropriate details. Thirdly, crosscheck if the elements in your state are correct. If they are, you may also proceed towards making the payments and going for the necessary tests.
Know the right time to update your license
|State||DMV website||Time to renew license in-state?||Time to renew the license in a new state||Fees|
|Alabama||Department of Public Safety||30 days||30 days||$40|
|Alaska||Division of Motor Vehicles||Immediately||10 days||$20|
|Arizona||Department of Transportation||10 days||Required Immediately||$10-$20|
|Arkansas||Department of Motor Vehicles||No limit||30 days||$40|
|California||Department of Motor Vehicles||10 days||10 days||$36|
|Colorado||Division of Motor Vehicles||30 days||30 days||$28|
|Connecticut||Department of Motor Vehicles||2 days||60 days||$112|
|Delaware||Division of Motor Vehicles||30 days||30 days||$40|
|Florida||Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles||30 days||60 days||$48|
|Georgia||Department of Driver Services||60 days||10 days||$32|
|Hawaii||Department of Transportation||30 days||30 days||$10-$40|
|Idaho||Division of Motor Vehicles||30 days||Varies||$10-$55|
|Illinois||Office of the Secretary of State||30 days||90 days||$0-$30|
|Indiana||Bureau of Motor Vehicles||30 days||90 days||$11-$17.50|
|Iowa||Department of Transportation||30 days||60 days||$4-$32|
|Kansas||Division of Motor Vehicles||Immediately||90 days||$23-$29|
|Kentucky||Driver Licensing Division||10 days||90 days||$43|
|Louisiana||Office of Motor Vehicles||10 days||30 days||$32|
|Maine||Bureau of Motor Vehicles||10 days||30 days||$65|
|Maryland||Motor Vehicle Administration||30 days||30 days||$72|
|Massachusetts||Registry of Motor Vehicles||30 days||60 days||$115|
|Michigan||Office of the Secretary of State||Immediately||30 days||$25|
|Minnesota||Division of Driver and Vehicle Services||30 days||Required Immediately||$32|
|Mississippi||Department of Public Safety||30 days||60 days||$24-$47|
|Missouri||Missouri Department of Revenue||Immediately||60 days||$22.50-$25|
|Montana||Department of Justice’s Motor Vehicle Division||10 days||30 days||$42|
|Nebraska||Department of Motor Vehicles||60 days||60 days||$7.50-$26.50|
|Nevada||Department of Motor Vehicles||30 days||30 days||$42|
|New Hampshire||Division of Motor Vehicles||30 days||30 days||$50|
|New Jersey||Motor Vehicle Commission||7 days||60 days||$24|
|New Mexico||Motor Vehicle Division||10 days||60 days||$18-$34|
|New York||Department of Motor Vehicles||10 days||Required Immediately||$65-$105|
|North Carolina||Department of Motor Vehicles||60 days||30 days||$33|
|North Dakota||Department of Transportation||10 days||60 days||$15|
|Ohio||Bureau of Motor Vehicles||No limit||60 days||$30.75|
|Oklahoma||Department of Public Safety||10 days||30 days||$27|
|Oregon||Department of Motor Vehicles||30 days||No limit||$60|
|Pennsylvania||Department of Transportation||15 days||30 days||$20-$30.50|
|Rhode Island||Division of Motor Vehicles||10 days||60 days||$39.50|
|South Carolina||Department of Motor Vehicles||10 days||30 days||$12.50-$25|
|South Dakota||Department of Public Safety||No limit||90 days||$28|
|Tennessee||Driver Services Division||10 days||90 days||$28|
|Texas||Department of Public Safety||30 days||30 days||$50+|
|Utah||Department of Public Safety||10 days||90 days||$32|
|Vermont||Office of the Secretary of State||30 days||60 days||$32-$51|
|Virginia||Department of Motor Vehicles||30 days||60 days||$32|
|Washington||Department of Licensing||10 days||60 days||$89|
|Washington, D.C.||Department of Motor Vehicles||60 days||30 days||$47|
|West Virginia||Division of Motor Vehicles||20 days||30 days||$5.50 per year|
|Wisconsin||Division of Motor Vehicles||10 days||60 days||$34|
|Wyoming||Department of Transportation||10 days||Required Immediately||$40|
Proofs you need to produce to update your driver’s license.
If you plan to update your driver’s license, you should produce the following documents.
- Firstly, you can have a valid rent agreement to produce.
- Similarly, a utility, rent, or mortgage bill can also be considered proof.
- Likewise, medical bills or documents with your current addresses can also benefit.
To sum up:
In conclusion, you must update your driver’s license whenever you plan to move to a new state. However, upgrading your auto insurance before your license is always best since you may want to use the car for longer. Hence, complete the necessary tests, pay the fees, and complete the process before the deadline.
Here’s more info on top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, affordable auto insurance, easy auto refinance, and high-quality car washes near you.