A North Carolina temporary license plate makes you eligible to drive through the state for a short while. This document means you’ve met the state’s requirement as per DMV and are operating legally.
However, there are some rules and requirements you’ll need to follow before getting a temporary license plate. We will discuss everything you should know before purchasing a license plate.
What is a North Carolina temporary license plate?
If you’re planning to visit North Carolina for a short period, and have a valid reason, then you must opt for a temporary license. These license plates are valid for about 10-60 days and don’t have the scope for renewal. Not having a temporary license plate means you’ve been driving illegally and are responsible for the penalty.
Read More: North Carolina Driver’s License Renewal
How much do license plates cost in North Carolina?
To get a new license plate, you must pay $38.5 as a processing fee.
Who needs a temporary license plate in North Carolina?
If you have just registered a car and are waiting for your license plate, you should go for a temporary one. In the meantime, if you get your original license plate, you may discard and replace the temporary license plate.
How do I get a temporary license plate in North Carolina?
Here are the steps you’ll need to follow to go for a temporary license plate in North Carolina:
You need not have a temporary license plate if you’re buying a car with a dealer and if the car has a title. A car with a title is eligible for a direct license plate.
However, if your car has no title, you must contact the DMV office for a temporary tag. Here’s the process to get a temporary license plate:
- First, take your car to a licensed dealer for an inspection and check if all the parts are working well.
- Upon inspection completion, you get a temporary license plate valid for ten days. Within these ten days (about one and a half weeks), you can complete the other registration formality and go for a permanent license plate.
- Also, ensure you take the car for inspection to replace your temporary license plate the same month the tentative license plate expires.
Laws about North Carolina temporary license plate
There are some laws you need to follow if you’re using a temporary license plate in North Carolina, such as:
- You can only use a temporary license plate if you’re a state resident.
- The owner of the car must use the vehicle only within North Carolina.
- A car owner may use a temporary license plate for 10- 60 days (about two months).
- Applicants can only go for a tentative license if they find it affordable.
- If the original license arrives before the expiry of the tentative license, then the car owner need not pay for the temporary license plate.
How much does the North Carolina temporary license plate cost?
You can get a temporary license plate for ten days at $10.
Do you have to return license plates in North Carolina?
Yes, if a resident settles in any other state, then they must return their license plates to the DMV via mail.
How to get a temporary tag in North Carolina online?
You can go for a temporary tag online in North Carolina by filling the 30 day temporary tag order form online.
Are there any restrictions?
You can use a temporary license plate in North Carolina only if you adhere to the following restrictions:
- The applicant must prove his financial responsibility by producing the necessary financial statements. These statements may include a bank statement, an insurance card, or credit/debit card bills.
- Your temporary license plate expires at midnight on the expiry date.
- The car owner cannot transfer, lend or share the car with another person.
- You must also remember to report the loss or damage of the license plate immediately at the nearest DMV office.
Do trailers need license plates in North Carolina?
Yes, like cars, trailers too need license plates.
Penalties for driving without a temporary license in North Carolina
A temporary license is an ID that proves your identity in the state till you receive your actual license. Hence, if you don’t have a temporary license in North Carolina, the DMV laws charge you for Class 2 demeanor, with a penalty of $750.
Read More: Penalties in North Carolina if you don’t have Car Insurance
The Way App is New Way for Mega Savings! The best gas discounts, the best EV charging near you, the best auto insurance, the best auto refinance, and the best car washes!