There are many ways to go through the Indiana car registration process – online, by mail, or in person. We’ve simplified all you may need to keep in mind when registering your car in the state.
It is mandatory to register your car before you can drive it on Indiana roads. If you haven’t done that before, it may seem like a daunting task. Don’t fret – we’ve broken down everything you may need to know about this – right from the documents you need to the process you should follow.
Where do I register my car in Indiana?
All Indiana car owners and people who move to Indiana have to register their vehicles with the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). You can choose to either do it in person, through mail or online – but you need to complete it within 60 days of moving to the state.
What documents do you need to register your car in Indiana?
Car registration for vehicles bought from Indiana dealerships
Wary about all the paperwork required to register a new car? If you bought a vehicle from a dealership, there’s good news for you – you won’t have to do any of the titling and registering work! The dealership will take care of everything. Of course, the fees for the same will be included in the overall purchase cost of the car.
Car registration for new residents
All new residents who’ve moved to the state recently have to register their vehicle within 60 days. You will need to do the following:
- Have the Vehicle’s Certificate of Title
- Bring the vehicle to the BMV for a physical inspection
- Furnish your driver’s license or any identity proof to confirm your address
- Social Security Number (SSN) or Federal Identification Number (FIN)
Car registration for used vehicles bought from a private party
If you bought a pre-owned car from a private party, you must register it in your name within 60 days. For this, you will need the following documents:
- Indiana certificate of title from the previous owner.
- Bill of sale
- A valid auto insurance policy
- Initial registration documents
- Odometer disclosure statement.
- License plates
How much is the car registration fee in Indiana?
Indiana car registration fee will cost $21.50 along with the title fees of $15. Besides this, you might also need to pay additional fees if you are late in registering the vehicle or if you need a duplicate. Here are the other miscellaneous fees you may need to pay:
- Late fees for vehicle registration: $15
- Duplicate registration certificate: $9.50
- Changing vehicle registration information: $9.50
- Transfer license plate fee: $9.50
- Duplicate license plate fee: $9.50
- Changing license plate type: $9.50
How can I renew my car registration in Indiana?
Usually, you will receive a notice in your mail a few weeks before your vehicle’s registration is set to expire. It is important that you renew your car registration before it expires – otherwise, you will have to pay a $15 penalty. You can renew your Indiana car registration in the following ways:
- Renewal through myBMV.com
- Mailing the payment back to the address on the renewal notice
- Renewal through phone by calling 888-692-6841
- Renewal through BMV Connect Kiosks
Steps to register your car in Indiana
If you’re someone who prefers the old-school way of going to the DMV in person, ensure you have the following documents with you:
- Your current driver’s license
- Original vehicle title
- A valid auto insurance policy
- Payment of registration fees
Registering your car by mail in Indiana is only an option if the title is being registered from out of state. To do that, you need to download and complete the application for Certificate of Title – Form 205 and then mail it to the BMV.
You can register your vehicle online as long as you have your title in hand, but make sure you don’t delay beyond 45 days of purchase.
- Log on to the myBMV.com portal (or create a new account)
- Be prepared to provide your driver’s license number and vehicle title number
- Pay the registration fees online to complete the process.
If you bought the vehicle from a private party, you have 60 days to register it in your name. Miss this deadline and you may have to head to the local DMV to get your vehicle registered.