Iowa catalytic converter thefts have been shooting up year after year. The impact of these thefts in this state is pretty much as bad in the other states across the US. According to the NICB (National Insurance of Crime Bureau), the theft rates in Iowa increased four times between 2018 and 2020. This issue calls for the need to understand catalytic converter laws, penalties, and safety measures to keep yours safe.
Not reporting catalytic converter thefts causes the accumulation of harmful emissions within your car. Also, the DMV authorities may not certify that your car is fit to drive with an essential part missing. Moreover, this also makes your driving rough and dangerous. Hence, it is important to know the updated laws, penalties, and programs so that you may stay safe from Iowa catalytic converter thefts.
Laws Against Iowa Catalytic Converter Thefts You Should Know
Senate File 2287 is one of the major laws recently approved to curb Iowa catalytic converter thefts. It mentions that the Iowa Police, with the assistance of DMV, needs to have a record of lost and missing converters.
This law also mentions that no dealer is to sell catalytic converters without getting and receiving the necessary proof and documents. Both the buyer and seller must share some important documents to complete the purchase. The seller is to provide the basic details such as his name, address, place of sale, ID proof, copy of passport, and a photo.
Also, in case the seller of the catalytic converter carries out his sales in a particular location, they are liable to produce proof of regular tax payments.
Another major provision against Iowa catalytic converter thefts is that this file mentions catalytic converter replacements. Again, the buyer must provide the bill of sale, which is not older than 30 days, or a junking certificate. This certificate prohibits the removal of these converters unless the vehicle is in a dismantled condition.
Even so, the buyer must acquire the necessary purchase details along with the junking certificate. The buyer of these catalytic converters needs to be a resident of Iowa. They should also regularly keep the proof of purchase for at least two years.
According to this law, all payments for purchasing catalytic converters have some limitations depending on modes. For example, one must pay by cash, check, credit or debit cards, vouchers, or electronic mode.
Penalties Against Iowa Catalytic Converter Thefts
As per the Iowa Association of Business Industry, Iowa catalytic converter thefts have different penalties. This depends on the degree of the offense. The first violation of laws puts a fine of $1000 on the accused. Accordingly, the second and third violation of the same offense in two years puts a fine of $5000 and $10000.
Keep your Catalytic Converters in Iowa Safe with Way.com
With Way.com, you can safeguard your catalytic converters in Iowa.
Does your auto insurance plan include coverage for catalytic converter thefts? Yes, provided you have the appropriate insurance! You won’t also have to look very far to find insurance companies if you live in Iowa.
Using Way.com, you can quickly compare costs from more than 50 of the best insurance providers, including State Farm and Nationwide. So, don’t let one auto insurance provider overwhelm you. You have a lot of options to choose from on Way.com. Together, we’ll find the least-priced option that satisfies your needs.
Here’s more info on top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, the most affordable auto insurance for your car, and top-rated car washes near you.