Kentucky catalytic converter thefts have increased by 234%, according to the reports given by the Northern Kentucky Tribune. However, the Kentucky Police is imposing penalties against those who commit such thefts. Also, some laws may reduce the number of thefts in the coming years. Therefore, it is important to know the laws and ways to keep your converters safe.
It is quite easy to check whether your catalytic converters are in place or missing. If they are missing, then the number of harmful emissions may increase within your car. This also leads to poor air quality and circulation within the car. Hence, if you notice that your catalytic converters are missing, report them without further delay.
Kentucky catalytic converter theft laws that You Should Know
Senate Bill 114 deals with Kentucky catalytic converter laws, which can help reduce the number of thefts. The Kentucky House unanimously gave approval for the same as it prevents the further loss of converters. The bill speaks clearly about the importance of maintaining proof while buying and selling catalytic converters.
The bill also considers the following actions mandatory while buying or selling catalytic converters:
- The buyers of catalytic converters must keep proof of purchasing and owning them for at least 2 years.
- A buyer should check the quality of converters before he buys them. They should not be damaged or tampered with.
- They must also have the details of the catalytic converter, its title, registration, the vehicle from which it was taken, and other information which makes it safe to use.
- The Security of State must create a record of each vehicle’s electronic database of converters. This makes it easy to track lost or missing catalytic converters.
- This bill requires the public to individually maintain a journal. The journal should mention all the major fraudulence related to catalytic converters, which should be maintained for at least 10 years.
- It also mentions that catalytic converter thieves may use one or more tamper-resistant technologies to remove the converters.
- The notarization officer can carry an electronic copy of catalytic converter records, which is considered valid.
- The bill concludes that in case of catalytic converter thefts, the notary public can file an SOS case where there is a theft or loss of catalytic converters.
Fines against the violation of SB 114
With a rapid increase in Kentucky catalytic converter thefts, the state also imposed fines to further reduce the number of thefts. The Kentucky House considers the violation of SB 114 a serious offense. Therefore, anyone who violates the laws mentioned will be punished with a Class B demeanor. This means they may have to pay a fine of $250 and undergo 90 days of imprisonment.
Tips to prevent Catalytic Converter Thefts in Kentucky
Do you wish to keep your catalytic converters safe? Here’s what you should do:
- Install an anti-theft device on your catalytic converters.
- Paint your converters in fluorescent and inscribe your VIN number on them.
- Set the alarm with motion-sensitive lights.
- Park in well-lit areas.
- Get auto insurance that covers your catalytic converters.