Window tint laws can confuse many drivers, but it’s crucial to stay informed to avoid unnecessary fines or penalties. Here we explore the legal tint regulations in New Jersey, providing you with the knowledge you need to ensure your vehicle meets the requirements set forth by the state. You may not need the light; however, let’s shed some light on the legal tint in NJ.
New Jersey window tinting laws were implemented in 2003. You can’t legally tint your windshield or side windows in the state. However, the rear and side windows can be as dark as you choose. But it is safer to stick to the guidelines regarding the percentage of darkness on your window.
What does VLT mean according to NJ tint law?
Visible Light Transmission, or VLT, is the amount of light that can pass through your car’s windows. Each state has different legal rules on how much light can pass through. In New Jersey, the amount of light that can pass through the film is not much different for passenger and multi-purpose vehicles.
In other words, having a higher VLT indicates that the window tint film lets more light through than one with a lower value. For instance, 12% VLT will allow 12% of light to pass through, while 65% VLT means it allows 65% of the light to pass through.
What is the legal tint law in New Jersey?
The tint percentage for your vehicle type is specified by NJ tint law. Furthermore, this law primarily inspects vehicles that have the proper tint with the appropriate amount of VLT (Visible Light Transmission). Here is what the law permits in New Jersey for window tint.
- Windshield – No tint on the windshield.
- Frontside windows – No tint on the front side windows.
- Backside windows – Dark tints are permitted on the window.
- Rear window – Tints of any darkness are allowed.
However, unlike other states, like Arkansas, where the law specifies non-metallic tints, New Jersey law does not prohibit any specific tint colors; nevertheless, mirror and metallic tints are prohibited. In addition, tint film manufacturers in New Jersey need not issue stickers verifying that their products are legal to use.
Are there any medical exemptions for tint laws in NJ?
There is a medical exemption provision in window tinting laws in New Jersey if you have a medical condition. For instance, the law permits sun protection products for specific medical conditions, including polymorphous eruption, persistent light reactivity, and lupus erythematosus.
However, even with the medical exemption, at least 35% of light must pass through the tinted portion of the upper six inches of the front side windows.
How to request MVC Sun Screening in New Jersey
- Submit an application online or via mail.
- Fill in the 4th parameter by your doctor.
- Apply with a legitimate subscription from the same doctor.
New Jersey Tint Law Penalties
Any person who violates the tint law in the state of New Jersey is subject to a maximum fine of $1,000 for the first offense and a fine of $5,000 for the second and any future offenses.
Car Insurance in New Jersey
You might have met the legal tint in NJ. But, what about the car insurance? Way.com works with more than 200 different insurance service providers and provides users with several quote options in New Jersey. You can shop for the most affordable car insurance policy that meets your needs in NJ.
Say hello to Way+. Enjoy premium car services for a fraction of the price you used to pay, with zero compromises on quality. From parking at airports and cities to insurance quotes, hassle free refinance options, and even gas discounts. Way+ covers everything a car owner needs.