Get 5% off in-app
400k+ download
Open app

Maine Driver’s License Renewal: Ways to Do It!

Spread the love

So, got your driver’s license in Maine? Now, the only thing you must worry about is the renewal date. So, will there be any issue if you don’t complete your Maine driver’s license renewal on time? Why is it so important? 

You must renew your Maine drivers license on time to avoid a hefty penalty and license suspension. There are many modes to renew your Maine drivers license. Don’t worry! Our article will give a detailed view of Maine drivers license renewal

Save around $971 on your Maine auto insurance policy 

When does my driver’s license expire in Maine? 

Your license expires on your birthday every six years. If you are 65 or older, the license will expire on your birthday, but after every four years.  

Is there a grace period for an expired driver’s license in Maine? 

No. Unfortunately, you won’t get a grace period for renewing your drivers license in Maine. Driving without a license will result in law enforcement officials imposing a penalty of $500. Also, your license will get suspended. So, doing your Maine driver’s license renewal on time is crucial.  

Also read: How to protect your car against vandalism in Maine!

How early can I renew my driver’s license in Maine? 

You can renew your Maine drivers license on or before the expiry dateup to six months in advance. You can locate the expiration date just below the license number.  

When it’s time for your Maine drivers license renewal, you will receive a renewal letter with instructions via mail. You’ll receive the mail around 45 days before the expiration date. Keep your address updated, or else you may not receive the mail.  

How do I renew my Maine driver’s license?

So, is it time for your Maine driver’s license renewal? There are two ways to do the process. 

  • In-person 
  • Online  

You can do the renewal if you’re a Maine resident with any of the following licenses. 

  • Motorcycle license 
  • Motor-driven cycle restricted license 
  • Active non-commercial license 
  • Maine ID card 

You can update your address, hair color, weight, and height during renewal. 

How to renew  the license in-person   

driver's license in Maine
Image courtesy: https://www.maine.gov/

You should renew your Maine driver’s license in person at your BMV office or mobile unit site if you cannot renew online or do not meet the requirements. Visit a branch office or mobile site if you meet the following conditions.  

  • The driver’s license you hold is from another state. 
  • You are renewing an existing Maine REAL-ID driver’s license or ID card or applying for your first Maine REAL-ID driver’s license or ID card. 
  • You hold a commercial driver’s license. 
  • Since your last renewal, your name has changed. 
  • There’s been a change in your health condition since your last renewal. 
  • You want to lift the restriction on corrective lenses lifted. 

What you require  

You must produce the following while doing an in-person renewal.  

  • Residency proof. 
  • Proof of citizenship. 
  • Proof of Social Security number (SSN). Suppose you do not meet the requirements for an SSN. Then you must show an unexpired immigration document, such as an I-94 or a written statement from the Social Security Administration. 
  • Your Class C non-commercial license. 

What to do  

So, did you gather all the required documents? Then follow these steps for Maine driver’s license renewal in person.  

  • Visit your nearest BMV facility. Getting a prior appointment to reduce the waiting time will be good.  
  • Then submit the required documents. 
  • Pass the vision test. It is applicable for every other renewal if you are over 40 and every renewal if you are over 62. 
  • Pay the renewal fee. You can pay via check, cash, money order, or credit/debit card. 
  • Then you’ll get a temporary license, valid for around 60 days. Expect to get your renewed license within three weeks via mail. 

How to renew your license online  

It is the most convenient method to renew your license. But not every resident can do their Maine driver’s license renewal online. Forget about doing online renewal if you meet any of the following conditions.  

  • There are no active driving privileges, i.e., your license got suspended or revoked by the BMV, and you haven’t had it reinstated. 
  • The license you have is an out-of-state one.  
  • You have a commercial driver’s license. 
  • You’re applying for a REAL-ID driver’s license. 
  • There’s been a change in your name, address, or any other personal info since your last renewal. 
  • There’s been a change in your health condition since the last renewal, i.e., you either developed or got cured of a medical condition. 
  • You are not a citizen of the US.  
  • You must undergo a vision test.  

So, if you’re eligible to renew your Maine driver’s license online, follow the below-mentioned steps.  

What to do 

  • You must visit the BMV website 
  • Then fill out the required info like your name, birthdate, SSN, and license number.  
  • Follow the instructions on the website. 
  • Pay the renewal fee using a debit/credit card.  
  • You’ll receive the renewed license in 2-3 weeks.  

Now, there are instances when you encounter an error while doing online renewal. If so, you must renew your driver’s license at your nearest BMV facility. 

How long does it take for a Maine driver’s license renewal?  

When renewing it at a BMV facility, it will take about three weeks to receive your new one. But you will receive a temporary license when you do renewal, valid for 60 days. Getting your new license after an online renewal will take 2-3 weeks.  

How much does it cost to renew a Maine driver’s license? 


It typically costs around $30. However, drivers aged 65 or above pay only $20 as a renewal fee.  

Can I renew my driver’s license in Maine by mail? 

No. The state doesn’t allow you to renew the license by mail. You can only do the renewal online or in person.  

Know about auto insurance coverage in Maine

Can you renew your license after it expires in Maine? 

Yes. You can renew your license up to 90 days after it expires. But you must pay a late fee along with the renewal fee.  

Can I renew my Maine driver’s license at AAA? 

Yes. You can renew your license at AAA branches instead of going to a BMV facility. The AAA branches operate from 8 am-5 pm on weekdays and 9 am-1 pm on Saturdays. Also, you don’t have to make an appointment to visit AAA branches.  

Our super auto app is sure to enhance your car ownership experience. It will help you save around $3000 yearly on car services, get cash back and discover the finest deals with our price monitoring feature. You can bank on us to find the best auto insurance, parking, home insurance, auto refinance, and gas discounts with Way.com’s app! We’ll guide you in finding and booking the nearest car washes and EV charging stations 


Related Posts


Press ESC to close