Get 5% off in-app
400k+ download
Open app

Maryland Driver’s License: Requirements and Steps

  • Driver's License
  • Gerard Stevens
  • 7 minutes

Spread the love

Getting a driver’s license will ensure you can drive without tension in your state! And in some states, driving without a valid driver’s license earns you a ‘must appear’ citation, and Maryland is one of them! So, have you got your Maryland driver’s license as yet? 

If not, you must get it if you want to drive on state roads. It is because a must-appear citation carries a $500 fine, five points on the individual’s driving record, and up to 60 days in jail for the first offense. Be ready to spend up to 12 months in jail if you repeat it!  

Getting a driver’s license in Maryland is a straightforward process. Still, it can get complicated if you don’t know how to do it! Don’t worry! Our blog will help you guide on how to get a Maryland driver’s license without much hassle. 

Find a cheap car insurance in Maryland

What documents do I need to get a Maryland driver’s license? 

When applying for a driver’s license in Maryland, you must provide proof of the following.  

  • Age 
  • Identity 
  • Legal status 
  • Social Security Number 
  • Two documents proving Maryland residency  

You can check the MVA document guide to gather all the documents rightly. 

How to get a Maryland driver’s license 

You must undergo three main stages to get a driver’s license in Maryland.  

  • Learner’s permit 
  • Provisional driver’s license 
  • Full driver’s license 

How to get a learner’s permit 

In Maryland, regardless of age, every first-time driver must start with a learner’s permit. You must be at least 15 years and nine months old to apply. For that, you must bring proof of identity, SSN, and residency to your local MVA office. You must also attend and pass knowledge and vision tests.  

Also, while you have the permit, you must complete an MVA-approved driver’s education program. However, your age determines the period you must keep your permit and the number of practice hours you must accumulate. 

  • If you are under 16, you must submit Form DL-300 to prove that you are attending school with minimal absences. Otherwise, the process remains the same for applicants under 18. 
  • Your parents must also sign your application if you are under 18.  

Attend the written knowledge and vision tests 

Then you must pass the knowledge test that covers Maryland’s laws and safety regulations. To pass the Maryland driver’s license test, you must correctly answer 22 out of the 25 questions.  

You must have 20/40 vision in both eyes and an open field of vision of 140 degrees to pass the vision test. 

Way is your final destination for all your car service requirements, helping you save around $3,000 annually on expenses. Do you want more reasons? How about gas cashback of up to 75¢/gallon?   

Permit restrictions  

  • You must log your hours while driving with a supervising driver. 
  • To advance to the next stage, you must hold your permit for nine months without traffic violations if you are under 18. In addition, you must log 60 practice hours, with 10 of those at night. 
  • You must submit proof of graduation if you are 18 with a diploma or between 19-24. But the rest of the process remains the same as for those under 18. Before you can advance to the next stage, you must hold your permit for a minimum of three months without any violations and log 60 practice hours, with 10 of those at night. 
  • If you are above 25, you must hold your permit for at least 45 days without any violations before proceeding to the next stage. Furthermore, you only need 14 practice hours under supervision, three of those at night. 

How to get a provisional driver’s license 

It is the second stage of getting a Maryland driver’s license. For that, you must fulfill the following requirements.  

  • You must be at least 16 years and six months old. 
  • Pass an MVA-approved driver’s education course in Maryland. 
  • A supervising driver must complete and sign practice skills log. 

The provisional driver’s license will expire automatically based on your age. 

Drivers aged below 21: The license will expire 60 days after your 21st birthday. 

Drivers aged above 21: The license will expire eight years after it got issued on your birthday. 


  • You cannot drive with alcohol in your car if you’re under 21. Impaired driving laws apply to older drivers as well. 
  • Drivers under 18 cannot drive with non-family members under 18 unless accompanied by a qualified supervising driver. This restriction is only in effect for the first 151 days if you have no violations on your record. 
  • Drivers under 18 can’t drive between midnight and 5 am unless accompanied by a qualified licensed driver who is 21 years old. The only exceptions are if you are driving to work, participating in your school program, an organized volunteer program, or participating in an athletic event or related training session. After the age of 18, you can drive at any time. 
  • If you’re under 18, you can’t use wireless communication devices while driving. 
  • Irrespective of the relationship, you and your passengers must always wear a safety belt or harness. 

How to get a full Maryland driver’s license  

driver's license in MarylandImage courtesy: https://www.tsa.gov/

When you have held your provisional license without a citation for 18 months, it will automatically convert to an unrestricted drivers license. You will get a card informing this, and you must keep it with your license at all times. When you renew your license, you will receive a proper unrestricted license. 

How much is a driver’s license in Maryland? 

In Maryland, a drivers license will cost you $72. At the same time, a permit costs $50. 

How long does it take to get a driver’s license in Maryland? 

Normally, your new license will take around 4-7 days to arrive.  

Know about how to replace your lost driver’s license in Maryland! 

Where is the driver’s license number in Maryland? 

The Maryland drivers license number ID cards are thirteen characters long, consisting of one letter followed by twelve numbers. 

Is a Maryland secure driver’s license the same as REAL-ID? 

The new cards are REAL-ID compliant and meet all state and federal standards, and so are the current cards issued by the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). 

Can an immigrant get a driver’s license in Maryland? 

Yes. Immigrants who don’t have valid US Citizenship and immigration documents can apply for a non-compliant drivers license or ID card.  

Can I renew my driver’s license online in Maryland? 

Yes. You can renew online if you hold a non-commercial driver’s license. Read our blog to know in detail about all renewal processes.  

Getting auto insurance in Maryland  

Driving without a valid driver’s auto insurance policy in the state can earn you unwanted penalties. Ideally, auto insurance in the state doesn’t drain your wallet much. But you can get an even cheaper policy! But how is that possible?  

Way.com, your super auto insurance savings app, now covers your home too! Find the cheapest home insurance quotes through Way! Who doesn’t love to save a whopping $900 on their homeowners insurance policy?  

That’s where Way.com helps you! Use our website or app to obtain quotes from all insurers in your state. Then you must compare the quotes and buy the cheapest auto insurance policy. So, why wait for more? Find the best Maryland auto insurance quotes today! 

Way.com is not only your refinance app of choice, though! Your favorite super app helps you find EV chargers near you and book the best parking & car washes. 


Related Posts


Press ESC to close