So, you’ve got your driver’s license in New Mexico. Now the only thing you’ve to worry about is about renewing your driver’s license in New Mexico. Of course, the process of renewing your license can be a hassle if you don’t know how to do it. Is it time for your New Mexico driver’s license renewal? is the process difficult?
Not really! It’s easy to forget the renewal process, especially in New Mexico. Unlike other states, you won’t get reminders when your license is about to expire, so you are entirely responsible for renewing it. So better be vigilant about the renewal date. So, if you’re seeking information about New Mexico driver’s license renewal, our blog has everything covered related to it!
Is there a grace period for an expired driver’s license in New Mexico?
New Mexico allows drivers to drive on an expired license for 30 days. Driving without an expired license in the state is a misdemeanor. You could face up to $300 in penalties and a jail time of 90 days. Expect the penalties to go even higher if caught driving with a revoked or suspended license.
When you should renew your driver’s license in New Mexico?
New Mexico won’t send a reminder mail before your license expires. So it is your responsibility to know the renewal date. You can find your license expiration date on the far right side of the card. It is always ideal to do your New Mexico driver’s license renewal a few months before it expires.
You can renew it up to 90 days before your license expires. The process can get quite complicated if you wait too long after you’re expiration date. You must prepare to attend the knowledge test if you wait a year after your license has expired.
Way.com, your super auto insurance savings app, now covers your home too! You can find the most affordable home insurance quotes in your area through us! So, save around $900 on your homeowners insurance policy!
How to renew a driver’s license in New Mexico
You can do the renewal for a period of four or eight years. The renewal process should take place yearly if you’re over 79 years, but you don’t have to make any payment for it. There are two ways by which you can do a New Mexico driver’s license renewal.
Unlike many other states, you can’t renew your driver’s license in New Mexico by mail.
How to renew it online
You can do an online renewal if you meet the following requirements.
- You must be between the ages of 18 and 79.
- The last renewal was in person.
- You must hold a non-commercial driver’s license.
- Your Social Security number (SSN) must be on file with the New Mexico MVD.
- There has been no change in your health condition since your last renewal.
- There are no outstanding traffic citations or arrest warrants.
- You possess a driver’s license that is about to expire or has expired for less than a year.
Steps to follow
Follow these steps if you fulfill the above-mentioned requirements.
- To renew online, visit the MyMVD website. You should go prepared with your driver’s license number, SSN, birth date, and payment.
- Follow the prompts and double-check everything.
- Use a credit or debit card to pay.
- Finally, print a temporary paper license. Within 45 days, you will receive your new license in the mail.
How to renew it in-person
You must do your New Mexico driver’s license renewal in person at your local MVD facility if you aren’t eligible for the online renewal process. Then ensure you follow these steps.
Steps to follow
- Before you leave, check your driving record for any outstanding tickets, fines, suspensions, or revocations. An uncertified copy will cost $6.63.
- Find an MVD office near you. Check to see if their location is open on the day you intend to visit and if so, make an appointment.
- Bring your current New Mexico driver’s license and proof of identity.
- Take a vision test.
- Take any other relevant tests. It’s never a bad idea to be prepared for the written/driving test.
- Pay the renewal fee. You may pay with cash, a check, or a credit card.
- You will get a temporary paper license, and you will get your new license within 45 days to your registered address.
How much does it cost to renew your driver’s license in New Mexico?
The cost depends on the license type you choose. A 4-year license will cost you $17, whereas renewing it for eight years will cost you $34. Also, there will be no renewal fee if you’re aged above 75.
Way is your final destination for all your car service requirements, helping you save nearly $3,000 yearly. Do you need more? How about getting a cashback on gas up to 75¢/gallon?
What happens if your driver’s license expires in New Mexico?
If your license expired more than a year ago, you must retake the written exam. If your license remains expired for more than five years, you will also have to attend the road test.
How long do you have to renew your driver’s license after it expires in New Mexico?
Driving without a valid driver’s license is illegal, which is why you must renew it up to 90 days before or 30 days after its expiration date. In person, you can renew your license at any MVD office.