Get 5% off in-app
400k+ download
Open app

Oklahoma Driver’s License: How Can You Get One?

  • Auto Insurance
  • Gerard Stevens
  • 8 minutes

Spread the love

Oklahoma is one of the best states to experience the thrill of a road trip. It also features the longest stretch of Route 66. But, to explore all these, you need to have a valid driver’s license. So, have you got your Oklahoma driver’s license? 

If not, get one! Driving without one will earn you a penalty between $50-$300 or 30 days of jail time. You must complete the Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) Program and obtain a learner’s permit if you are a teen driver. The process will take nearly 1-2 years. You can avoid the GDL if you’re an adult over 18 who wants a license, but you’ll have to fill out an application. 

So, how can you get a driver’s license in Oklahoma? How much does it cost? Continue reading our blog to know all about getting an Oklahoma driver’s license. 

Save big on auto insurance via Way.com 

What documents are needed to get a driver’s license in Oklahoma? 

In Oklahoma, drivers must be at least 16 years old to get a license. To begin the procedure, you must submit the following documents to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS). 

  • Identity proof: Among these are a birth certificate, a passport that hasn’t expired, a certificate of naturalization, and others. 
  • Residency proof: You need to submit two kinds of identification for this. It can be a mail delivered by USPS, a W-2 or 1099, an Oklahoma handgun license, or other documents. 
  • Social Security Number (SSN): Although having a Social Security card is preferable, knowing your SSN off-hand is enough. 

Visit the Oklahoma government’s website for a comprehensive list of recognized identification. It will be necessary for your doctor to fill out some documents if you have a physical or medical state that could impair your ability to drive.  

How to get an Oklahoma driver’s license 

There are five phases to getting a driver’s license in Oklahoma.  

  • Enroll in Driver Education (below 16 years) 
  • Application for Learner’s Permit (15 ½ – 18 years) 
  • Finish Behind The Wheel training  
  • Apply for an Intermediate License (16-18 years) 
  • Apply for an Unrestricted Driver’s License (above 18 years)  

Enroll in Driver Education 

It is the first stage to getting an Oklahoma driver’s license. There are two kinds of driver education programs in the state. 

  1. Commercial or High School: These courses must involve 30 hours of classroom instruction to be state-approved. 
  2. Parent Taught (online)  

Application for Learner’s Permit 

You should be 15 ½ years old to apply for a learner’s permit. If you are above 18, you can also apply for a permit, which is not mandatory. You can drive with a permit from 5 am to 10 pm accompanied by another driver aged at least 21 years old. 

What to do 

Go to a nearby TAG agent (Motor License Agent) to apply for a learner’s permit. Ensure you have the following. 

  • Produce appropriate identification. 
  • Pass the vision test. A driver must have a vision of at least 20/60, with or without corrective glasses). 
  • Pass the written exam.  

Before advancing to an intermediate license, you must hold your permit for at least six months after issuing it. But after 30 days, if you are older than 18, you can apply for a license without any restrictions. 

Finish Behind The Wheel training  

You must complete behind-the-wheel training to obtain your intermediate Oklahoma driver’s license. In addition, you must practice driving for at least 50 hours with a licensed driver aged 21. There should be a minimum of 10 driving hours at night. To advance to the next phase, you must present a signed affidavit certifying these training hours.  

Apply for an Intermediate License 

You can now drive by yourself from 5 am to 10 pm if you have an intermediate driver’s license in Oklahoma. In addition, you can also carry one passenger who is not a member of your family. You’ll get an exception if you drive to attend a school, church, or work-related event. 

What to do 

First, visit a TAG agent and follow these steps to apply for an intermediate Oklahoma driver’s license. 

  • Present proper documents that act as primary and secondary identification and prove your SSN.  
  • Then attend the driving skills test. Again, you should bring your car for this test. The Oklahoma DPS uses this test to evaluate a driver’s capacity to control a car safely on public roads and highways. Additionally, you’ll be required to do maneuvers like controlled reversing, parallel parking, and obeying traffic signs. Again, you can get an appointment for this test only free of cost.  

Before receiving your unrestricted Oklahoma driver’s license, you must retain your intermediate license for six months. 

Apply for an Unrestricted Driver’s License 

driver's license in Oklahoma
Image courtesy: https://oklahoma.gov/

After completing the GDL program, you can easily upgrade to an unrestricted driver’s license on your next visit to Oklahoma DPS. It is the primary step for any adult who is over 18 and wants to get their Oklahoma driver’s license. After that, you’ll be able to skip the GDL program, but you’ll still need to pass the written and driving tests. 

What to do 

  • Bring proper documents that prove your identity, SSN, and legal name change. 
  • Pass the vision exam. The test will analyze whether you possess adequate vision to drive safely in Oklahoma. A visual acuity score of 20/60 in both eyes or 20/50 or higher in one eye is required to pass. 
  • Pass the written exam. The 50-question written exam assesses your understanding of driving skills, traffic rules, and road signs. You must correctly answer 40 questions to pass the test. If you fail the written examination, you should wait one business day and pay $4 for each subsequent attempt. 
  • Attend the driving skills test. Behind-the-wheel exams must be planned, unlike written exams. Online scheduling is free with Oklahoma DPS. Always be sure your car is registered and insured. Your administrator will check your car’s condition. The test will assess your knowledge of traffic rules, road signs, and driving maneuvers.  
Visit a TAG agent 

The Driver’s License Agent charges $38.50 + $4 for every written test. You’ll get your Oklahoma driver’s license after completing all these steps. 

How can out-of-state drivers transfer their driver’s licenses to Oklahoma? 

You can readily transfer your out-of-state driver’s license to Oklahoma. You must produce the following documents to a Driver Exam site.  

  • Primary ID: It is usually a birth certificate, but other documents are also acceptable 
  • Your out-of-state license 
  • SSN 
  • Evidence of name change (if applicable) 

You don’t have to update your driver’s license if you’re a college student with a permanent address outside Oklahoma. Additionally, suppose you are a member of the armed forces stationed in Oklahoma. In that case, you do not have to change your ID. 

How much does it cost to get a driver’s license in Oklahoma? 

It will cost you around $38.50 for an Oklahoma driver’s license. At the same time, an application for the learner’s permit will cost around $4.  

How many numbers are on a driver’s license in Oklahoma? 

An Oklahoma driver’s license has one letter and nine numbers.  

Does Oklahoma have a digital driver’s license? 

Yes. Mobile ID is a protected, digital version of your driver’s license or other state-issued ID on your smartphone. It verifies identity in person and online transactions.  

How much does it cost to transfer your driver’s license to Oklahoma? 

When moving from another state, REAL ID-compliant licenses cost $42.50. 

Can I renew my driver’s license online in Oklahoma? 

Yes. All you require is an online account. You may handle all your DMV business in Oklahoma online once you create an online account. In addition, you can handle many tasks on Oklahoma’s website, including license renewal. Know more about renewing your driver’s license in Oklahoma.  

Getting auto insurance in Oklahoma 

Driving in Oklahoma requires you to have valid auto insurance too. But Oklahoma’s car insurance rates are higher than the national average rate. So, the challenge will be finding cheap car insurance in the state. But how can you get it? 

That’s where Way.com can help you. You can use our website or app to obtain quotes from all insurers, compare, and buy one with the cheapest quote. So, visit Way today to find the cheapest Oklahoma auto insurance rates.  

Find an affordable car insurance policy in Oklahoma

Here’s more info on top-rated airport parkingthe best parking spots in your city, affordable auto insurance, easy auto refinance, and high-quality car washes near you.


Related Posts


Press ESC to close