Most drivers see the driver’s renewal process renewal as a tiresome one. But thanks to modern technology, many states have begun to accept online renewals, making the process seamless for drivers. Getting a driver’s license in Oregon involves many steps. But how about the renewal process? How difficult is Oregon driver’s license renewal?
It won’t cause much trouble if you know how to go about it. You can do an Oregon DMV license renewal 12 months before the expiration date or two years after. There are many ways to renew, but you must meet some requirements for each process.
So, is it time for your Oregon driver’s license renewal? What are the ways to do it? How much will it cost? If you reside in Oregon and your license is up for renewal, Way.com will guide you in keeping the process hassle-free. Continue reading to know more!
What is the grace period for driver’s license renewal in Oregon?
If your license hasn’t expired for more than 365 days, you can renew it at a licensing office. You must apply for a new license, pay the original fees, and retake your driver’s test if your old one has expired for more than a year. If you served in the military, the Oregon DMV permits you to renew your license for six months after discharge.
Driving without a legal license is a class B traffic misdemeanor in Oregon, with a penalty ranging between $135-$1,000.
What documents do I need to renew my Oregon driver’s license?
You must provide the following for an Oregon DMV license renewal.
- A filled application form
- Your current driver’s license or state ID
- Documents proving your name, identity, birth date, residency, and lawful presence
- Social Security Number (SSN)
When should you renew your driver’s license in Oregon?
You can do an Oregon driver’s license renewal up to 12 months before or two years after the license expiration date. If more than two years have passed, you must reapply, pay the original license fee, and pass the necessary exams to get a new license. If you live outside Oregon, you must call the DMV or visit their website to find out if you may renew your license online.
The DMV will send you a reminder by mail two months before the expiration date. Therefore, it’s crucial to update your current address. So that you can be ready to renew, either keep an eye out for that notice or be informed of the day your license expires. You can locate the expiration date for your driver’s license on the front of the card immediately to the right of your photo and below your registered mailing address.
Lost you Oregon driver’s license? Here’s what you need to do!
How to renew a driver’s license in Oregon
You can do an Oregon driver’s license renewal online in three ways.
- By mail
Renewing online is the simplest method, but it’s not always available, and you have to meet specific requirements to qualify.
How to renew it online
You can do an online Oregon driver’s license renewal under these conditions.
- First, your new license cannot involve a change of address, photo, height, or weight.
- Second, you aren’t applying for a REAL-ID.
- Third, you cannot possess a limited-term license or a farm endorsement.
- Fourth, no state should have suspended, revoked, or terminated your license.
- Finally, you must be able to use a debit or credit card to pay your renewal fees.
- You should possess a photograph on record with the DMV no older than nine years.
How to renew it in-person
You must do Oregon driver’s license renewal in person at the closest DMV office if you are not qualified to do it online or by mail. You have two options: get an appointment or show up at the DMV office for standby assistance. In addition, you must submit your applications in person if you’re applying for a REAL-ID or a commercial driver’s license for the first time.
Steps to follow
- Make an appointment with your license bureau first, then collect the required documents.
- You’ll require identification documents like a birth certificate, social security card, or driver’s license that hasn’t expired for more than a year, as well as confirmation that you live in Oregon.
- You should produce proof indicating legal authorization for a stay to obtain a REAL-ID.
- Then, you must pass a vision exam if you are 50 or older.
- The last step is paying the renewal fees and taking a new photo.
You’ll get a temporary license once you’ve fulfilled all the renewal requirements. You should keep it until you receive your permanent license via mail a few weeks later. Remember that many firms and government agencies don’t accept temporary licenses as identity proof.
How to renew it by mail
You can renew your driver’s license by mail only if you’re outside Oregon at the renewal time. Send the form to the following address if you qualify for renewal by mail.
1905 Lana Ave. NE
Salem, OR 97314
How much does a driver’s license renewal cost in Oregon?
Oregon driver’s renewal fee for a standard license will cost you $40. At the same time, renewing a REAL-ID will cost you $70.
How long will it take for an Oregon driver’s license renewal?
When you renew your license, you’ll receive a 30-day temporary license. Then, in two weeks, you should receive your new license. Contact 503-945-5000 to check on the progress of your application if more than two weeks have passed since you applied for renewal and you still haven’t received the new license.