Getting your first license can simultaneously make you excited and nervous, no matter how old you are. So, planning to get your license in Beaver State? Of course, if you’re a driver, the first question in your mind will be, “Is the Oregon driver’s license test hard?” Fortunately, getting an Oregon driver’s license isn’t that difficult if you know how to do it!
The process may appear challenging for some drivers, but it doesn’t have to be. Like many states, Oregon requires teens to finish the Graduated Driver License (GDL) program before obtaining a full driver’s license. In addition, to get a driver’s license in Oregon, you should be at least 16 years old. You must also pass a written examination, a vision test, and a driving evaluation.
So, how can you get an Oregon driver’s license? How much does it cost? Know in detail about the requirements and cost!
What documents do I need to get a driver’s license in Oregon?
To apply for a driver’s license in Oregon, you must be at least 16 years. Applicants must visit the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV); however, if you’ve never had an Oregon credential before, you can apply online. When you arrive at the DMV, you must present the following documents to establish your identity and place of residence.
- Primary identity: The options include a US or Canadian birth certificate, a US passport less than five years old, a tribal ID card, and others.
- Residency proof: You must produce two documents as residency proof, such as utility bills and paystubs.
If you have a mental or physical ailment that could impair your driving ability, you must report that to the DMV. You might have to provide a doctor’s report to do this.
How to get an Oregon driver’s license
A driver must complete three stages to obtain an Oregon driver’s license.
- Instruction Permit
- Provisional Oregon driver’s license
- Full Oregon driver’s license
How to get an Instruction Permit
Before obtaining a full driver’s license, teens in Oregon must complete the GDL program. They can apply at the age of 15.
- Pass the vision exam: The vision test analyzes your eyesight to determine whether you can drive a car safely. You must possess 20/40 eyesight or greater to pass the test.
- Pass the knowledge test: The exam evaluates your knowledge of Oregon’s traffic laws and road signs. You must correctly answer 28 of the 35 questions (80%) to pass. You should pay $5 before taking the test.
- A licensed driver aged 21 should accompany you in the passenger seat.
- You can’t use electronic devices while driving.
How to get a Provisional Oregon driver’s license
You cannot get a provisional driver’s license unless you must have held the permit for a minimum of six months and have completed one of the following:
- Completed Driver Education: Young drivers must complete a course to advance in the GDL program. You can avoid the driving test by enrolling in a Driver Ed course approved by the Oregon Transportation Safety Division (TSD).
- Complete supervised driving: You must complete 100 hours of supervised driving if you choose not to take driver’s education. Only 50 hours of supervised driving would be necessary if you did.
Steps to follow
- Pass the safe driving test: You must take the Oregon safe driving practices test no later than 30 days before your 16th birthday. There are 20 multiple-choice questions in it.
- Pass the driving test: Your ability to execute fundamental driving maneuvers and other crucial movements will be tested during the driving exam. In addition, your ability to drive a car safely will also be put to the test by your test administrators. If you didn’t take a TSD-approved course, you must schedule a driving test. Those who have already taken one of these courses can still make an appointment or show up. A parent or guardian should accompany you so they can co-sign your application. Bring the required documents providing your identity, date of birth, place of residence, auto insurance, and social security number.
- Pay license fee: Pay the required fee for the provisional license and driving test.
- You can’t use electronic devices while driving.
- A licensed driver aged 25 years must accompany you while driving between midnight and 5 am unless traveling to or from employment or school.
- For the first six months, you cannot drive with a passenger younger than 20, not a family member.
- Driving with more than three passengers under 20 who are not family members isn’t permitted.
How to get a Full Oregon driver’s license
You will be eligible for a full license when you’re 18. So, if you have completed GDL, you can visit the DMV and get your license.
Drivers above 18 years: What to do
Suppose you are over 18 and haven’t completed the GDL. In that case, you must first fill out an application form before visiting the Oregon DMV. Then, you must produce the required documents, such as identification and SSN proofs, to prove your eligibility to receive a driver’s license. Then you must attend the knowledge, vision, and road tests. You’ll receive your driver’s license after passing these tests, paying the license fee, and attending the driving test.
How can out-of-state drivers obtain a driver’s license in Oregon?
You must apply for a license within 30 days of moving to Oregon. You must follow these steps to obtain a license in the state.
- Fill out the application form
- Get an appointment with the DMV
- Produce the necessary documents proving your identity
- Pass the vision exam
- Pay the required fee of $60 for the license and $5.00 for the knowledge test
- Pass the knowledge test
- Take a photograph for the license
- Surrender your previous license
You don’t need to change your driver’s license if you meet the following conditions.
- You are a college student paying non-resident tuition
- You’re living permanently outside of Oregon
- No plan to move permanently into the state
- You’re posted in Oregon as a military member
How much does a driver’s license in Oregon cost?
An Oregon driver’s license will cost $60. Getting an Instruction Permit will cost around $23. Knowledge and road tests will cost you $5 and $9, respectively.
How many digits are on an Oregon driver’s license?
There are seven numbers on the license.
What is the DD number on the Oregon driver’s license?
DD means Document Discriminator. The DD is a security code showing the location and license issuance date. This information has been on driver’s licenses in many states for several years.
How long do you have to live in Oregon to get a driver’s license?
Within 30 days of moving, new residents of Oregon must replace their out-of-state driver’s license. Visit your nearby DMV office to receive an Oregon driver’s license.
How much does it cost to change the name on your driver’s license in Oregon?
It will cost around $77 to change your name on the license.
How many questions are on the Oregon driver’s license test?
There will be 35 questions for the test. To pass, you should answer 28 of them correctly.
Will TSA accept Oregon driver’s licenses?
On May 3, 2023, the federal identification requirements for domestic air travel will change. Then, the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) will no longer permit travelers to pass through airport security checkpoints with a regular driver’s license or ID card.
Can I use my Oregon driver’s license to fly?
You cannot use the license for domestic air travel after May 3, 2023.
Does Oregon have an enhanced driver’s license?
Oregon provides a standard card and another that complies with the Real ID Act. Both cards enable you to drive legally and provide identification and proof of age while doing things like cashing checks. However, you can’t use a standard card to board a domestic airline after May 3, 2023.
What is a Class A driver’s license in Oregon?
A person with a Class A commercial driver’s license can drive any vehicle or combination. Still, they are not allowed to drive any vehicle they need an endorsement of unless they have acquired it.
Can I renew my Oregon driver’s license online?
Yes. You can renew it. Know more about renewing your driver’s license in Oregon!
Getting auto insurance in Oregon
Oregon drivers pay much less for full coverage auto insurance than the average American driver. Are you still looking for cheap car insurance in the state? How can you get it? Way.com can help you with that!
Use our app or website to obtain quotes from multiple insurance companies. Then, compare them and buy the one with the cheapest quote. So, why wait for more? Use Way to find the most affordable Oregon car insurance quotes!