Oregon rental car insurance laws are important if you rent a car. Here’s the good news about renting a car! In Oregon, anyone 18 years and older can opt for rental car services. But make sure that you drive responsibly and take good care of your car.
Not going for rental car insurance can be dangerous. If you cause damage to the car, the car rental company may ask you to pay out of your pockets. To be on the safer side, you must know the Oregon rental car insurance laws and penalties.
Save your insurance card, policy documents, DMV registration card with auto-renewal facility, refinance documentation, and much more on the Way.com App!
What is the age limit to get Oregon rental car insurance?
You should be 25 years or older to get Oregon rental car insurance. Similarly, you must have a valid credit card, proof of insurance, and a driver’s license to insure your rental car.
Oregon rental car insurance laws you must know
Before going for Oregon rental car insurance, you must know the rules. Here are the laws that matter the most:
ORS 646A.142 mentions a few laws the borrower must follow while renting a car in Oregon. According to this law, every rental company must provide collision waiver damages with the approval of the DMV. Also, rental companies should provide optional waivers to rectify the car damages without the users paying an additional cost.
One Oregon rental car insurance law also says that sellers must not sell a collision damage waiver with the rental agreement. If the person who takes the car on rent needs a waiver, they must pay for the waiver separately.
Similarly, the laws say that the borrower must fill out form 3236, marking the categories they are eligible for per the laws.
Every rental car user frequently asks a common question about rental fees. ORS 803.219 mentions the fee details when renting a car in Oregon. Regarding car fees, Oregon rental car insurance laws mention that the car lease period is 90 days.
Things to do before you rent a car in Oregon
Here are some things you need to do before renting a car in Oregon:
- Before renting a car in Oregon or choosing the car, click pictures of it so that the car rental company doesn’t charge you for any damages you’re not responsible for.
- Confirm the coverage and deductibles you are eligible for according to the Oregon rental car insurance laws.
- Check the benefits, terms, and conditions if you rent a car in Oregon using a credit card.
- Understand how to use each coverage.
- The Oregon rental car insurance laws differ if you share the vehicle on rent. Therefore, you’ll have to check the rental car-sharing rules separately with your auto insurance provider.
- Make sure that you have a refund on unused fuel from your rental cars.
- Go through the terms and conditions of the car rental agency repeatedly, and confirm that there are no hidden charges.