Did you know that driving a car without auto insurance in Rhode Island is illegal? Let’s look at the various penalties you may attract for failing to provide proof of insurance.
Like most states, Rhode Island mandates that every car owner and driver maintain a minimum level of car insurance. This is also called liability insurance, allowing you to drive legally in the state. You could face repercussions if you don’t have auto insurance, such as heft fines and restricted driving rights.
Whether you live in Rhode Island or are considering relocating to Ocean State, you must know the state’s vehicle insurance requirements. You must protect yourself financially and legally. So let’s look at the minimum car insurance requirements in Rhode Island.
Minimum car insurance in Rhode Island
Driving without car insurance is not only irresponsible, but it is also illegal in Rhode Island. The state requires all drivers to have a minimum level of car insurance coverage to ensure that they are financially responsible in case of an accident.
In Rhode Island, drivers must have a minimum of 25/50/25 personal liability insurance. This includes bodily injury liability and property damage liability coverage. If you cause a collision, your liability coverage will pay for the other driver’s medical expenses up to your policy limits. Your property damage liability coverage will pay for their vehicle repairs up to your policy limits.
The following is a list of required coverage amounts:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
When you purchase a minimum coverage policy in Rhode Island, you will be granted uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. You may, however, decline this coverage. I.e., as long as you meet the other state-mandated minimum insurance coverage requirements.
Penalties for driving without car insurance in Rhode Island
If caught driving without car insurance in Rhode Island, you may face severe penalties that can affect your driving privileges and finances. Let’s look at the penalties for driving without car insurance in Rhode Island.
First and foremost, driving without car insurance in Rhode Island is a serious offense that can result in hefty fines and even suspension of your license. If caught driving without insurance, you may face a fine of up to $500. Additionally, your license can be suspended for up to three months, and you may be required to file an SR-22 form with the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Driving without auto insurance in Rhode Island is unlawful, and if you are caught, you will face serious consequences. Drivers can expect to be fined between $100 and $500 for a first offense—the fine increases to a minimum of $500 for two or more infractions. You will also lose your driving privileges and may be required to pay a fee to reinstate your license.
Do you need an SR-22 insurance certificate in Rhode Island?
Fortunately, you don’t have to file an SR-22 insurance certificate or face jail for Rhode Island car insurance infractions.
The SR-22 form is a document that proves you have liability insurance coverage. If you are required to file an SR-22 form, you must maintain insurance coverage for at least three years. Failure to file an SR-22 or maintain insurance coverage can result in further penalties, including additional fines and even suspension of your license.
Why should you have car insurance in Rhode Island?
Driving without insurance is a significant risk. Also, if you cause an accident will almost certainly cost you a lot of money in repairs and medical bills.
In fact, you’ll be entirely responsible for compensating the other motorist for their medical expenses and vehicle repairs if you collide with another person’s vehicle and do not have insurance. You could also face a lawsuit, putting you on the hook for legal bills.
Further, there are repercussions for not having insurance even if you are hit by another car. To begin with, there’s no assurance that the other driver’s insurance will cover the full extent of your losses. So you may have to pay out of your pocket for the repairs. You must mention that you do not have insurance when filing the claim, which means you may be liable to state-mandated fines for being uninsured.
Problems you will face in Rhode Island
Another penalty for driving without car insurance in Rhode Island is the inability to renew your car registration. If you are caught driving without insurance, your car registration will be suspended until you can provide proof of insurance. To renew your registration, you must provide the Rhode Island DMV with a valid insurance card or a certificate of insurance.
It is important to note that even if you are not driving your car, it still needs to be insured. If you own a car in Rhode Island, you must have liability insurance coverage, regardless of whether or not you are driving it. If your car is registered in Rhode Island, it must also have insurance coverage.
Driving without car insurance in Rhode Island can result in severe penalties, including fines, license suspension, and the inability to renew your car registration. To avoid these penalties, ensure that proper car insurance coverage is in place. Contact your insurance provider or an insurance agent to learn more about your coverage options in Rhode Island.
Remember, being a responsible driver means having the proper car insurance coverage. Don’t risk your finances and your driving privileges by driving without insurance. Get insured today and drive safely in Rhode Island!
Don’t have valid car insurance in Rhode Island? Or, are you looking for more affordable car insurance quotes in the Ocean State? Click on the banner above to obtain free quotes from several insurance providers in under 10 minutes with the way.com car insurance tool.
Check out our blogs for info on finding top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, and affordable car washes near you.