If you live in Georgia and are considering lowering your car insurance to save a few dollars, you should reconsider. Car insurance laws vary by state. Auto insurance is required in Georgia for anyone who owns or leases a car. Unlike other states, you must keep your coverage active at all times.
Uninsured vehicles are, in effect, a costly proposition for both the state and their fellow motorists. The state government wants to raise money to keep drivers safe, and the penalties and fines you’ll most likely face if you’re caught driving without car insurance in Georgia help them do that. You must have auto insurance if you want to drive a car on a public road in Georgia. It’s just not worth putting yourself, other drivers, or your wallet at risk.
Requirements for car insurance in Georgia
In Georgia, the general rule is that all car owners and lessees must have mandatory liability insurance for their vehicles to legally drive, register their vehicles, and receive, renew, and repair their license plates. “Continuously” is the keyword here. As a result, any coverage gap will result in severe consequences. You can’t go without auto insurance in Georgia for too long.
It is a requirement by law to electronically notify the Georgia DMV of any policy terminations, additions, or deletions, the Georgia DMV will be aware of your insurance has lapsed. Georgia drivers must also bring a policy information card provided by their insurer with them at all times while driving. It’s also a good idea to keep your insurance card on you at all times while driving your vehicle because failure to do so will result in penalties.
What do you face if you don’t have car insurance in Georgia?
Can you get arrested for not having car insurance in Georgia?
First, if you are driving without current valid insurance in Georgia, you face charges with a misdemeanor, which will stay on your record for the rest of your life. You will get requests to appear in court and pay a fine ranging from $200 to $1000. Additionally, your driver’s license will be withheld for 60 to 90 days.
How much is the penalty for not having car insurance in Georgia?
Depending on the situation, driving without insurance in Georgia might result in severe penalties. For example, your driving privileges and car registration might be revoked, and you could spend up to $185 in fines and a year in jail.
That means you won’t be able to drive at all. It’s also possible, though doubtful that you’ll get a sentence of up to 12 months in prison. Repeat offenders are more likely to face prison time as well as higher fines and longer license suspensions. It is risky of getting behind the wheel in Georgia without car insurance. If you drive without insurance, you can face court fees and the costs of alternative transportation in addition to fines and fees. If at all practicable, maintaining continuous auto insurance coverage is the best option.
Driving with a suspended license in Georgia
It is illegal to drive with a suspended license in Georgia. There will be charges if you do so.
The fines for driving without insurance are severe. The effects of being involved in an accident may be much worse. If you’re involved in an accident for which you’re at fault and don’t have insurance, you may face legal action. This could result in losses that include your home and investments, which you have worked a lifetime to accumulate.
Here’s more info on top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, the most affordable insurance for your car, and top-rated car washes near you.