Arizona receives some of the highest visitors due to the presence of the Grand Canyon. A word of advice: always have car insurance in Arizona. You will thank us later for this advice. All drivers are required to carry a certain amount of car insurance in Arizona. If you are caught driving without it, the state will revoke your license for up to a year, fine you up to $1,000, and require you to file an SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility.
During traffic stops in Arizona, law enforcement officers can request proof of insurance and issue a citation if you cannot produce it. However, if you have coverage but forget to carry it, you might be entitled to have the citation dismissed.
Minimum car insurance requirement in Arizona
Do you know about Arizona car insurance requirements? The following are the minimum liability limits for car insurance in Arizona:
- $15000 per person for bodily harm
- $30000 per accident for bodily harm
- $10000 in property loss compensation
Penalties you will face for driving without car insurance in Arizona
Do you have to have car insurance in Arizona? In short, Yes, it’s a legal requirement.
If you do not have car insurance in Arizona, the state will suspend your driver’s license, registration, and license plates for a year. To regain your driving rights, you must pay a $35 charge and penalties ranging from $500 to $1,000. If you have a history of prior convictions, the fines will be increased.
No insurance ticket in Arizona
If you fail to show legitimate evidence of insurance when asked, and it is your first offense, you will be fined $500. In addition, the driver’s license, registration, and license plates will be suspended for three months by the state. You’ll have to pay a $10 reinstatement charge and a $25 fee to get your registration and license plates back.
You will also be required to request that your insurer file an SR-22 certificate for two years. This demonstrates financial responsibility in the future. However, if your insurer views you as a riskier driver, your insurance premiums might rise.
If you commit a second offense within three years of a prior insurance citation, the fine increases to $750, and your driver’s license, registration, and license plates are revoked for six months. As with the first offense, you must pay a $10 fee and have evidence of insurance to regain your driver’s license, as well as a $25 fee to regain your registration and license plates.
Furthermore, the state may require you to file an SR-22 certificate for the next two years. If you commit a third offense within three years of two previous offenses, you must pay a $1,000 fine and forfeit your driver’s license, registration, and license plates for a year. To have your driver’s license back, you must pay a $10 fee and have evidence of insurance, as well as a $25 fee to have your licenses and license plates returned. For the next two years, you will have to file an SR-22 certificate.
Driving without insurance in Arizona
In some instances, if you’ve been convicted of driving without insurance, the state can minimize or waive your penalty.
You will be required to present:
- You must have proof that you have not been convicted of this crime over the last three years.
- Evidence that you have purchased a six-month auto insurance policy that satisfies Arizona’s minimum liability criteria.
The court may waive your fine, but if your license or registration is already under suspension, you may need to pay reinstatement fees to regain access to them. If the suspension were still in effect, you would be able to stop the fees and the suspension entirely.
Do you need car insurance in Arizona?
Every motor vehicle operating on Arizona roads must be covered by liability insurance through a company authorized to do business in Arizona. Golf carts, motorcycles, and mopeds are examples of such vehicles.
Does AZ require proof of insurance?
The state of Arizona requires proof of insurance before you can register a vehicle. It is a requirement by state law to submit proof of Arizona insurance within 30 days of initial registration. The insurance companies have to notify MVD of all policy cancellations, renewals, and new issuances on a regular basis.
How long can you drive without insurance after buying a car in Arizona?
In most cases, the Arizona new-car insurance grace period ranges from 2 to 30 days. The new-car grace period is the amount of time that insured drivers have to drive a newly purchased vehicle before adding it to their existing car insurance policy.
Here’s more info on top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, the most affordable auto insurance for your car, easy auto refinance, and top-rated car washes near you.