Car insurance is something that no one can drive without, and no one is allowed to drive without it. Car insurance in Hawaii is affected by several variables, including who you insure with, what you drive, and whether you own your vehicle or have it financed by a loan. If want to enjoy the beaches without feeling the bitter taste of the law, don’t forget to buy yourself car insurance in Hawaii.
If you believe that owning a car without car insurance is your right, well, you cannot be much further from the truth. It would be best if you got car insurance in Hawaii. Driving without car insurance in Hawaii is illegal. Throughout the registration period, the driver must show evidence of continuous insurance. Until you purchase auto insurance, you can familiarize yourself with Hawaii’s auto insurance regulations to ensure that you’re complying with the state’s legal requirements.
Minimum requirements of car insurance in Hawaii
Do you know what are the minimum Hawai car insurance requirements? Hawaii car insurance rules are strict and there is no relaxation. According to the Hawaii Motor Vehicle and Licensing Division, Hawaii’s car insurance regulations require all drivers to show evidence of liability insurance when registering their vehicle.
Drivers of vehicles registered under their names in Hawaii must be able to certify that they have insurance that satisfies the state’s minimum standards for:
- Per person, per accident, bodily injury is valued at $20000.
- $40000 in physical harm for all those involved in an accident
- Property loss liability of $100000
- Personal accident insurance of $10000
Consequences of driving without car insurance
Driving without insurance for the first time will cost you $500, and any subsequent offense within five years of the previous one will cost you at least $1500. Also, minor infractions will cost you more than $1,000, and in some cases, much more. You can obtain a community service sentence instead of fines at the judge’s discretion. However, you or your lawyer must request it, and it is not guaranteed.
If you are a first-time criminal who does not have insurance, your license will be suspended. Your license is automatically revoked for up to three months. The only way to get your license back is to buy the insurance and provide evidence of coverage to the municipal government. Your license will remain suspended if you do not have evidence of insurance during this period.
Many people are unaware that they can afford insurance by shopping around for the best deals and discounts, which can help them recover their driving privileges. If a driver is pulled over by the cops or gets involved in an accident for the second time in Hawaii, the fines are much worse than the first time. The first time is a sign to start looking for a low-cost insurance policy. Second-time offenders in Hawaii face fines ranging from $1500 to $5000. This fine can be exchanged for community service hours. To stop paying these hefty fees, you must now volunteer 200 to 275 hours of your free time to the community.
Your license is also revoked for a year, and you won’t be able to get it back unless you can provide evidence that you bought insurance during that period. If you don’t learn your lesson the first two times, you’ll be punished severely. Anyone caught driving without insurance in Hawaii for the third time faces the same fines and alternative community service hours. The one-year license suspension or, if you can, show you bought insurance remains the same, but drivers who are pulled over without insurance more than twice will have their registration plates revoked.
Driving without registration and plates is illegal in Hawaii, and it is one of the harshest penalties for those caught driving without insurance. In Hawaii, a third offense is considered a multiple conviction, which means you could face up to 30 days in prison. Multiple convictions must occur within five years of each other.
Car insurance companies in Hawaii
As mentioned earlier, car insurance in Hawaii is a must for car owners. You should not start your engine without getting the right car insurance for yourself in Hawaii. If you are worried about the expensive nature of car insurance in Hawaii, you can get cheap car insurance by shopping around. Car insurance comparison in Hawaii is a regular way to get cheap car insurance. Some of the most popular car insurance companies from the United States can be found in the Hawaii car insurance industry.
Progressive, All-State, State Farm are some of the car insurance companies in Hawaii. When you are looking to meet the minimum Hawaii car insurance requirements you can opt for these companies. Way.com will assist you if you are looking for low-cost car insurance in Hawaii. We will assist you in locating low down payments and simple monthly payment plans so you can get on the road for less.