St. Louis Cathedral is one magnificent sight. Who would not want to see it in its majestic glory? Well if you are planning to visit this magnificent human creation by driving down you better have car insurance in Louisiana. Because if you don’t have car insurance in Louisiana, you are inviting trouble on yourself.
Consequences of driving without car insurance
Are you aware of the dangers that come with driving without car insurance in Louisiana? You may be surprised by the fines. Failure to provide proof of insurance on time can result in the loss of your vehicle and additional fines. When driving in Louisiana you are required to have the minimum car insurance coverage. This minimum car insurance coverage will protect you from financial doom if you have an accident.
Consider what you may be up against.
Failure to comply with Louisiana’s minimum auto insurance laws may result in fines, a slight recovery of costs, or the impoundment of your vehicle. For the first conviction, you’ll be charged between $500 and $1000 if you don’t have protection.
Even failing to bring proof of insurance—for example, leaving your insurance card at home while driving on the road—can result in your vehicle being impounded, your license plates being confiscated, and a yellow sticker being placed on the rear windshield. You have three days after being pulled over and failing to offer evidence of auto insurance to government authorities to provide proof of insurance. If you fail to comply and are stopped again, your vehicle will be impounded before evidence of insurance and all fees have been charged.
Whether or not you were at fault in the accident, if you don’t have auto insurance, you’re going to be in a lot of trouble financially. If you don’t have insurance and get into an accident with someone who does, Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” law prevents you from collecting the first $25000 in property damage and $15000 in personal injury, even if the other driver was at fault.
How to get cheap car insurance in Louisiana
Despite the dangers of driving without insurance in Louisiana, it’s easy to understand why some motorists chose to do so. Louisiana has some of the country’s highest auto insurance prices. Louisiana residents should expect to pay $2727 a year on average for complete coverage. This is more than $1000 above the national average. When mandatory costs are so significant, it can be difficult for many people to make ends meet. Unfortunately, while monthly premiums can be difficult to pay, it’s much more costly if you’re ever caught driving without insurance—especially if you get into a car accident.
If you are looking for low-income car insurance you can follow these steps. These steps are not fool-proof. They won’t guarantee you cheap car insurance in Louisiana. You will be surprised that some of the best car insurance companies in Louisiana will offer you affordable car insurance rates.
Compare car insurance rates: Shop around for the best deal on car insurance to make it more affordable—request recommendations from friends and family for an insurance provider. Aside from the fact that your buddy will almost always receive a referral incentive, there are frequently attractive deals for those looking to join a new insurance firm. Always compare car insurance rates before you finalize on one company. When you compare you might be surprised with what you unearth when it comes to car insurance rates.
Bundle your insurance: If you use the same insurer that offers your house, rental, life, or health insurance plans, you could be eligible for a discount. A “bundling” or “multi-policy” discount is another term for this.
Drive safe: Keeping the driving record as safe as possible also helps. Your auto insurance rates would be much more manageable if you are an accident- and ticket-free.
Check out our blogs for info on finding top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, and affordable car washes near you.