Do you know the other name of Maryland? It is called (drumrolls) ‘Free State’. The nickname ‘Free State’ implies political freedom and religious tolerance but it does not apply when it comes to car insurance in Maryland. Maryland is also called “America in Miniature” because like all the features of the country car insurance in Maryland is non-negotiable.
Car insurance laws in Maryland
According to the Financial Responsibility Law, driving without at least mandatory car insurance is illegal. You won’t be able to register your car unless your insurer signs and submits an FR-19 form on your behalf to the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). The following amounts of liability insurance are required by state law: $30000 for bodily injury per person, $60000 for bodily injury per accident, and $15000 for property damage. If you don’t have valid auto insurance in Maryland, you could face steep fines and even prison time.
The penalties for driving without insurance differ depending on the circumstances. Fines of up to $2000 can be imposed, plus administrative fine assessment fees that increase for each day you go without car insurance in Maryland. Your driver’s license may be suspended or revoked, and you may face up to two years in prison. In addition, failing to have sufficient car insurance in Maryland is a crime, which can affect your record as well as your auto insurance rates. To escape fines, turn in your tag first if you want to cancel your insurance.
What are the penalties of driving without car insurance in Maryland?
Driving without insurance is a misdemeanor offense in Maryland. This means that, in addition to hefty fines, you could face prison time and the loss of your driver’s license. A first-time conviction will result in 5 points on your license, a $1000 fine, and up to a year in prison. If you are charged with a second offense, you will receive an extra 5 points, two years in prison, and a $2000 fine.
You could face substantial administrative penalties from the MVA even though you failed to renew your insurance. The following penalties can apply in Maryland if you let your insurance lapse:
- Loss of a driver’s license and registration for a car
- Fees of $150 for the first 30 days, then $7 for each day the account is inactive (up to $2500).
- To have your vehicle’s registration restored, you must pay a $25 fine.
Once your registration has been revoked, your license plates will be confiscated.
How to get cheap car insurance quotes in Maryland?
Is it possible to drive a car without insurance? The response is no almost all of the time. Are you looking for affordable car insurance in Maryland? It doesn’t have to be difficult to find cheap auto insurance in Maryland. It’s never worth it to drive without car insurance in Maryland.
Our advice, go and get decent coverage at a reasonable price. Get cheap auto insurance rates by contacting a Way.com representative.
Driving without insurance can have a negative impact not only now, with all the potential fines, but it can also hurt the chances of getting affordable auto insurance rates in the future. If you’re an uninsured driver, get a policy as soon as possible. If you don’t have insurance because you can’t afford it, it might be a lot less expensive than you thought. Liability-only insurance does not have to be costly. You can follow these steps to get cheap auto insurance in Maryland. When you go to the best car insurance companies in Maryland, try to follow these steps.
Opt for a higher deductible: If you’re leasing or financing your car, you’ll almost certainly need complete coverage. This ensures you’re covered for accident and comprehensive injury as well—deductibles for collision and comprehensive insurance range from $250 to $1000. Change to a higher deductible to lower your monthly premiums.
Liability-only insurance: If you own your car and have crash coverage, you might want to consider removing it from your policy if your car is older and worthless. Your insurance premiums are likely much higher than the value of your car.
Compare car insurance quotes: One of the most common and oldest pieces of advice for car insurance seekers – compare car insurance quotes. If you want the best car insurance from car insurance companies, you will have to compare car insurance quotes. The car insurance quotes of car insurance companies will be different from others. For example, the car insurance premium of All-State will be different from Progressive. Compare car insurance rates with other providers to ensure you’re getting the best price. You might be shocked to learn that you can get great rates from a reputable insurance company. Insurance quotes are completely free and only take a few minutes to obtain.
Discounts on car insurance: Many insurance providers have offers that you might be eligible for. Though discounts vary by business, the following are some of the most common: Discounts are available for those who have a clean driving record. Discounts are available for students who have a “B” grade. Having anti-theft devices mounted on your vehicle. If you have more than one vehicle protected by your contract, you can receive a discount. Taking a defensive driving course is a good idea.
If you believe in the nickname ‘Free State,’ then never drive a car without insurance. It leaves you and other drivers vulnerable to financial hardship. It could also result in fines and penalties that would cost you much more in the long run than premiums.
If you’re concerned about the cost of insurance, shop around to find deals that are affordable for you and your family.
Check out our blogs for info on finding top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, and affordable car washes near you.