×
Get 5% off in-app
400k+ download
Open app

Penalties of Driving in Utah without a Car Insurance

  • Auto Insurance
  • Xavier Sabastian
  • 5 minutes

Spread the love

In the Beehive state, driving without car insurance can attract fines like how bees are attracted to honey. Car insurance in Utah is a must.¬†Utah is a “no-fault” state that needs auto insurance from all drivers. You will face fines without car insurance, and your registration and driver’s license can be stopped. ¬†

GET YOUR FREE CAR INSURANCE QUOTE IN MINUTES

Utah is a no-fault jurisdiction, meaning that even though it’s not the fault, your insurer is liable to cover your medical expenses in case of an accident. In some cases, you could file a medical expenditure claim by a third party, which is a health insurance claim by the other driver.¬†

If everybody is adequately insured, it is much safer for all drivers. It decreases the total insurance costs and reduces the strain to return to normal after an accident significantly. However, keep the auto policy to prevent severe charges and many difficulties. If you’re unsure which insurance option is right for you, talk to or find affordable coverage that will fit your needs to a qualified car insurance company or broker.¬†

Basic requirements of car insurance in Utah 

Do you know the basic requirements of Utah car insurance? As Utah is a no-fault state, the personal injury (PIP) insurance that pays for the medical costs in an accident is necessary for you. PIP coverage is at least $3000. It would help if you were covered by a minimum of $25000 per person and $65,000 per body injury, and $15000 per body injury liability accident. You need car insurance in Utah if: you are a resident of Utah who owns or drives a car. 

Unless it is an off-road vehicle, all vehicles registered in Utah must have minimum coverage.  

If you are a good driver, you will usually receive insurance at a fair rate, which complies with Utah’s minimum requirements. The premium costs less than paying the many driving charges without insurance.¬†

Do you need insurance to register a car in Utah?

The average rate of car insurance in Utah is about $1119 annually. The grace period of Utah car insurance for a new car is between 2-30 days. The grace period of car insurance in Utah simply means the period of how long the drivers are allowed to drive a new car before taking car insurance in Utah. Drivers must have proof of insurance on them at all times and show it to any law enforcement officer who asks for it.

Is the state of Utah a big bother? 

Insure-Rite is a corporation operating in the Utah Motor Vehicles Division. It compares insurance details with registration information for vehicles in Utah and submits notifications without insurance on file to the vehicle owners. Those receiving an insurance letter should respond because your vehicle registration will be under cancellation if you do not. 

If you cancel your car insurance in Utah, you can re-establish it by: 

  • Evidence of ownership presentation¬†
  • Presentation of a photo ID¬†
  • Evidence of coverage of insurance¬†
  • $100 reinstatement fee

Penalties for driving without car insurance in Utah 

In short, there are a plethora of penalties for driving without insurance and registration. If you are caught by law enforcement driving without car insurance in Utah, revoking your car registration is just the tip of the iceberg. Class B Misdemeanor is driving without car insurance in Utah. What does this mean?

Simple. You will face the following actions:

  • Suspension of driver’s license ($40 fee)¬†
  • 5 Suspension of vehicle registration ($100 fee)¬†
  • Being placed on your car (tow and impound fees)¬†
  • First offense ticket: $400 at least¬†
  • Fine minimum of $1,000 for any subsequent offense

What happens if you have an accident without insurance?

If you are in an accident and don’t have car insurance in Utah, you are in a serious pickle. As Utah is a no-fault state, you are personally liable if you are without car insurance in Utah. This ensures that all the costs associated with the accident come from your pocket. You will need to pay all medical bills if you don’t cover your health insurance for car accidents.¬†If your fault is the accident, you will even have to pay for any of the other driver’s medical bills. You will be liable for paying maintenance costs if you have caused property harm.

What are the charges if you have no proof of insurance in Utah?

Within 15 days of receiving this notice, you must submit proof of insurance. It is possible to have charges of $400 if you do not send proof of insurance to the state on your first offense. A $1,000 fine plus a $50 surcharge awaits you as a second or subsequent offense.

What is the penalty for not having auto insurance in Utah?

A Class B misdemeanor, failing to provide insurance or security for the operator, carries a maximum fine of $400 for the first offense and a maximum fine of $1,000 for any subsequent offenses within three years of a prior conviction or forfeiture of bail.

Can police pull you over for no insurance in Utah?

Yes, driving without insurance in Utah can result in you paying fines of $400 to $1,000. Your driver’s license may be revoked as well.


Here’s more info on top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, the most affordable auto insurance for your car, easy auto refinance, and top-rated car washes near you.


 

Related Posts

wave

Press ESC to close