Get 5% off in-app
400k+ download
Open app

Pennsylvania Catalytic Converter Theft- Things You Must Know

Spread the love

Pennsylvania catalytic converter thefts are a matter of major concern across the state. Unfortunately, thefts are taking place across the state daily. Though there are laws, rules, and penalties against this issue, the theft rates are still high. 

If a theft occurs in and around your locality in n Pennsylvania, stay alert and act on time! Not reporting catalytic converter thefts can cost you a lot. Also, DMV says that catalytic converter thefts in this state happen both during the day and night. Therefore, knowing laws, fines, and preventive measures is important to keep yourself safe. 

Pennsylvania catalytic converter thefts

Laws Against Pennsylvania Catalytic Converter Thefts You Must Know 

HB1092 is one of the oldest bills about Pennsylvania catalytic converter thefts. This House Bill of 2008 speaks about requirements and penalties for the sale of catalytic converters. 

 According to this law, the seller must produce identity proof and details of converters before the sale. Also, the seller must have permission in writing if he is older than 18.  

With Pennsylvania catalytic converter thefts becoming a major issue of concern, there came a need for laws to prevent them. HB 2290 is one of the most important laws that prevent theft and helps you keep your converters safe. 

This bill says that the seller must disclose the catalytic converters to the buyer before the sale. The buyer may also demand details like the make, model, and vehicle details to which the converter belongs. 

A buyer must also see that you paint the VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) on all your catalytic converters.  

The Substitute Senate Bill 256 also aims to reduce the number of Pennsylvania catalytic converter thefts in the coming years. According to this law, the buyer must maintain copies of the purchase with the car’s details. 

Similarly, this law states that every seller must only buy catalytic converters if the car has a proper title and the mandatory details. These include- the lien, car model and license plate number, and contact and address of the car owner. If any of these details are missing, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles may decline the sale of such catalytic converters. 

Moreover, according to this law, one must not transfer converters without copies of address proof and contact. 

Pennsylvania Catalytic Converter Thefts- All You Need to Know

Penalties against Pennsylvania Catalytic Converter Thefts 

The Substitute Senate Act Bill 256 says that the accused must pay a penalty of $100 to $500, as per the seriousness of the offense. 

Ways to Prevent Pennsylvania Catalytic Converter Thefts 

With Pennsylvania catalytic converter thefts on the rise, there are ways to prevent them. Some of them are: 

  • Dial 911 to report the theft immediately.
  • Park your car in well-lit areas. 
  • Use an anti-burglary alarm. 
  • Install surveillance cameras at home and around your parking areas. 
  • Finally, etch your Vehicle Identification Numbers (VIN) on your catalytic converters. 

Safeguard your catalytic converters in Pennsylvania with Way.com

With Way.com’s auto insurance quotes, keep your catalytic converters secure in Pennsylvania.

Does the theft of a catalytic converter fall inside the scope of your motor insurance policy? Yes, as long as you have the right insurance! You won’t have to look very far to find insurance firms if you live in Iowa.

You can instantly compare prices from more than 50 of the top insurance companies, including State Farm and Nationwide, using Way.com. So, avoid becoming overburdened by just one auto insurance company. On Way.com, you may choose from a wide range of possibilities. We’ll work together to identify the most affordable solution that meets your demands.

Here’s more info on top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, the most affordable auto insurance for your car, and top-rated car washes near you.


Related Posts


Press ESC to close