Since Virginia considers driving under the influence (DUI) a class 1 misdemeanor, you could face a fine of up to $2500, a jail sentence, and even a license suspension of up to 12 months! It could even affect your car insurance in Virginia quotes as well. So let’s look at some ways you could find affordable car insurance rates in Virginia if you’ve been charged with a first-offense DUI.
Driving while impaired in Virginia is considered a serious criminal offense. With 246 deaths from drunk driving in 2017 alone, it’s not surprising that Virginia has strict rules around driving while under the influence. But how does one classify DUIs in Virginia, you wonder? Driving under the influence occurs when drivers operate a motor vehicle while their blood alcohol concentration is 0.08 percent or higher.
If you are charged with a first-offense DUI in Virginia, you could face a fine of up to $2500, a jail sentence, and a license suspension of 12 months. To make matters worse, you could also expect an increase in your car insurance in Virginia quotes!
Compare car insurance quotes after a DUI.
Most often, the best way to find cheap car insurance after a DUI in Virginia is to shop around. We recommend requesting multiple quotes from several insurance providers to find the best car insurance quotes in Virginia. Let’s take a look at some examples, shall we?
But by shopping around, you could find cheaper car insurance rates from a rival company or a smaller firm, such as Alfa insurance, for as low as $940 a year. Sure, it doesn’t seem like you are saving a lot. But every cent saved counts in the long run for a 20-year-old!
Alternatively, in just a few minutes, you could click on the banner below and find the best car insurance quotes with way.com.
Where to find cheap car insurance rates after a DUI
If you have been charged with a DUI in Virginia, there are a ton of legal proceedings you need to go through before you can get back on the road. In Virginia, you may be required to furnish an FR-44 or FR-46 after being charged with a DUI. FR-44 or FR-46 is a more serious form of SR22. In addition, if convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs or driving on a suspended driver’s license is required.
Once you’ve filed FR-44 or FR-46, you can carry regular car insurance again. However, you may be forking more money for your car insurance after a DUI. Worse, your insurance carrier could refuse to renew your policy when it expires. Here, we list down some of the best car insurance companies where you could find lower car insurance rates than your current provider after a DUI.
|Car Insurance Provider||Car Insurance Rates After DUI|
Why should you avoid being charged with a DUI
Once charged with a DUI in Virginia, it remains on your record for 11 years. This could severely affect your car insurance rates. This is because insurance companies now view you as a driver with risky behavior. Having a DUI on record will also make you ineligible for any safe- or good-driver discounts, which could cost you significant money in the long run.
Check out our blogs for info on finding top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, and affordable car washes near you.