Utah car insurance law requires all drivers to have a minimum level of insurance. So let’s look at the types of car insurance coverage one needs in the Beehive state.
Like most states, Utah laws require every driver to carry car insurance to drive a vehicle in the state legally. Drivers must always carry proof of their car insurance coverage while behind the wheel. Not having the required car insurance coverage in Utah could lead to penalties such as suspension of your driver’s license to hefty fines. It could also lead to huge financial losses in the event of an accident. So, let’s take a look at the types of car insurance coverage one needs in Utah.
Car insurance requirements in Utah
The minimum insurance required to drive a car legally in the state of Utah are:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $65,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $15,000 property damage liability per accident
- $3000 personal injury protection (PIP)
Since Utah is a no-fault state, all drivers need to carry personal injury protection, PIP, and minimum liability coverage. With PIP, you can rest assured that your insurance carrier will cover the medical expenses that arise from an accident. Although the minimum PIP required is just $3000, we recommend at least $25,000 per person, $65,000 per bodily injury, and $15,000 per bodily injury liability insurance to keep you safe from any risk.
To know more about the various types of car insurance coverage, click here.
If you have a good driving record, you’ll typically be able to get insurance at a reasonable price that meets Utah’s minimum standards. The cost of buying a car insurance policy is almost always less expensive than paying the multiple fines associated with driving without insurance.
The average annual vehicle insurance premium in Utah is roughly $1119. The grace period for Utah car insurance for a new car is between 2 and 30 days. The grace period for vehicle insurance in Utah refers to the amount of time drivers are allowed to drive a new car before getting insurance.
Wonder what the penalties are for driving without car insurance in Utah? Head here.
Optional car insurance coverage to consider in Utah
In Utah, you could protect yourself from financial loss by choosing the following optional coverage on your auto insurance policy:
Collision coverage: Protects you against damage to your vehicle. If you have an auto loan or lease, it may be required.
Comprehensive coverage: Often paired with collision coverage, it covers damages to your vehicle that aren’t caused by an accident, such as theft or bad weather.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: This policy will pay your expenditures if you are hurt by a driver who has no or insufficient insurance.
Gap insurance: If your vehicle is totaled and your insurance provider does not pay the full amount, gap insurance will pay off any remaining loans.
Rental reimbursement: This will pay the expense of renting a car while you wait for your insurance company to repair or replace yours.
New car replacement coverage: The insurance provider will replace your vehicle with one of the same make, model, and year if you have new car replacement coverage.
Medical payments, or MedPay: Covers your medical expenses regardless of who is at fault for the accident.
Roadside assistance: This coverage will cover the expense of calling a tow truck or roadside assistance.
Factors that affect car insurance rates in Utah
Knowing what criteria insurance companies examine when calculating your premiums can be beneficial. You should anticipate Utah insurance companies to take into account factors such as the make and model of your car, as well as the year it was manufactured. Make sure your car insurance does not lapse, as that could lead to a hike in your car insurance rates at the time of renewal.
The number of miles you drive each year, as well as your driving record, can also affect your car insurance rates in Utah. Finally, car insurance companies will also consider your age, gender, marital status, and location while calculating your car insurance rate. Because Utah is a no-fault state, insurance prices can vary by city. Because larger cities have more traffic, the likelihood of submitting a claim for an accident or theft is higher. Smaller cities have less traffic, which might result in lower insurance premiums. To find the least expensive cities in Utah where your car insurance premiums will be lower, head here.
Tips to find the best car insurance rates in Utah
Car insurance in Utah costs more than the national average. However, that doesn’t necessarily mean that it is hard to find cheap car insurance in Utah. Some of the tried-and-tested methods to find the best car insurance in Utah include asking your insurance provider whether you are eligible for any discounts. Most insurance companies offer discounts for being a good driver, a good student, and for bundling various insurance policies.
The next best method to find affordable car insurance in Utah is to compare car insurance quotes from multiple insurance companies. You could do this by clicking on one of the banners here. With a dedicated team of researchers, we can help you find the best car insurance quotes in Utah in under 10 minutes! Best of all, this service is free to use. So what are you waiting for? Get clickin’ to find the best car insurance in Utah.
With winter on the horizon, here’s a checklist we have compiled to make sure your car is in top shape. Need more information about winter car insurance? We’ve got you covered: Winter is coming – do you have winter car insurance?
Check out our blogs for info on finding top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, and affordable car washes near you.