Driving in Utah offers can be a joy, given the state’s many attractions. But, before that, you must have a Utah car registration and a valid driver’s license. Driving without a valid registration is a Class C misdemeanor, which could earn you a minimum penalty of $1,000.
So, is car registration in Utah complicated? Except for the high tax rate, the registration process isn’t that complicated. You must produce the car title, driver’s license, insurance proof, and a certificate of inspection at the nearest office location of the Utah Department of Motor Vehicles (UT DMV) to register a vehicle. The registration cost depends on the car’s year, weight, and county you live in.
So, how can you do a Utah car registration? How much will it cost for it? How early can you renew my car registration in Utah? Our blog will give detailed info on car registration in Utah. Keep reading!
What you’ll need for Utah car registration?
So, are you ready for car registration in Utah? Then be prepared to produce the following documents.
- A completed Form TC-656 application for Utah Title
- Your current out-of-state certificate of registration
- Your sale bill
- A completed Form TC-661 (inspection certificate)
- Proof of passing an emissions test or a safety inspection (if required)
- Your existing Utah driver’s license
- Ownership proof
- Proof of Utah car insurance
- Registration fee payment
How to do Utah car registration
Utah drivers must possess valid car insurance before doing a car registration in Utah. Driving without auto insurance will earn you hefty penalties. The best way to find cheap Utah car insurance is by using the Way.com app or website. Way helps you find the lowest car insurance rates by comparing quotes from multiple insurers. So, find an affordable Utah auto insurance quote today!
Private vehicle registration
Private sales may or may not include a car’s title. The registration will follow the standard procedure if the seller is the title owner. Title transfer may be processed elsewhere or on-site if the owner does not have the title on hand. You may apply for an $8 temporary permission until you have obtained all the registration documents.
- Visit the local UT DMV office.
- You must present your UT driver’s license
- Then apply for Utah Title
- Submit the Utah vehicle title application–including an out-of-state title or vehicle title, inspection certificate, and proof of smog testing/emission. Counties like Salt Lake, Davis, Utah, Weber, and Cache require testing.
- Inspecting the VIN (if applicable)
- Provide details about your UT car insurance
- Pay your taxes, registration, and other fees. The fees differ by county of residency, year, and weight of the vehicle.
Dealer vehicles registration
Dealerships send in the documentation and information about your car. This information gets forwarded to the Utah DMV. If dealers don’t provide this service, collect your paperwork and follow the procedure you do for private vehicle registration.
How can you transfer a car registration in Utah?
Visit the nearest DMV office with the following to transfer license plates to a new car.
- Your existing license plates. The DMV will inspect them to ensure that they are still legible.
- A legal Utah driver’s license.
- Title of the car transferred to the Utah resident.
- Proof of UT car insurance.
- Proof of passing a safety inspection and emissions test, if required.
- Fee for the car registration.
How can a non-resident register a car in Utah?
Suppose a non-resident attends a Utah university, college, or other approved institution of higher learning. They needn’t do Utah car registration with the DMV in that case. However, non-residents living or working in Utah must obtain a Utah car registration certificate if they satisfy these criteria.
- They have a Utah driver’s license and live here permanently.
- A driver establishes their residency as a Utah resident to use state services, such as public schools for their children.
- They spend six months living there.
- They work in Utah (seasonal workers are exempt). Even if people commute from another state to Utah, this still holds true.
How much is car registration in Utah?
The following factors impact when calculating a Utah car registration fee.
- Your car’s model year and weight
- The county where you live (sales and use tax rates vary by county)
- Residents will also need to pay one of the following two fees when it’s time to register – uniform age-based and fee-in-lieu of property tax. A uniform age-based charge solely applies to passenger cars and is, as its name suggests, based on the car’s age.
The Utah car registration fees are as follows.
|Car’s age||Registration cost|
|Less than three years||$150|
|3-6 years old||$110|
|6-9 years old||$80|
|9-12 years old||$50|
|12 years and above||$10|
Is there a grace period for car registration in Utah?
Yes. Individuals have 60 days from the time they confirm their residency in Utah to register and title their car with the Utah DMV.
What happens if my car registration expires in Utah?
Driving with an expired registration in Utah is considered an ‘infraction.’ A traffic infraction or a disorderly conduct infraction is an example of an infraction. Despite this, Utah still allows for registration violations that result in arrest. In addition, infractions can earn you a penalty of up to $750.
Here’s more info on top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, affordable auto insurance, easy auto refinance, and high-quality car washes near you.