So, are you done with your car registration in Virginia? Though you do not need a Virginia driver’s license for registration, you must get one within 60 days of the process. After all, driving without a valid driver’s license in the state is a serious misdemeanor. So, is it difficult to get a driver’s license in Virginia?
Not if you follow the steps correctly! You must be at least 16 years and three months to apply for a Virginia driver’s license. But the process starts with applying for a learner’s permit. So, what are the steps you must follow? How much will a license cost? Aren’t you sure of where or how to start?
Don’t worry! Our blog has covered everything you must know about getting a driver’s license in Virginia.
What documents do I need for a Virginia driver’s license?
Your age must be at least 16 years and three months to apply for a driver’s license. So before heading to the DMV, gather these documents.
- Proof of identity: You can produce a valid passport, birth certificate, citizenship card, or permanent residency card as proof of identity and lawful presence.
- Social security number (SSN): Suppose you don’t have your Social Security card. Then any tax forms or work-related documents that include your SSN, such as a W-2 form or a paystub, will do.
- Residency proof: You must produce at least two documents containing your full name and address, such as bills or a mortgage statement.
For more information on the documents, click here.
How to get a driver’s license in Virginia
Getting a driver’s license in Virginia includes two main stages.
- Learner’s permit
- Virginia driver’s license
Getting a learner’s permit
It is the first stage in getting a Virginia driver’s license. You’re eligible for a learner’s permit when you reach the age of 15 years and six months. However, depending on your age, the requirements will vary slightly.
- You must hold your learner’s permit for at least nine months and complete a state-approved driver education program if you are under the age of 18. Also, you must complete 45 hours of supervised driving, at least 15 of which must be at night.
- Suppose you are over 18 and have never held a driver’s license. In that case, you must hold your permit for at least 60 days and show proof of completion of a driver’s education course before applying for a license. If you are over 18, you can avoid the licensing ceremony.
Steps to follow
- You will submit your driver’s license permit application to the Virginia DMV. If your age is below 18, your parent or legal guardian must sign your application.
- While visiting the DMV, you must submit the proofs confirming your identity, SSN, and residency.
- Attend the knowledge test. The exam has two parts – one on traffic signs, then on general traffic laws in Virginia. You must answer all ten traffic sign questions correctly. The second section contains 30 questions; you must answer 80% (24 questions) to pass.
- Attend the vision test. To pass, you must have a vision of 20/40 or better.
- While attending the tests, pay the permit fee of $3.
- Once you complete all these steps, you will get the Virginia learner’s permit.
- Teenage drivers can’t drive between midnight and 4 am unless they drive to or from work, school, or a religious event. You can drive during these hours if accompanied by an adult family member or if you need to operate your car in an emergency.
- Unless accompanied by a licensed parent, you may only carry one passenger under the age of 21. However, three passengers can accompany you if you drive to or from school or if a licensed driver above 21 is in the front seat.
- Whether handheld or hands-free, you can’t use electronic items at anytime.
How to get a Virginia driver’s license
After getting a learner’s permit, you must apply for a license. Follow these steps.
- To apply for a driver’s license in Virginia, you must fill out a form at the DMV. You can fill out this form before your visit.
- Then produce documents proving your identity, lawful presence, SSN, and residency.
- Attend the road test. It will assess your ability to drive a car safely within the state. The officials will evaluate your ability to perform fundamental driving exercises such as parallel parking, turning, keeping a safe distance, and others.
- Attend and pass the vision test. To pass, you must have a vision of 20/40 or better.
- Pay the fee for your Virginia driver’s license.
How long does it take to get a new driver’s license in Virginia?
After completing the driver’s license application, you will get a temporary driving permit (valid for 30 days). Within 7-10 days, you will receive your new driver’s license via mail.
Way is your final destination for all your car service needs, helping you save nearly $3,000 annually. Want more? How about getting a cashback on gas up to 75¢/gallon?
How much does it cost to get a Virginia driver’s license?
The license fee is anywhere between $20 and $32.
How do I transfer my driver’s license to Virginia?
Follow these steps to transfer your driver’s license.
- Submit the essential documents.
- Attend and pass the vision test.
- Then surrender your existing out-of-state driver’s license.
- Pay the required fee.
- You will get a temporary driver’s license. Later you will get your Class D license via mail.
When can you get your driver’s license in Virginia?
You can apply for a license when you’re 16 years and three months old.
How many numbers are on a Virginia driver’s license?
There are eight numbers in the license.
Does Virginia have an enhanced driver’s license?
It is optional for the residents. You needn’t require a REAL-ID-compliant license or ID card in Virginia. If you continue to use a standard driver’s license or ID, it will state ‘Federal Limits Apply’ the next time you renew.
Do I need to take a test to get a Virginia driver’s license?
Yes. You must undertake a vision test. If you are a Virginia resident under 18, you must take the two-part knowledge exam and the road test.
Do I need a new driver’s license when I move to Virginia?
Yes. You must obtain one within 60 days of moving to the state. You must obtain a Virginia CDL within 30 days if you currently hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL).
Can you get a driver’s license without a green card in Virginia?
Beginning in January 2021, a new driving privilege card amendment to Virginia law allows Virginia driver’s licenses for immigrants, allowing undocumented immigrants to drive legally.
Can you renew your driver’s license online in Virginia?
Yes, you can. Here’s more about the license renewal process.
Getting auto insurance in Virginia
The process never stops with the car registration or driver licensing process. You may need to buy an auto insurance policy in the state to drive legally. As the law mandates having one, driving with a car insurance policy will earn you hefty penalties. So, how can you buy an ideal insurance policy in Virginia?
That’s where Way.com can help you. Use our app or website to find quotes from all the insurers in your area. Then compare and find the most affordable quote in your area. So, what are you waiting for? Find your ideal Virginia auto insurance now!