Driving without car insurance in West Virginia is a class three misdemeanor. Penalties of driving without car insurance in Virginia would incur a $500 fine and various expenses, as well as the necessity of SR-22 insurance and the loss of driving privileges.
In comparison to the rest of the country, Virginia has complex car insurance laws. Although car insurance in West Virginia is mainly mandatory, drivers may choose to pay a $500 uninsured driver’s fee in exchange for the ability to drive for a defined period. If you do decide to purchase insurance, the minimum liability coverage recommended is 25/50/20. Although car insurance is still compulsory in Virginia, exceptions are allowed for people who cannot afford to maintain constant coverage. These allowances are typically paid when the car is registered with the DMV and consist of a $500 fee with an irregular period connected.
This provision makes the driver personally accountable for any bodily injury or property damage caused by a potential collision. Therefore it is recommended that all drivers have at least the following liability coverage:
- $25,000 for one person’s bodily harm or death in a single accident, subject to the limit for one person.
- $50,000 in the event of two or more people being injured or killed in a single accident.
- $20,000 if others’ property is damaged or destroyed in a single accident.
The fundamental objective of car insurance is to protect you and other drivers on the road from the financial ramifications of accidents, particularly in the event of accumulated debt if you’re judged to be at fault for a collision.
Penalties for driving without car insurance in West Virginia
Driving without car insurance in West Virginia can incur heavy penalties. Suppose you’re caught driving without car insurance or paying the uninsured motorist fee. In that case, the repercussions can be severe, including your driver’s license getting revoked, as well as fees and other concerns. This crime, classified as a class three misdemeanor in Virginia, typically occurs when a driver falsely states that their vehicle is already insured, allowing them to register without paying the registration fee.
If you break the law by driving without car insurance in West Virginia, then you face the following penalties:
- Pay a $500 fee, the same as you would have if you had paid the amount to the DMV.
- Establish and maintain proof of financial responsibility and independence, as required by IRS Form SR-22 in the United States.
- Pay any reinstatement fees imposed by the court as a result of the conviction.
- The driver’s driver’s license and car registration, as well as any license plates issued to the vehicle in question, are also revoked. This revocation is in effect until all of the preceding conditions are met.
Points to remember while driving in West Virginia:
- To get cheap car insurance quotes in Virginia, compare various quotes from various car insurance companies.
- Car insurance in Virginia is mandatory.
- Penalties for driving without car insurance can incur a $500 fine, among others.