The state of Florida requires all car owners to have car insurance coverage for their cars. Like all states, the kind of coverage varies in Florida when compared to other states. When compared to other states, car insurance minimums are very low in the state of Florida. The state of Florida has a law that requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. If a driver fails to get car insurance then they can attract a heavy fine or can in some cases face jail time.
The state of Florida is a no-fault state. By being a no-fault state it means that your car insurance will pay your injury claims to a particular limit, regardless of who is at fault. But the downside of a no-fault system is that you will have to forgo your rights of filing a lawsuit for damages.
As per the laws in Florida, the following rates are the minimum requirements:
- Bodily injury per person per accident – $10,000
- Property damage liability (PDL) – $10,000
- Protection for personal injury (PIP) – $10,000
- Injury treatment for person per accident – $20,000
Unlike most of the other states, Florida does not stipulate the car owner to add additional coverages like uninsured or underinsured motorists, collision, and comprehension. But if you own valuable assets adding to the minimum requirements of car insurance can protect you from monetary loss.
What is the liability coverage in Florida?
If you are the cause of an accident, then liability coverage on your insurance will help you cover the medical expense of those who suffered an injury. The liability coverage on your insurance does not cover your injury or damages.
The property damage liability (PDL) on your insurance will cover the cost of any damage caused to another vehicle by you. If you are the cause of the accident, then you will be responsible for paying for the property damage that you caused. You will end up paying more than $10,000 and that can put a financial strain on your purse.
Does minimum coverage provide protection?
Florida’s car insurance minimums are low when compared to other states. The low minimum coverage on your car insurance may not help you pay for additional costs that might arise due to an accident. This can result in you paying for expenses from your own pocket. It is advised that you opt for coverage above the state-mandated limits. In Florida, a driver can file a claim for compensation for a medical expense that costs more than the protection for personal injury policy (PIP). If it is you are the fault for the accident, you can be taken to court for damages.
If you think that having the minimum coverage is more than enough you are farther from the truth. Having $10000 as personal property liability will be insufficient to cover the costs if the other vehicle is a high-end product. For this very reason, ensure to opt for a higher amount of property damage liability insurance.
How is the car insurance premium in Florida calculated?
The car insurance companies calculate your annual premium based on the following:
- Marital status
- Driving record
- Geographical location
- Type of car you are insuring
- Prior car insurance details
- Distance covered by your car
- Your driving duration
- Whether or not you use your car for business
- Credit rating
What are the optional coverages in Florida?
The state of Florida requires you to have minimum coverage on your car insurance policy. But is advisable to add the following types of coverages to your insurance.
- Roadside assistance: This coverage will help you out if you find yourself with a breakdown car. With this coverage, you will get assistance for the following scenarios: flat tire, dead battery, etc.
- Medical payments: In this type of coverage, the medical bills and expenses of you or your co-passengers will be covered.
- Bodily injury liability: This coverage will help in covering the expenses of those injured in an accident caused by you.
- Collision coverage: This coverage will help in covering the costs if your vehicle is involved in a collision with another vehicle or an object.
- Comprehension coverage: Having this coverage on insurance ensures that you are protected against non-collision damages. If your car is damaged due to the anomalies of the weather or gets stolen, you will be paid by the insurance company.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: This coverage will protect you if you are hit by a motorist who is uninsured or is underinsured.
Why do I need to buy car insurance in Florida?
If you fail to produce your insurance or do not have the following coverages like protection for personal injury (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) then you will be charged with a nonmoving traffic crime and can get your license suspended.
Having car insurance will protect your finances from being under the strain. If you are a driver from Florida you will need to have the minimum limit for your car insurance.
Check out our blogs for info on finding top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, and affordable car washes near you.