×
Get 5% off in-app
400k+ download
Open app

Your Guide to Car Registration in Alaska

  • Auto Insurance
  • Sara Sam
  • 5 minutes

Spread the love

The state of Alaska might have few road connections compared to the rest of the United States. However, it is mandatory in Alaska to register all its vehicles unless exempted by law. So, how long does it take to register your car in Alaska? What are the documents required to register your car in the state? Is it expensive to register your car in Alaska?  

The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles mandates that residents have their cars registered with the Alaska DMV. Unfortunately, Alaska doesn’t offer the option of following the registration process online.  

Where do I register my car in Alaska? 

The Alaska Division of Motor Automobiles (Alaska DMV) is the agency that must be contacted for inhabitants of Alaska to fulfill their legal obligation to register their vehicles. Alaska DMV allows you to register your car in person or by mail.   

How do I register my car in Alaska? 

Residents new to Alaska and residing more than 50 miles from a DMV office can register their vehicles by mail. Residents of Alaska who live within 50 miles of a Department of Motor Vehicles office are required to register their vehicles in person. 

Alaska Car Registration for New Residents

After moving to Alaska, new residents have 10 days to register their cars with the Alaska DMV. This is after they establish their residency in the state. Meanwhile, if you are a visitor in the state, then you are allowed to drive around for 60 days with an out-of-state registration.   

If you move to Alaska, you have to register your car in person at the nearest Alaska DMV office and provide the following documents.

  • Vehicle’s title
  • Form 812 which is the application for title and registration.
  • Power of attorney for leased vehicles.
  • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspection. This must be conducted by an approved Alaska DMV inspector.
  • Titling and registration fees.

Alaska Car Registration After Purchasing a New Vehicle

Alaska residents must register their vehicles within 30 days of purchase. Meanwhile, if you have purchased your car from a dealer, then the dealer will take care of the paperwork.  

If you have purchased your car from a private party, you need to ensure you are prompt with the following documents.  

  • Completed Form 812¬†
  • Signed vehicle title, odometer disclosure statement, notarized power of attorney, and a lien release.¬†¬†
  • Previous registration¬†
  • Vehicle Identification Number inspection¬†
  • Titling and registration fee payment¬†

 Alaska Car Registration for Remote Locations

The Alaska DMV allows car registration by mail if you live 50 miles from the local Alaska DMV office. The necessary documents need to be sent by mail to the following address.

State of Alaska
Division of Motor Vehicles
ATTN: CORRESPONDENCE
3901 Old Seward Highway, Suite 101
Anchorage, AK 99503

  • Completed Form 812
  • Proof of ownership
  • Manufacturer’s certificate of origin if it was purchased from a dealership.
  • Previous registration
  • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspection.
  • Titling and registration fees.
  • Odometer disclosure statement and lienholder information if applicable.

car registration in Alaska

How much is car registration in Alaska? 

The car registration fees in Alaska are based on the type and model of the vehicle. It costs $100 to register a passenger car and a van or truck that weighs less than 10,000 lbs. The title fee proposed by Alaska DMV is $15.

If you are looking for a duplicate registration, title, or license plate, then it will cost $2, $15, and $5 respectively.

How much does it cost to renew a car registration in Alaska? 

Depending on the age of your car and any outstanding local taxes, a renewal might cost anywhere from $100 or above. In addition, if you misplaced your car registration, you must proceed with a replacement car registration.   

How early can I renew my car registration in the state? 

The state of Alaska requires car registrations to be renewed every two years. The DMV sends out a reminder 30 days before the month of registration renewal. Alaska DMV allows you to renew your registration by mail, in person, or online. 

 Car Registration Renewal in Alaska in person

  • Go to your nearest Alaska DMV office.
  • Make sure you carry your renewal notice, current registration copy, and vehicle transaction application.
  • Payment of car registration renewal fee.

Car Registration Renewal in Alaska by mail

  • Copy of last registration
  • Form 812
  • Personalized check or money order carrying the renewal fees.
  • A self-addressed envelope to mail the registration and tab.

Car Registration Renewal in Alaska Online

  • Visit the Alaska DMV registration website for renewal.
  • Fill in the necessary details including the registration renewal number.
  • Cross-check the primary address in the system.
  • Make the payment.

Car Insurance in Alaska via Way.com

Car insurance coverage shopping might be time-consuming, but if you do your homework and shop around, you’ll be rewarded with better coverage at a lower price.

Way.com gives you a head start with our analysis of the best car insurance companies in Alaska based on financial strength, customer service, protection, and price, all of which might influence your insurance coverage experience.


Here’s more info on top-rated airport parking, the best parking spots in your city, affordable auto insurance, easy auto refinance, and high-quality car washes near you.


 

Related Posts

wave

Press ESC to close