Why Compare Car Insurance Rates in Rhode Island:
Car insurance will undoubtedly play a significant role in any claim brought following a traffic accident in Rhode Island, as it will in any state. Like most states, Rhode Island mandates that car owners and drivers maintain specified levels of financial responsibility in the event of an accident (in other words, to purchase liability insurance coverage).
Car insurance is not only required in Rhode Island, but it is also a fantastic way to protect yourself and your valuables. It is recommended that you add coverage or increase your current limits to ensure that you are adequately protected. If you're concerned about a rise in your rates, though, it could be time to look around for a better deal.
Way.com can help you compare insurance rates from the nation's major insurers side by side. Read on to learn more about Rhode Island's vehicle insurance regulations, how coverage affects car accident cases, and what fines you can expect if you drive without insurance in the state.
All states require you to buy such insurance coverage before you can register your car. According to the Rhode Island Insurance Department, all car owners must have at least the following:
|Coverage Type||Minimum Coverage Limit|
|Bodily Injury Liability Coverage (per person)||$25000 ($50,000 for injuries resulting in death)|
|Bodily Injury Liability Coverage (per accident)||$50000 ($100000 for injuries resulting in death)|
|Property Damage Liability||$25000|
|Uninsured Motorist||$25000 bodily injury per person $50000 bodily injury per accident|
Minimum coverage car insurance satisfies state liability requirements, but it may leave you vulnerable to financial problems if it fails to cover an accident. If you want to go this route, State Farm and American Mutual are the lowest insurers in Rhode Island, and Nationwide is the most expensive option for minimal coverage auto insurance.
It is always a good idea to purchase auto insurance that provides more coverage than the bare minimum to protect yourself financially. Although the premiums may be higher, you will save a lot of time, energy, and money in the long term.
It is never a good idea to carry only the state-mandated minimums, which puts you and your investments in danger. Although Rhode Island's liability limitations are higher than some other states, this does not guarantee that you will be sufficiently protected. Raising your restrictions is nearly necessary, given how quickly medical expenditures can mount, especially if you damage more than one person.
This is also true for property damage coverage, as the $25,000 limit isn't enough to cover a new car's typical cost if you need to replace one.
To prevent being stuck footing the bill out of pocket, all drivers are strongly advised to increase these limitations. Bodily coverage is also your only option to protect your car.
A CARCO inspection is a third-party examination that certifies the vehicle's existence and its accessories, options, physical condition, and mileage. Your vehicle is photographed, and a report is created and sent to your insurance company.
To carry certain insurance coverages, including comprehensive and collision, Rhode Island requires that the car undergo such an inspection. In most cases, the inspection takes no more than 15 minutes.
There is no charge for these inspections. You do not need to provide any documents, but you must supply your insurer's name. Any pertinent documents are acceptable, but they are not essential. You'll need to find a nearby location and make an appointment.
In Rhode Island, personal injury protection (PIP) is not needed.
In Rhode Island, PIP is not even available. Instead of PIP insurance, Rhode Island insurers offer medical payments insurance (often known as MedPay), which covers hospital expenditures incurred due to an automobile accident.
MedPay and PIP insurance are similar in that they both cover your medical expenditures even if you cause a car accident. MedPay, on the other hand, is less comprehensive than personal injury protection, with no provisions for lost pay or assistance with household chores that you are unable to perform owing to your injury.
In no-fault states, personal injury protection is a type of car insurance that covers medical expenses regardless of who caused the collision.
Rhode Island is an at-fault state, which means that following a collision, at least one driver is determined to be "at blame." The average cost of insurance in Rhode Island – $2058 – is extremely high compared to both PIP and non-PIP states, owing to disparities in vehicle insurance rules.
Like most states, Rhode Island has established laws mandating car owners to have specific minimum amounts of liability auto insurance in the case of a traffic accident on the state's roads and highways.
To be lawful in Rhode Island, you merely need liability insurance. However, if you want to increase your insurance coverage and protection, look into these additional coverage alternatives.
You will be punished and lose your driving privileges and car registration if you are found driving without insurance in Rhode Island.
A first violation is punishable by a license/registration suspension of up to three months and a fine of $100 to $500, according to Rhode Island General Laws § 31-47-9. The penalty for a second offense is a six-month license/registration suspension and a $500 fine. Your license/registration may be suspended for up to one year, and you may be fined $1,000 for a third or subsequent infraction.
Of course, these fines will be little compared to the financial consequences of being involved in a car accident without insurance.
All Rhode Island drivers must have auto insurance. Additionally, proof of insurance must be carried at all times while driving, and this must be shown if law enforcement officers seek it. Continue reading to learn more about the mandatory and optional car insurance coverage in Rhode Island.
You might expect the following penalties if you are found guilty of driving without insurance in Rhode Island:
A punishment of $500 is imposed for the second offense:
Offenses committed for the third or subsequent time (civil violation):
Car insurance in Rhode Island costs an average of $1108 a year, which is relatively pricey compared to other states. Aside from Rhode Island's minimal requirements and the make and model of your car, several factors determine car insurance quotes in Rhode Island. Since each carrier gives different weight to each of these variables, comparing several carriers is even more critical to ensure you are getting affordable car insurance in Rhode Island for your financial situation.
However, auto insurance premiums are influenced by factors other than geography. The cost of auto insurance is determined by various factors, including your marital status, driving history, credit score, gender, and age.
We looked at Rhode Island's average car insurance prices based on each of the primary rating categories. Read on to determine how much auto insurance costs in your state, or enter your zip code to get customized quotes from top insurers.
Car owners with a clean driving record will discover prices comparable to the state average, with some insurers providing significantly lower rates. State Farm's rates are only a few dollars higher than USAA's for good drivers in Rhode Island. On the other hand, MetLife offers the best prices for skilled drivers.
|COMPANY||AVERAGE ANNUAL RATE|
As you become older, your auto insurance premiums drop, and young adult rates in Rhode Island are closer to the state average than teen rates. State Farm has the cheapest car insurance rates for male and female young adults, while Progressive has the most expensive rates for this age group.
Drivers in Rhode Island should shop around because rates can vary as much as or more than those for a single speeding violation. State Farm is the cheapest, and the rates are comparable for individuals with a clean driving record or a single speeding violation.
Speeding tickets raise annual insurance policy costs, but our research reveals that the cheapest insurance companies in Rhode Island tend to keep consistent when it comes to driving histories. State Farm has the lowest average rate for a driver with one speeding ticket, while MetLife has the most.
|COMPANY||AVERAGE ANNUAL RATE|
An accident claim on your driving record can raise your rates even more, but there will be a greater pricing range than speeding tickets. The rates charged by USAA are the lowest and are lower than the rates charged by USAA to drivers who have received a speeding ticket.
State Farm comes in second. According to our research, Allstate has the highest premiums.
|COMPANY||AVERAGE ANNUAL RATE|
Driving under the influence or while inebriated is one of the more serious offenses that can be committed (DUI). You may expect to pay the most if you have a DUI on your record, compared to most other driving demographics, except teenagers. Amica is the most expensive insurer in our survey for Rhode Island drivers following a DUI, charges roughly seven times that amount.
|COMPANY||AVERAGE ANNUAL RATE|
Married drivers pay significantly less for auto insurance than single drivers, with a full-coverage policy costing them an average of $48 less. Progressive, and Nationwide offer the best insurance prices in Rhode Island for married couples.
The majority of young individuals have difficulty finding affordable vehicle insurance. Finding a low-cost insurance policy will be even more difficult if you're young and have a history of accidents. After a crash, 18-year-old drivers pay an average of $4710 for full coverage.
With an average annual premium of $3129, Allstate is the Rhode Island insurer that gives young drivers the best full-coverage insurance rates. This is 32% less than the national average of all insurers.
In Rhode Island, full-coverage car insurance costs an average of $2751. Full-coverage auto insurance is the cheapest in Newport East, while Providence is the most expensive.
|Wood River Junction||$2,297|
|Company||Avg. Annual Premium|
|Accident/Violation||Avg. Annual Premium||% Rate Increase||$ Rate Increase|
|One comp claim||$2,376||3%||$47|
|Two comp claims||$2,385||3%||$56|
|One Med/PIP claim||$2,436||5%||$107|
|At-fault accident - greater than $2000||$2,459||6%||$130|
|At-fault accident - $1000-$2000||$2,459||6%||$130|
|At-fault accident - less than $1000||$2,459||6%||$130|
|Two Med/PIP claims||$2,473||7%||$144|
|Failure to wear a seat belt||$2,597||12%||$268|
|Child safety restraint||$2,644||14%||$315|
|Driving without lights||$2,644||14%||$315|
|Failure to show documents||$2,667||15%||$338|
|Driving with expired registration||$2,798||21%||$469|
|Following too closely||$2,822||22%||$493|
|Speeding 6 - 10 MPH over limit||$2,829||22%||$500|
|Driving too slowly||$2,829||22%||$500|
|Speeding in school zone||$2,829||22%||$500|
|Failure to stop at a red light||$2,861||23%||$532|
|Speeding 11 - 15 MPH over limit||$2,880||24%||$551|
|Speeding 16 - 20 MPH over limit||$2,880||24%||$551|
|Failure to yield||$2,885||24%||$556|
|Wrong way/wrong lane||$2,889||25%||$560|
|Texting while driving||$2,905||25%||$576|
|Cell phone violation||$2,905||25%||$576|
|Speeding 21 - 25 MPH over limit||$2,941||27%||$612|
|Passing school bus||$3,006||30%||$677|
|Operating a vehicle without permission||$3,059||32%||$730|
|In 65 MPH zone||$3,089||33%||$760|
|Driving with a suspended license||$4,213||81%||$1,884|
|Refusal to submit to a chemical test||$4,322||86%||$1,993|
|Leaving scene of an accident/hit and run||$4,537||95%||$2,208|
|Year||Avg. Annual Premium - Rhode Island||Yearly Change - Rhode Island||Avg. Annual Premium - US||Yearly Change - US|
Getting cheap auto insurance quotes in Rhode Island is more accessible than in most other states. Always remember getting affordable car insurance quotes in Rhode Island does not mean that it is the final rate. The auto insurance quotes in Rhode Island are just an estimation of what the rate would look like. The car insurance premium would be slightly different. Usually, the final premium decided by the company will be higher.
The expert analysts at Way.com performed an annual survey of the best car insurance companies in Rhode Island to see which ones have the best coverage, rates, and service.
If you're looking for cheap auto insurance in Rhode Island, you should start by looking for car insurance quotes Rhode Island from car insurance companies in Rhode Island. There are other ways to save money as well. Here are some options to get affordable car insurance in Rhode Island:
Consider whether a provider's discounts are eligible for while making a decision. One of the simplest ways to save money on vehicle insurance is to take advantage of discounts.
Car insurance is a highly personalized transaction, so the provider, coverages, policy features, and discounts you select will be significantly influenced by your unique circumstances. Taking stock of what you want and need from a firm may assist you in finding the best coverage for you.
Remember that discounts differ between insurance companies, so it's best to contact them directly to determine which ones you qualify for.
The auto insurance rates published in this guide are based on the results of research completed by Way.com’s data team. Using a mix of public and internal data, we analyzed millions of rate averages across U.S. ZIP codes.
Quotes are typically based on a full coverage policy average unless otherwise noted within the content.
These rates were publicly sourced from insurer filings and should be used for comparative purposes only — your own quotes will differ. Given this, it’s important to go through our insurance steps form to find how much you can save with way.com
The cheapest full-coverage vehicle insurance provider in Rhode Island is Progressive, with an average full coverage auto insurance rate of $3597. Progressive is the lowest full coverage automobile insurance company in Rhode Island.
The average cost of car insurance in Rhode Island is $1884 per year.
On average, car insurance in Rhode Island costs $126 per month or $1521 per year. This is more than the average cost of vehicle insurance in other states.
Rhode Island car insurance is pricey due to the state's second-highest population and extremely high auto maintenance costs. Rhode Island car insurance is more expensive than the national average, roughly $1500 for full coverage and roughly $600 for minimal coverage.
A minimum level of auto insurance is required by state law in Rhode Island. The minimum vehicle insurance needed in Rhode Island is $25,000 bodily injury per person per accident. $50,000 in bodily injury for all those involved in an accident.
Driving a motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility is illegal in the state of Rhode Island. Throughout the registration term, the driver must show proof of continuing insurance.
Progressive and Nationwide had the least annual rates for minimal liability auto insurance. The three insurers give an average of $1338 per year in auto insurance quotations. This is around 3% less expensive for a minimum coverage policy than the state average in Rhode Island.
In Rhode Island, full coverage insurance is typically characterized as a policy covering more than the state's minimum liability coverage, which is $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 in property damage coverage.
It would be best to have minimum bodily injury liability limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in Rhode Island. This means you're covered for losses done by a single individual up to $25,000 and up to $50,000 in a single accident if more than one person is involved.
Rhode Island is not a no-fault state. Hence PIP coverage is not available. As a result, anyone injured in a car accident in Rhode Island, no matter how minor or severe, can file a claim or file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver right once.
Access your digital insurance card through the app. You no longer need to carry your physical insurance card with you.
Receive reminders before your renewal. Way.com will also send new quotes from up to 45 insurance companies with your renewal reminder.
Keep everyone on your policy up to date by sharing your insurance information.
Make changes to your policy right from the app (coming soon) and ask for expert advice.