Get free quote in-app


cheap car insurance in New Hampshire (May 2023)

The better Way to shop for car insurance in New Hampshire

√ Free quotes from 200+ carriers in seconds

√ Lowest rate guaranteed

√ Up to $971 savings per year on average

4.9/5 Rating on the App Store


Why Compare Car Insurance Rates in New Hampshire:

  • On average, people who compare rates save about $970 a year on car insurance
  • is an insurance power broker agency with over 200+ partners
  • Get real personalized quotes from real companies

New Hampshire car insurance is an interesting topic. It is unique in that it is the only state in the United States that does not mandate a minimum amount of liability auto insurance. If you are pulled over by a police officer and cannot present evidence of insurance, you will not be fined or penalized. Auto insurance in New Hampshire has a unique policy in the United States.

Although insurance is not required, driving without it is never a good idea. Even in New Hampshire, if you are at fault in an accident, you are responsible for all costs associated with the accident, whether they are medical expenses or property damage. You might face thousands of dollars in out-of-pocket expenses if you don't have auto insurance.

In comparison to national averages, New Hampshire car insurance is not pricey. A minimal liability policy in New Hampshire costs an average of $330 a year, compared to the national average of $573; a full coverage policy in New Hampshire costs $1110, compared to the national average of $1749.

To assist you in finding cheap car insurance, analyzed the largest car insurance companies in New Hampshire by market share.'s insurance editorial team looked for New Hampshire's lowest car insurance companies by comparing prices. While price is likely to be the most important factor for policyholders looking for low-cost coverage, we also wanted to ensure that the car insurance companies we recommend have good policies.

We also considered coverage options, discounts, policy features, and third-party scores to achieve this. According to our findings, the following car insurance companies have cheap average pricing and a wide range of policy options, outstanding customer service ratings, and a long history of financial health.

Minimum Required Auto Insurance Coverage in New Hampshire

If you buy insurance in New Hampshire you must have at least the following minimum coverage types and limits:

Coverage Type Minimum Coverage Limit
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage (per person) $25000 ($50,000 for injuries resulting in death)
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage (per accident) $50000 ($100000 for injuries resulting in death)
Property Damage Liability $25000
Uninsured Motorist $25000 bodily injury per person $50000 bodily injury per accident

Cheapest Car Insurance in New Hampshire for Minimum Required Coverage

We at found that Concord Group is the cheapest car insurance company for minimum liability coverage. With an average annual premium of $630, Concord Group's minimum liability coverage is 45% cheaper than the New Hampshire state average.

The cheapest form of insurance is minimum liability insurance, which has the lowest legal coverage limitations the state permits. For minimum liability coverage, the average cost of car insurance in New Hampshire is $609 per year or about $51 per month.

On the other hand, active-duty members, veterans, and military families may be eligible for significantly lower USAA coverage. Annual rates from USAA are $512 per year, which is $108 less than Concord Group's rate and 44% less than the state average.

USAA $512
Concord Group $630
Progressive $738
Commerce Group INC $740
State Farm $742
MetLife $744
Statewide Average $860
Amica Mutual $1,035
Nationwide $1,057
Allstate $1,355
Hanover $1,528

Do I Need More Than the Minimum Required State Coverage in New Hampshire?

It is always a good idea to purchase auto insurance that provides more coverage than the bare minimum to protect yourself financially. Although the premiums may be higher, you will save a lot of time, energy, and money in the long term.

It is never a good idea to carry only the state-mandated minimums, which puts you and your investments in danger. Although New Hampshire's liability limitations are higher than some other states, this does not guarantee that you will be sufficiently protected. Raising your restrictions is nearly necessary, given how quickly medical expenditures can mount, especially if you damage more than one person.

This is also true for property damage coverage, as the $25,000 limit isn't enough to cover a new car's typical cost if you need to replace one. To prevent being stuck footing the bill out of pocket, all drivers are strongly advised to increase these limitations. Bodily coverage is also your only option to protect your car.

It may be time to shop for a new policy if you're concerned about how much these coverages will add to your overall cost. can assist you in comparing quotes from a variety of leading insurance companies to acquire the best coverage at the best price.

See what you could save on auto insurance

New Hampshire Car Insurance Laws

Unlike most other states, New Hampshire does not require drivers to have car insurance. On the other hand, drivers are responsible for any damage they cause in an at-fault incident. Failure to maintain auto insurance exposes you to a significant risk of being held liable for thousands of dollars in damages and injury payments.

Although the state of New Hampshire does not mandate you to get auto insurance, a lender or leasing company may. Many insurance companies require physical damage coverage to safeguard your car from collisions and other types of damage, and this is referred to as "full coverage" on occasion.

If you're concerned about an increase in your rates, though, it could be time to look around for a better deal. is a great place to start because it allows you to compare insurance quotes from the nation's top carriers side by side.

Auto Insurance Coverage Types

Like most states, New Hampshire has established laws mandating car owners to have specific minimum amounts of liability auto insurance in the case of a traffic accident on the state's roads and highways.

To be lawful in New Hampshire, you merely need liability insurance. However, you can increase your insurance coverage and protection,with these additional coverage types for your car.

Proof of Auto Insurance in New Hampshire

New Hampshire is the only state where car insurance is not required by law. This means that being stopped while uninsured will not result in a penalty. However, if you are involved in an accident, you may be subject to modest fines. More importantly, if you are at fault in the accident, you are still liable for any damages or injuries you cause, which will almost certainly exceed the cost of car insurance annually.

In New Hampshire, having car insurance is important. It's not just a legal necessity, but it's also essential for safeguarding yourself and your assets. Increasing your current limits or adding more comprehensive coverage is highly recommended to keep you safe.

Average Cost of Auto Insurance Companies in New Hampshire

According to our research, car insurance in New Hampshire is approximately 34% less expensive than the national average. Not all of New Hampshire's best insurance providers offer the same amount of coverage or price the same rates.

Car insurance prices for New Hampshire citizens are determined by several factors, including the driver's age, gender, safety record, and even credit score.

According to our research, USAA provides the cheapest car insurance rates in New Hampshire on average for those who qualify, with the Concord Group coming in second.

USAA $533
Concord Group $660
Progressive $761
State Farm $786
Statewide Average $880
Nationwide $974
Amica Mutual $1,093
Allstate $1,407

Cheapest car insurance quotes for New Hampshire drivers

An individual's driving record can affect their car insurance rate across the country, with the lowest rates for drivers with clean histories.

For New Hampshire drivers with clean driving records, USAA and the Concord Group charge the lowest prices on average. According to our research, good drivers who Allstate insures pay the most.

USAA $533
Concord Group $660
Progressive $761
State Farm $786
Statewide Average $880
Nationwide $974
Amica Mutual $1,093
Allstate $1,407

Cheap car insurance in New Hampshire for young New Hampshire drivers

Younger, less experienced drivers typically pay higher insurance rates across the country, and this basic guideline also applies to New Hampshire. According to our research, Progressive charges the most in this age group, while the Concord Group charges the least. Gender plays a role as well.

Allstate $2,672 $3,321
Amica Mutual $3,871 $4,226
Concord Group $1,643 $1,784
Nationwide $3,235 $4,240
Progressive $5,065 $5,341
State Farm $2,587 $3,231
USAA $2,050 $2,257
Statewide Average $2,939 $3,358

Cheap car insurance for New Hampshire drivers with a speeding ticket

Moving offenses are not treated equally by all insurance. According to our research, drivers with the one speeding violation in New Hampshire who Hanover insures pay the highest rates, while those insured by USAA and the Concord Group pay the lowest.

USAA $611
Concord Group $743
State Farm $786
Commerce Group INC $833
Progressive $1,006
Statewide Average $1,037
Nationwide $1,200
Amica Mutual $1,343
MetLife $1,537
Allstate $1,612
Hanover $4,319

Cheap auto insurance for New Hampshire drivers after a car accident

According to our research, most of New Hampshire's leading car insurance companies to consider an accident more serious than speeding. Those with one collision on their record who Hanover covers pay the highest for insurance, while those insured by USAA and the Concord Group pay the least.

USAA $725
Concord Group $843
Commerce Group INC $862
State Farm $994
Statewide Average $1,193
Progressive $1,269
Amica Mutual $1,343
MetLife $1,889
Nationwide $1,539
Allstate $1,945
Hanover $6,425

Cheap car insurance quotes for New Hampshire drivers with a DUI

According to our data, drivers with one DUI pay 88% more than those with a clean record in New Hampshire. Drivers covered by Hanover Insurance pay the most, while those insured by USAA or Progressive who have had one DUI pay the least.

USAA $850
Progressive $871
Concord Group $1,121
Commerce Group INC $1,353
State Farm $1,374
Statewide Average $1,638
Allstate $1,753
MetLife $1,765
Nationwide $1,886
Amica Mutual $3,540
Hanover $6,689

Cheap full coverage car insurance quotes for married drivers

State Farm is the best price in New Hampshire for married drivers, with an average annual premium of $771 for full coverage, $609 less than the statewide average. In New Hampshire, auto insurers view married drivers as a lower risk and may provide lower rates. According to our research, married drivers pay an average of $88 less than unmarried drivers.

Company Rates
State Farm $771
Concord $789
Progressive $1020
Allstate $1827
Hanover $3833

Cheap full coverage car insurance quotes for young drivers with an accident history

State Farm offers the most economical insurance for young people who have caused an accident. The company's minimal coverage costs are 72% less expensive than the norm, at $1218 annually and $102 monthly.

Young drivers already have expensive insurance costs, but those involved in an at-fault accident face significantly higher rates. We discovered that following a crash, young New Hampshire drivers pay an average annual premium of $2,696 – 38% more than young drivers with a clean record.

Company Rates
State Farm $1278
Concord $1410
Allstate $1902
Progressive $3189

Compare car insurance rates in top Cities

Full coverage auto insurance prices in New Hampshire can vary by as much as $456 per year, depending on where you reside. Because accidents and auto theft are more likely in urban regions, insurers often charge higher rates to policyholders who live in larger cities.

At $1761 per year, Manchester is the most expensive city in New Hampshire for car insurance. On the other hand, West Swanzey is the cheapest at $1305 per year.

CityAnnual Rate
Alton Bay$1,469
Bretton Woods$1,457
Center Barnstead$1,469
Center Conway$1,457
Center Ossipee$1,517
Center Sandwich$1,457
Center Strafford$1,421
Center Tuftonboro$1,505
Cornish Flat$1,373
East Andover$1,421
East Candia$1,505
East Derry$1,541
East Hampstead$1,673
East Hebron$1,445
East Merrimack$1,553
East Wakefield$1,505
Eaton Center$1,481
Enfield Center$1,409
Georges Mills$1,397
Gilmanton Iron Works$1,457
Hampton Beach$1,469
Lyme Center$1,397
Melvin Village$1,529
Milton Mills$1,481
Mirror Lake$1,481
Mount Washington$1,469
Newton Junction$1,673
North Conway$1,457
North Haverhill$1,397
North Salem$1,589
North Sandwich$1,457
North Stratford$1,433
North Sutton$1,385
North Walpole$1,361
North Woodstock$1,421
Rye Beach$1,469
Seabrook Beach$1,553
Silver Lake$1,481
South Acworth$1,409
South Hooksett$1,565
South Newbury$1,421
South Sutton$1,397
South Tamworth$1,481
Stinson Lake$1,397
Sugar Hill$1,457
Tilton Northfield$1,349
Twin Mountain$1,457
Waterville Valley$1,433
West Chesterfield$1,361
West Lebanon$1,385
West Nottingham$1,517
West Ossipee$1,505
West Peterborough$1,469
West Stewartstown$1,421
West Swanzey$1,301
Wolfeboro Falls$1,493

Cheap auto insurance in New Hampshire with bad credit

Company Avg. Annual Premium
USAA $1,489
Nationwide $1,647
Progressive $2,045
State Farm $2,324
Allstate $2,816
Metropolitan $3,096

New Hampshire auto insurance rate by violation

Accident/Violation Avg. Annual Premium % Rate Increase $ Rate Increase
One Med/PIP claim $1,291 1% $10
None $1,291 1% $10
Not-at-fault accident $1,306 2% $25
Two Med/PIP claims $1,325 4% $44
One comp claim $1,325 4% $44
Two comp claims $1,334 4% $53
Failure to show documents $1,490 17% $209
Driving without lights $1,500 17% $219
Driving with expired registration $1,504 18% $223
Failure to wear a seat belt $1,506 18% $225
Child safety restraint $1,520 19% $239
At-fault accident - less than $1000 $1,521 19% $240
Speeding 6 - 10 MPH over limit $1,531 20% $250
Speeding 11 - 15 MPH over limit $1,531 20% $250
Driving too slowly $1,536 20% $255
Speeding 16 - 20 MPH over limit $1,539 20% $258
Speeding in school zone $1,544 21% $263
In 65 MPH zone $1,546 21% $265
Wrong way/wrong lane $1,548 21% $267
Following too closely $1,548 21% $267
Illegal turn $1,552 21% $271
Failure to yield $1,552 21% $271
Failure to stop at a red light $1,552 21% $271
Speeding 21 - 25 MPH over limit $1,573 23% $292
Improper passing $1,594 25% $313
Cell phone violation $1,643 29% $362
Texting while driving $1,643 29% $362
At-fault accident - $1000-$2000 $1,724 35% $443
Passing school bus $1,755 37% $474
At-fault accident - greater than $2000 $1,925 50% $644
Open container $1,942 52% $661
Operating a vehicle without permission $2,043 60% $762
Racing $2,305 80% $1,024
Reckless driving $2,453 92% $1,12
Driving with a suspended license $2,564 100% $1,283
DUI $2,583 102% $1,302
Refusal to submit to a chemical test $2,583 102% $1,302
Leaving scene of an accident/hit and run $2,652 107% $1,371

Car insurance price trends in New Hampshire

Year Avg. Annual Premium — New Hampshire Yearly Change — New Hampshire Avg. Annual Premium — US Yearly Change — US
2021 $1009 $48 $1,539 $56
2020 $971 -$49 $1,493 -$21
2019 $1,030 -$103 $1,554 $23
2018 $1,143 -$653 $1,531 $94
2017 $1,806 $244 $1,447 $79
2016 $1,572 -$313 $1,378 $98
2015 $1,895 $226 $1,290 $61
2014 $1,679 $165 $1,239 $24
2013 $1,524 -$53 $1,205 -$70
2012 $1,587 $333 $1,286 $92

See what you could save on auto insurance

How to find the best car insurance in New Hampshire

Working with a qualified insurance agent may be beneficial if you are unsure how much coverage you require or what policy types to obtain. An agent may be able to recommend coverages and levels of coverage that are appropriate for your circumstance.

If you are looking for cheap car Insurance quotes in New Hampshire, don't worry. analysts and the editorial team have compiled the list of best auto insurance in New Hampshire that will provide you with cheap auto insurance quotes in New Hampshire.

However, finding low-cost auto insurance in New Hampshire is not impossible. To assist you in your insurance purchasing, analyzed the market share of some of the state's largest insurers to see which ones offer the lowest auto insurance in New Hampshire. We incorporate up-to-date quoted premiums and insurance carrier reviews in our analysis to speed your study because we keep a close eye on the insurance market.

The expert analysts at performed an annual survey of the best car insurance companies in New Hampshire to see which ones have the best coverage, rates, and service. The survey assigns points to insurance firms based on how well they handle billing and policy details, claims management, customer engagement, policy offerings, pricing, and overall customer satisfaction.

How to Get Discounts on Car Insurance in New Hampshire

Getting discounts on Car insurance in New hampshire entails a tried and tested selection process. Shortlist the insurance firms in New Hampshire you can partner with, compare their discounts (both the initial discount and the benefits you can avail after signing up). Once you shortlist your options, you can even give a call to the representatives and get details dfrom them before finalising.

Auto Insurance Data Methodology

The auto insurance rates published in this guide are based on the results of research completed by’s data team. Using a mix of public and internal data, we analyzed millions of rate averages across U.S. ZIP codes.

Quotes are typically based on a full coverage policy average unless otherwise noted within the content.

These rates were publicly sourced from insurer filings and should be used for comparative purposes only — your own quotes will differ. Given this, it’s important to go through our insurance steps form to find how much you can save with

Hampshire Car Insurance FAQ's

Who has the cheapest car insurance in NH?

The following businesses offer the most affordable full coverage car insurance in New Hampshire:

USAA - $444 (for former and current military members only)

Progressive - $603

MetLife is the most expensive for full coverage insurance, with an average annual cost of $1662.

Is it mandatory to have car insurance in New Hampshire?

New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Laws do not force you to have Auto Insurance. Still, you must be able to demonstrate that you have enough finances to meet New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Requirements in the case of an “at-fault” collision.

How much does car insurance cost in NH?

The average annual vehicle insurance premium in New Hampshire is $1089, which is 24.1 percent less than the national average.

Can you drive without insurance in NH?

Unlike almost every other state, New Hampshire does not require all drivers to get auto insurance. However, the state does require drivers to bear the costs of bodily harm and property damage if they cause an accident.

Why does NH not need car insurance?

New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Laws do not force you to have Auto Insurance. Still, you must be able to demonstrate that you have enough finances to meet New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Requirements in the case of an “at-fault” collision.

Is NH a no fault state?

Yes, New Hampshire is a fault-finding state. Although several states have adopted a no-fault system for auto accidents, New Hampshire is not one. Instead, it is still essential to determine who is to blame for a car collision on New Hampshire highways.

Is NH a PIP state?

In New Hampshire, personal injury protection insurance (PIP) is not needed. New Hampshire drivers are not required to get car insurance, and if they do, New Hampshire policies include medical payments insurance (MedPay) rather than PIP.

Is auto glass covered in NH?

Full glass coverage in New Hampshire refers to having glass coverage without paying the typical deductible as part of comprehensive coverage. Windshields and external glass are typically covered under comprehensive coverage, subject to the chosen deductible (often $100, $250, $500, or $1000).

How long do you need an SR-22 in NH?

Three (3) years from the date of final conviction/crash involvement or administrative action requiring such documentation is the minimum filing timeframe. If convicted of a second offense of Driving While Intoxicated, the sentence is suspended for three years from the date of eligibility for restoration.

Do you need insurance in the state of New Hampshire?

There is no mandated insurance law in New Hampshire. The Division of Motor Vehicles highly advises and urges all motor vehicle owners to obtain standard liability and property damage insurance. Persons may be required to have insurance by the Division of Motor Vehicles (SR-22).

Learn more by city and state for car insurance

Learn more by city and state for car insurance

Digital Insurance Card

Access your digital insurance card through the app. You no longer need to carry your physical insurance card with you.

Get reminders & quotes

Receive reminders before your renewal. will also send new quotes from up to 45 insurance companies with your renewal reminder.

Share with family

Keep everyone on your policy up to date by sharing your insurance information.

Manage your policy

Make changes to your policy right from the app (coming soon) and ask for expert advice.

Get the App:

Find the best Auto insurance rates on-the-go

For the best user experience, please download our Way app.

Please Enter A Valid Mobile Number!
Text Sent, Please download!


app store
google play