Get free quote in-app

(400K+)

Our Insurance Partners

nationwide
travellers
mapfre
safeco
kemper
national-general
foremost
dairyland
pronto
bristolwest
hippo
assuranceameric
anchor
still-water
bridger
alinsco
commonwealth
suncoast
aspire

Key Takeaways

  • An SR-22 form is necessary for drivers in South Carolina who engage in high-risk traffic violations like DUI and reckless driving.
  • Among the South Carolina insurers we compared, USAA offered the lowest SR-22 insurance premiums at an average annual cost of $480.
  • If your license has been suspended or you have been convicted of a serious felony in South Carolina, you may need to file an SR-22 form demonstrating your financial responsibility to regain your driving rights.
  • In South Carolina, drivers must normally maintain SR-22 insurance for three years, but if you have a conviction or a coverage lapse, this need may be extended.
  • Even if you don't own a car, you'll still need SR-22 insurance in South Carolina if your driving privileges have been suspended.

What is SR-22 insurance in South Carolina?

Drivers in South Carolina who commit high-risk traffic offenses, including DUI and reckless driving, require an SR-22 form. This document certifies that they have the required minimum auto insurance coverage and is submitted by their insurance provider to the state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

SR-22 insurance is the same as regular auto insurance, but rates are more expensive because of the violations. State Farm offers SR-22 insurance in South Carolina at the lowest price, with an average yearly cost of $636, according to Way.com

Cost of SR-22 insurance in South Carolina

SR-22 insurance in South Carolina will typically be more expensive than regular auto insurance. This is primarily because you are viewed as a high-risk driver by insurers as a result of the infractions that result in an SR-22 requirement.

With an average annual cost of $480, USAA had the cheapest SR-22 insurance rates among the South Carolina insurers we compared. The least percentage increase for passengers was 26% for our SR-22 drivers. On the other hand, for a driver who required SR-22 insurance, Auto-Owners' rates rose by 268%.

Insurer Cost per year Cost per year W/ SR-22 and DUI %Change
USAA $480 $912 92.31%
Progressive $778 $1266 65.87%
SC Farm Bureau $841 $1343 60.55%
Travelers $1531 $1929 26.20%
Nationwide $1438 $2546 77.70%
State Farm $507 $816 62.42%
All State $860 $1877 119.93%
Auto Owners $1346 $4915 268.09%

We advise you to check prices from at least three different insurers to choose the SR-22 insurance in South Carolina, which is the least expensive. You might not be able to get coverage from the business that covered you previously because not all auto insurance companies offer SR-22 insurance.

See what you could save on auto insurance

How to get SR-22 insurance in South Carolina

To get your driving privileges back if your license has been suspended or you've been found guilty of a significant crime in South Carolina, you might need to submit an SR-22 form proving your financial responsibility. The SR-22 form serves as evidence that you have the liability insurance coverage required by state law to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV):

  • $25,000 in physical injury insurance for each injured person
  • $50,000 per accident in bodily harm insurance
  • Coverage for property damage of $25,000

When would you be required to get SR-22 insurance in South Carolina?

If a driver's license or driving privileges have been lost in South Carolina, the court may force them to purchase SR-22 insurance. It can happen for a variety of reasons:

  • You either need to be under mandatory insurance supervision because you have several convictions for operating a vehicle without insurance.
  • You were in an accident, and the court found that you were accountable for the whole cost of the damages.
  • Due to outstanding judgments, your license has been suspended.
  • Your driver's license was suspended or revoked.
  • You were found guilty of DUI. If it's your first DUI arrest in South Carolina, you can be obliged to drive lawfully for several months while holding a provisional license and needing SR-22 insurance.

If you're unsure of your license's status, you can visit the DMV website to see if it has been suspended in South Carolina. Your driver's license number, Social Security number, and birthdate can be entered into the DM

Filing Your South Carolina SR-22

The steps you must follow to obtain SR-22 insurance in South Carolina are as follows:

Contact

Find qualified insurance or get in touch with your current provider. An auto insurance provider authorized to conduct business in South Carolina must submit an SR-22 on your behalf because you are not permitted to do so yourself. To keep your SR-22 file and driving privileges, even if you move out of the state, you must buy insurance from a company that also writes policies in South Carolina.

Money

Remit the required SR-22 charge. For submitting the SR-22 form on your behalf, your insurance provider will probably impose a filing fee ranging from $15 to $50.

Form

Submit insurance documentation through your insurer. If all other conditions of your conviction have been satisfied, the DMV will give you a letter certifying that your insurer has completed the SR-22 form, at which point you will be permitted to drive lawfully once more.

Drivers in South Carolina are typically required to retain SR-22 insurance for three years, though this need may be extended if you have a conviction or a coverage lapse.

Insurance contract

Obtain affirmation. If you cancel or fail to renew your coverage, your insurer is obligated to file an SR-26 form to the South Carolina DMV.

You will once more lose your driving privileges if your SR-22 insurance expires. The cost of your insurance will probably go up as a result of the interruption in coverage, and you might have to pay a fine to get it back.

How Long Do They Need It?

You will once more lose your driving privileges if your SR-22 insurance expires. The cost of your insurance will probably go up as a result of the interruption in coverage, and you might have to pay a fine to get it back.

For the duration that you must maintain SR-22 insurance, we advise that you renew your policy at least one month in advance to prevent coverage lapses and the associated fines.

Before canceling your current coverage, if you plan to switch insurers, you should buy a policy and ensure that your new insurer submits an SR-22.

The South Carolina DMV or a nearby license office should be contacted once you've maintained SR-22 insurance for at least three years to ensure that the requirement has been met. You can inform your insurer that the form no longer needs to be submitted on your behalf once this is confirmed.

See what you could save on auto insurance

Tips for Getting Cheap SR-22 Insurance in South Carolina

  • Look at the South Carolina minimum standards to determine how much insurance you need.
  • If you need to be able to drive but don't own a car, think about getting an SR-22 non-owner certificate.
  • Every year, keep comparing insurance prices to be sure your insurer is still giving you the best deal.

Probably you won't be able to locate a business ready to offer you insurance. If that occurs, you might be able to apply for auto insurance through your state, as many states run programs that pair high-risk drivers with collaborating insurers.

However, as the premiums would probably be very high, this should only be done as a last resort.

Nonowner SR-22 insurance in South Carolina

If your driving privileges have been suspended, you'll still need to get SR-22 insurance in South Carolina, even if you don't own a car. However, you can supplement a non-owner car insurance policy with an SR-22 file rather than a standard auto insurance policy.

You must obtain conventional SR-22 insurance coverage since you cannot obtain a non-owner policy if you regularly use a certain vehicle, even if you do not own it.

You would either need to purchase your own operator's SR-22 insurance or be added to your roommate's policy if, for instance, your roommate owns a car and lets you use it most weekends. In this case, regular access to the vehicle would need you to get your operator's SR-22 insurance.

Insurer Cost per year
USAA $576
Progressive $672
Travelers $650
State Farm $601

Bottom Line

You must obtain conventional SR-22 insurance coverage since you cannot obtain a non-owner policy if you regularly use a certain car, even if you do not own it. You would either need to purchase your own operator's SR-22 insurance or be added to your roommate's policy if, for instance, your roommate owns a car and lets you use it most weekends. In this case, regular access to the vehicle would require you to get your own operator's SR-22 insurance.

Auto Insurance Data Methodology

The auto insurance rates published in this guide are based on the results of research completed by Way.com’s data team. Using a mix of public and internal data, we analyzed millions of rate averages across U.S. ZIP codes.

Quotes are typically based on a full coverage policy average unless otherwise noted within the content.

These rates were publicly sourced from insurer filings and should be used for comparative purposes only — your own quotes will differ. Given this, it’s important to go through our insurance steps form to find how much you can save with way.com

FAQ

What is an SR-22 in South Carolina?

An SR-22 form is necessary for drivers in South Carolina who engage in high-risk traffic violations like DUI and reckless driving. This document, which their insurance company submits to the state's Department of Motor Vehicles, attests that they possess minimal motor insurance coverage (DMV).

How do I get an SR-22 certificate in South Carolina?

If your license has been suspended or you have been convicted of a serious felony in South Carolina, you may need to file an SR-22 form demonstrating your financial responsibility to regain your driving rights. The SR-22 form provides proof to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) that you have the liability insurance coverage required by state law:

  • Physical injury insurance of $25,000 per injured person
  • $50,000 in insurance for physical injury per accident
  • $25,000 in property damage insurance

How much does SR-22 insurance cost compare to a standard policy in South Carolina?

In South Carolina, SR-22 insurance is often more expensive than standard auto insurance.

Who has the cheapest SR-22 insurance in South Carolina?

USAA had the cheapest SR-22 insurance rates among the South Carolina insurers

How long do South Carolina drivers need an SR-22?

For the duration that you must maintain SR-22 insurance, we advise that you renew your policy at least one month in advance to prevent coverage lapses and the associated fines.

Learn more by city and state for car insurance



Learn more by city and state for car insurance




Digital Insurance Card

Access your digital insurance card through the app. You no longer need to carry your physical insurance card with you.

Get reminders & quotes

Receive reminders before your renewal. Way.com will also send new quotes from up to 45 insurance companies with your renewal reminder.

Share with family

Keep everyone on your policy up to date by sharing your insurance information.

Manage your policy

Make changes to your policy right from the app (coming soon) and ask for expert advice.

Get the App:

Find the best Auto insurance rates on-the-go

For the best user experience, please download our Way app.

Please Enter A Valid Mobile Number!
Text Sent, Please download!

or