SR-22 status in Louisiana must be kept up for at least three years.
You must pay between $15 and $25 for filing SR-22 insurance in Louisiana.
State Farm and USAA offer the cheapest SR-22 insurance rates in Louisiana.
The safety responsibility form is not mandatory in every state. However, Louisiana requires its drivers to file for SR 22 insurance after a severe traffic violation. This will prove that you are financially fit to hit the road after your license is suspended.
Here, we look at the details of SR-22 insurance in Louisiana, the average SR-22 insurance cost in the state, non-owner SR-22 in Louisiana, and the companies that offer cheap SR-22 insurance in Louisiana.
What is the SR-22 Insurance certificate in Louisiana?
In Louisiana, you are classified as a high-risk driver if your driver's license is suspended for a major infraction, such as a DUI or reckless driving conviction. To have your license reinstated in the state, you must have submitted an SR-22. Once you have your SR-22 insurance in place, you can resume driving with your current privileges but with increased insurance costs.
Your SR-22 insurance merely ensures you have enough insurance to meet the state's minimal insurance requirements.
What is the minimum SR-22 car insurance coverage in Louisiana?
When are you required to obtain SR-22 insurance in Louisiana?
If you are convicted of a major driving infraction in Louisiana, you must have SR-22 insurance. Examining the specifics of SR-22 requirements, insurance costs will likely increase following SR-22 filing. The following driving infractions can lead to an SR-22 insurance requirement in the state.
Driving without insurance coverage
Driving with a suspended license
Reckless driving charges
Being uninsured and in an accident at fault
How long will I need the SR-22 in Louisiana?
The Louisiana Department of Public Safety Office of Motor Vehicles requires you to maintain an SR-22 for three years. In addition, if you are convicted of a DUI charge, you must complete a driver's education course and pay a fine of $100 in addition to the filing and maintaining of SR-22.
How much does SR-22 insurance raise premiums in Louisiana?
In Louisiana, the average annual cost of a policy with minimal coverage is $1324. However, a DUI conviction can increase premiums to a minimum of $2,273 per year. This accounts for at least 57% more than the insurance rate paid by a driver with a clean record. Since SR-22 is required in Louisiana, you must find a provider that meets your needs and provides cheap coverage.
Cheapest Companies for SR-22 Insurance in Louisiana
Once classified as a high-risk driver, your insurance premium rates automatically increase. If you are required to file for an SR-22, finding an insurance provider might be difficult. This is mainly because many insurance providers do not specialize in SR-22 insurance.
Here is a list of companies in Louisiana that offer SR-22 insurance. Southern Farm Bureau is the cheapest, followed by USAA and State Farm.
In Louisiana, submitting proof of financial responsibility (SR-22) insurance requires more than just filling out documents. Since not all insurance companies are willing to work with high-risk drivers, the first step is to narrow down the list of companies to those offering SR-22 insurance. Then, they file the form on your behalf to the Louisiana Department of Public Safety Office of Motor Vehicles.
Finalize your Provider
Your current insurance company may not provide you with SR-22 insurance. Thus, you must research, shop around, compare and finalize your provider.
Payment of SR-22 Fee
The fees for SR-22 filing in Louisiana are between $15 and $25. But, first, you'll have to pay your insurance provider.
File proof of Insurance
After you purchase the minimum required insurance from your insurance provider, then they will SR-22 form with the Louisiana Department of Public Safety Office of Motor Vehicles.
You can start driving after you have received confirmation from the Louisiana Department of Public Safety Office of Motor Vehicles.
Nonowner SR-22 insurance in Louisiana
Even if you do not own a vehicle, you can satisfy the requirement for SR-22 insurance in Louisiana after a driving infraction. This is possible with non-owner SR-22 insurance. In addition, by picking non-owner SR-22 insurance, your suspended driving privileges will be reinstated.
Since non-owner SR-22 insurance provides only liability coverage, it is less expensive than the average auto insurance rates after a DUI charge in Louisiana. The firms with the most affordable non-insurance SR-22 rates are discussed below.
In Louisiana, the average cost of SR-22 insurance for non-owners is $1325 per year.
Average Annual Rate
See what you could save on auto insurance
How to Save Money on SR-22 Insurance in Louisiana
Maintaining a spotless driving record is vital for reducing your insurance premiums. However, it can be challenging to reduce insurance prices after a conviction. With few options available, comparing insurance quotes should give you a sense of the average rates. Even submitting an SR-22 form can help select a cost-effective solution.
Compare and Purchase
Make use of the online quotes that insurance companies now provide. Choosing the one that suits your needs is best possible through this research. Way.com is the quickest and easiest way to compare quotes in Louisiana.
Improve your credit score
A good credit score indicates fewer claims. A good credit score will come to your rescue if the offense is not repeated and reduce your premium rates.
Look for discounts
Once you have filed for SR-22 insurance, you will have to forget the good driver discounts you once enjoyed. But you have to always look for the other available discounts the insurance companies offer. For example, multipolicy, telematics, and bundling discounts can make a huge difference in the rates.
Increase your deductible
Higher deductibles reduce vehicle insurance premiums even though they can reduce your accident claim. First, compare deductible alternatives to discover if a reduced deductible delivers savings, then choose one that meets your budget and comfort level.
Pay your premium in full
Insurance companies will reduce the total amount paid if you can pay your premium in full.
Consider usage-based car insurance
If you are not a frequent driver but are a high-risk driver due to any of the infractions, then you might want to consider usage-based insurance.
Bottom-line: SR-22 Insurance Louisiana
The first step in settling concerns following a traffic violation is to hunt for suitable insurance coverage. Unfortunately, your insurance rates may rise due to filing an SR-22. Way.com finds the best deals from Louisiana's top insurance companies.
Way.com assists you in comparing quotes and selecting an insurance provider that offers low-cost SR-22 insurance in Louisiana.
Auto Insurance Data Methodology
The auto insurance rates published in this guide are based on the results of research completed by Way.com’s data team. Using a mix of public and internal data, we analyzed millions of rate averages across U.S. ZIP codes.
Quotes are typically based on a full coverage policy average unless otherwise noted within the content.
These rates were publicly sourced from insurer filings and should be used for comparative purposes only — your own quotes will differ. Given this, it’s important to go through our insurance steps form to find how much you can save with way.com
Frequently Asked Questions
What happens if I let my SR-22 lapse in Louisiana?
Any lapse in maintaining the SR-22 in Louisiana can reset your SR-22 period, and you must pay the SR-22-related expenses again.
How much does an SR-22 cost in Louisiana?
While the filing costs are minimal, the insurance premium rates can skyrocket after you require SR-22 insurance. For example, a DUI conviction can increase premiums to a minimum of $2,273 per year in the state.
What if I'm required to carry an SR-22 in Louisiana but don't own a vehicle?
If you don't own a car and have faced a severe driving infraction, you must carry SR-22 insurance. In such cases, you will have to opt for non-owner SR-22 insurance.
Do I need an SR-22 in Louisiana if I don't have a car?
Yes, if you don't own a car and have faced a severe driving infraction, you will have to consider non-owner SR-22 insurance in Louisiana. This is cheaper than average car insurance rates in the state after a driving infraction.