Get free quote in-app


Our Insurance Partners


Key Takeaways

  • Following a high-risk driving infraction, it is against the law to drive without SR-22 insurance in Nebraska.
  • SR-22 insurance is often required for a three-year term, though this might vary based on the severity and violation.
  • According to, State Farm has the most affordable SR-22 insurance rates in Nebraska, charging an average of $425 a year as a minimum of auto insurance protection.
  • You can have your SR-22 revoked in Nebraska after three years by notifying your insurance company, which will subsequently revoke the SR-22 filing with the state.
  • Having a non-owner motor insurance policy in your name is the least expensive approach to demonstrate that you have liability insurance.

What is an SR-22 in Nebraska?

In Nebraska, having SR-22 insurance is mandatory by law following a high-risk driving violation. Your insurance company files an SR-22 as evidence that your auto insurance in Nebraska has minimal liability standards. These plans are almost identical to those found in normal auto insurance plans. However, driving violations will result in higher insurance costs.

Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in Nebraska? And for How Long Do They Need It?

The traffic violations that need SR-22 insurance differ from state to state. You'll require SR-22 insurance in Nebraska if you have any of the following offenses:

For infractions of a minor kind, you don't need SR-22 insurance. In contrast to individuals who must purchase SR-22 paperwork, drivers in Nebraska who get auto insurance following an accident or citation can find lower insurance rates.

In Nebraska, how long do you require SR-22 insurance? SR-22 insurance is often required for three years, though this might change depending on the seriousness and kind of violation.

Which companies offer the cheapest SR-22 rates in Nebraska?

Company Average Annual Premium
State Farm $425
Progressive $525
American Family $574
Farmers Mutual of America $625
USAA $648
Allstate $727
Farm Bureau Mutual (IA Group) $818
Allied $846
Farmers $926
AAA $1142
Metlife $2046

In Nebraska, SR-22 auto insurance is more expensive than a standard policy. Although there is a minimal price for drivers to complete an SR-22 form, the high-risk violation and cumulative license points are the main causes of the cost increase. Depending on the seriousness and quantity of infractions, rates may be higher.

In Nebraska, drivers with a DUI pay an average of $847 per year for the minimum SR-22 insurance coverage, compared to just $471 annually for drivers without moving violations.

The least expensive SR-22 insurance provider in Nebraska, according to, is State Farm, which charges an average of $425 annually for minimum auto insurance coverage. State Farm offers affordable SR-22 insurance if you live in Nebraska. MetLife is the most expensive, costing an average price of DUI$2,047 annually.

See what you could save on auto insurance

SR-22 insurance Nebraska: Average cost for full coverage

City Price
Superior $162
Ord $194
Auburn $161
Beatrice $182
Waverly $173
McCook $187
Minden $184
Omaha $176
Kimball $180
Holdrege $173
North Platte $171
Papillion $193
Grand Island $171
Lincoln $159
La Vista $193
David City $163
Central City $174
Dakota City $179
Fairbury $159
Chalco $190
Wahoo $167
Wayne $171
Plattsmouth $184
Hastings $176
Hickman $166
West Point $187
Bennington $186
Ralston $180
Aurora $186
Pierce $170
Sidney $172
Wilber $163
Imperial $180
Valentine $178
York $177
Ashland $175
Geneva $179
Madison $187
Gothenburg $183
Ogallala $177
Fremont $185
Norfolk $173
Tekamah $182
St. Paul $172
Nebraska City $163
Mitchell $174
Valley $186

How Much Does Credit Score Affect SR-22 Insurance Costs in Nebraska?

Company Average Annual Rate
State Farm $425
Progressive $525
American Family $574
Farmers Mutual of Nebraska $625
USAA $648
Allstate $727
Farm Bureau Mutual (IA Group) $818
Allied $846
Farmers $926
AAA $1142
Metlife $2047

See what you could save on auto insurance

How do I get SR-22 insurance in Nebraska?

Similar to other states, you must let your insurance company know that you need to file a complaint to the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Some insurance companies could refuse to cover you if you are a high-risk driver.

You might need to switch to a different provider if they don't offer you this service.

How Much Do SR-22 Insurance Raise Premiums in Nebraska?

State State Min PIP
Nebraska 25/50/25 N/A

The State Minimum Liability Requirements for Nebraska are up to $50,000 per accident, $25,000 for property damage, and $25,000 per person for bodily injury protection. These are the bare minimums that your insurance policy must include.

How to File SR-22 Documentation in Nebraska

You must first buy a liability-only motor insurance policy that meets Nebraska's legal minimum requirements before asking your insurance company for an SR-22 form on your behalf.

In Nebraska, you must meet the following criteria:

  • Bodily injury liability of $25,000 per person
  • $50,000 in responsibility for each accident and injuries
  • Property damage liability per accident is $25,000
  • $25,000 in coverage for uninsured or underinsured drivers per person
  • $50,000 in coverage for uninsured or underinsured drivers per accident

When can I remove my SR-22 in Nebraska?

After three years, you can get your SR-22 withdrawn in Nebraska by notifying your insurance provider, who will then rescind the SR-22 file with the state.

Non-owner SR-22 insurance in Nebraska

You may have to submit an SR-22 form to get your license back. This certificate of insurance proves your possession of a liability insurance policy that satisfies state standards.

The cheapest way to show liability insurance is to have a non-owner auto insurance policy in your name. This coverage will work for you if you don't own a car and instead drive rental vehicles or vehicles owned by friends or family members. When requesting the renewal of your license, you may provide this policy as evidence of insurance.

A non-owner auto insurance coverage in Nebraska typically costs $577 annually for individuals submitting an SR-22. However, based on each insurance provider, quotes are very different. On average, the least expensive SR-22 non-owner insurance is by State Farm at $290 per year. Progressive offers the second-cheapest coverage, with average SR-22 insurance often required for a three-year term. However, this might vary depending on the severity and kind of violation.

Summary: SR-22 Insurance in Nebraska

SR 22 Needed After Major traffic violations and traffic suspension
Required For 1 Year
Average Cost Increase $41
Min Physical Injury Liability coverage $25000 per person/$50000 per accident
Min Property Damage Liability Coverage $25,000
Additional Coverage $25000 per person/$50000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage, $4500 in PIP

Auto Insurance Data Methodology

The auto insurance rates published in this guide are based on the results of research completed by’s data team. Using a mix of public and internal data, we analyzed millions of rate averages across U.S. ZIP codes.

Quotes are typically based on a full coverage policy average unless otherwise noted within the content.

These rates were publicly sourced from insurer filings and should be used for comparative purposes only — your own quotes will differ. Given this, it’s important to go through our insurance steps form to find how much you can save with


How much does SR-22 insurance cost compare to a standard policy in Nebraska?

In Nebraska, the average cost of SR-22 insurance is $500 per year, a 14% increase over the cost of regular auto insurance.

Which company in Nebraska is the cheapest for SR-22 insurance?

State Farm offers the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Nebraska.

How long do you need SR-22 in Nebraska?

Depending on the violation, you'll need SR-22 in Nebraska for three years.

What happens to my SR-22 in Nebraska if I move?

Depending on the violation, you need to fill the new form with the DMV of your previous state.

Do I need an SR-22 in Nebraska if you don't have a car?

For high-risk drivers who don't own cars but drive borrowed or rented cars, you'll need the SR-22 non-owner insurance form.

Learn more by city and state for car insurance

Learn more by city and state for car insurance

Digital Insurance Card

Access your digital insurance card through the app. You no longer need to carry your physical insurance card with you.

Get reminders & quotes

Receive reminders before your renewal. will also send new quotes from up to 45 insurance companies with your renewal reminder.

Share with family

Keep everyone on your policy up to date by sharing your insurance information.

Manage your policy

Make changes to your policy right from the app (coming soon) and ask for expert advice.

Get the App:

Find the best Auto insurance rates on-the-go

For the best user experience, please download our Way app.

Please Enter A Valid Mobile Number!
Text Sent, Please download!